We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and excellent service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The London West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The London West Hollywood to your Saves list
The London West Hollywood
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and excellent service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We recently stayed at "The London" and what a fantastic relaxing stay with fabulous and friendly surroundings. After travelling from Ireland for a 2 week stay in Florida (Orlando) with family and riding the roller coasters nearly every day we we're looking forward to flying up to LA for a little relaxation. It didn't start too well when our flight from Florida was delayed by 5 hours meaning that after collecting our bags and hire car it was 1.30 am when we finally got to check in to the hotel. The first thing that hits you is the beautiful reception area and the friendly and super efficient check in. We were in our room within a few minutes. The room was fantastic but the view from the balcony wasn't what I was hoping for as it was my first time in LA. I rang reception and asked if a room with a city view was available. I was informed nothing was available on that particular night but they would see what was available the following day. On exiting the elevator for breakfast the following morning I was informed by reception they had a different room with what they hoped was the view we were looking for and it was. It was on the 8th floor at the rear of the hotel and the view was fantastic both day and night. Everything from then on was of the same flawless quality. We ate the lovely complimentary breakfast a couple of mornings and ordered off the menu a couple of mornings and both were lovely. To order off the menu is very reasonable considering it has the Gordon Ramsay name. The valet parking although a little expensive at $36 per night is very well run. It's a all-suite hotel and both of our rooms were beautiful with special word about the fantastic bathrooms. You could eat your dinner off the floor in this hotel it's so clean. We stayed at this hotel from 16th June to 20th June but would gladly stay for the whole month. The pool area on the roof and the view from it are beautiful. I would like to say a special thanks to reception for helping us get the view we hoped for and their help and guidance with the La sights and eating options.

Room Tip: City view rooms on higher floors at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    234
    57
    27
    17
See reviews for
187
477
76
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Decided to stay in LA for 2 nights on the way back to Australia from New York. Read good reviews and chose The London - delighted. Gorgeous lobby, large (huge) rooms and bathrooms and lovely breakfast included. Robes were very elegant and expensive. The pool terrace was standout with great cabanas and fire pit - and panaramic views on to LA, the Hollywood Hills and Beverly Hills. Like others, found it frustrating that residents were turfed off the pool deck at 4pm for a private party and the cocktails were the most expensive and least delicious of all throughout my trip. Still wouldn't out me off and the location is great too - one street off Sunset strip so not noisy but still in the heart of it all - next door but two to the Viper room.

Would recommend thoroughly and certainly will go back

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My second stay at the LWH. I mainly go there because of the great location and spacious rooms. Was a bit disappointed that I didn't get an upgrade or at least a room with a city view. Compared to the SLS in Beverly Hills, where I stayed this year as well, it's not exactly the liveliest of places. The lobby, the bar and even the rooftop seemed a bit empty most of the time. I also didn't appreciate the maid knocking at my door twice at 8 am, so make sure to put up the "do not disturb" sign.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDandashy, Manager at The London West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. So sorry to hear we were unable to accommodate an upgrade on this visit. We always do our best to surprise our guests with additional upgrades when available. Unfortunately, with the busy summer, sometimes we do not have that luxury to upgrade.

But we do hope you stay with us again. And next time, please feel free to reach out to me for your room booking or after you have booked. I will gladly make sure we take care of you!

Warm regards,

Sarah Dandashy
Concierge, Les Clefs d'Or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall, england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The rooms are in immaculate and excellent views. The staff couldn't be kinder and more helpful. and the location is amazing. On arrival we had a bottle of champagne waiting for us as it was both our birthdays. Loads of places to eat near by and the pool on the roof top has the best views in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The London is a very stylish hotel in LA. It can be a little hard to find the entry way and sometimes the Ubers get a bit lost so be specific about where it is. It is in a great spot in West hollywood and close to all that santa monica boulevard has to offer. Walking distance is some great shopping at fantastic off the beat boutiques

The rooms are very large being an all suite hotel. The bathrooms are huge and very well lit. All the rooms we have stayed in have a double shower which is nice in hotel for all sorts of reasons

The staff are good, the pool is above average but not outstanding it does have an amazing view but for a hotel of it's size it can be hard to get a chair even midweek, I can't imagine what the weekends are like.

The food I believe is below average and although staying there more than 5 times the service at breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. We thought it might have been a one off but it is the reason we stopped staying here it just wasn't up to scratch for the money you pay. The variety is also a bit lacking for the other meals of the day

It can be great value at times and this makes up for it's shortcomings but probably better options out there

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDandashy, Manager at The London West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear TheJandtheV,

Thank you for giving a thorough review of your stay with us! We too pride ourselves in our convenient location (even if Uber has difficulty finding the driveway), spacious rooms, beautiful bathrooms, and our incredible rooftop!

I am sorry to hear about the your experience with breakfast. I will pass the note on to management.

We certainly hope that you plan to stay with us in the future!

Warm regards,

Sarah Dandashy
Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting USC. Beautiful entrance (though hard to find when arriving for the first time at night.) Rooms were very spacious and balcony was nice. Bathroom was a nice size also and had double showers. Halls were beautifully decorated with what appears to be suede on the walls. Gordon Ramsey restaurant for breakfast was wonderful! Not a lot of variety but enough to choose from. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahDandashy, Manager at The London West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear TravelgirlKaty_Texas,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It sounds like you truly had The London experience!

This September we are launching 23 new luxury suites with separate living rooms and sleeping areas! So, maybe another visit is in order? Thank you again!

Warmest regards,

Sarah Dandashy
Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had heard amazing things about this hotel before booking and it did not disappoint! From the moment you walk in through the double doors, into the exuberant lobby - you feel like a star! The concierge and the rest of the staff were so lovely and helpful - not pretentious like many other 5 star properties!

The rooftop pool and cabanas are AMAZING! Fantastic ambience and views of the Hollywood hills. This really does feel like a private oasis, amongst the LA city lights!

We even spotted a few celebrities here having a private party on the rooftop! Well worth the $$$.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The London West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.