We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room and hospitality, issues with food/bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The London West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The London West Hollywood to your Saves list
The London West Hollywood
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic room and hospitality, issues with food/bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked a room for one night as a surprise for my BF's birthday. We live in LA but I knew he'd be happy with a mini staycation, and the London met and in some cases exceeded my expectations. Upon checking in, we got upgraded to a suite on a higher floor. All the rooms are at least suite-size, meaning very spacious with a sitting area in addition to the bed. And the bathroom. Whoa. The nicest hotel bathroom I've seen. It was almost as big as the bedroom! And, this is just a side note, we loved the products (shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, etc) that were provided. The balcony overlooking San Vicente Blvd had a fantastic view, and the bed itself was super comfortable and luxurious.

We went up to check out the rooftop pool, which also has an amazing view of the city. I will say that when we ordered a snack, it took forever to arrive. How long does it take to make a quesadilla? And we had to ask a couple times. But no big deal.

The main issue I had was with an unexpected charge from the London Bar off the hotel lobby. I had friends come meet us to celebrate my BF's birthday and had brought in an outside cake (which I had inquired about and they said was fine). The staff took care of the cake and asked me if I wanted it cut. I said yes, and they informed me there would be a $3 cutting fee. $3? Fine, whatever, I thought. Of course. And how many pieces should there be? I don't know, maybe 30? So they cut the cake and brought out the slices. Great. But then at the end of the night, I discovered that when they said a $3 cutting fee, they meant PER SLICE. So I was charged $90 just to cut the cake! And I had paid $65 for the cake itself, so it cost me $155 just to have a birthday cake with some friends! Had the staff been clearer about the PER SLICE charge, I would've cut the cake myself, or else just had them cut 4 big pieces or something. It was the one black mark on an otherwise great event.

But overall, I'd highly recommend the London. For what you get and in comparison to some other boutique hotels, it's fairly reasonable price-wise, just don't get your birthday cake cut by the staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannydinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the London this past week for the first time and was very pleased and impressed. The hotel is simply elegant with beautiful furnishings and lighting, particularly in the lobby and in Gordon Ramsey's restaurant, but also in the rooms. All of the staff from Valet to Front Desk were extremely nice. The room was wonderful, particularly the view and the oversized balcony with its view of the Hollywood Hills and downtown L.A. A couple of important factors for me: There's a complete in-room movie system that works well and I could keep the AC/fan going all night (although it wasn't as strong as I'd like and there is a minimum limit of 65 degrees. One demerit for that from me as I like the fan strong and the room cold but I know in this Green day and age you can't always get what you want). A second demerit was for a mattress on the hard side but that's personal taste. I also didn't ask if there was another room with a softer mattress which I would do next time. And I will be back next time because you just feel special being in this hotel and in that room (and the way the rooms are set back from the halls they are very quiet). For this property and its excellent location I just hope that the prices stay reasonable for a hotel of this quality. (By the way, for the people who have complained on this site that the rooms are called "suites" but really are not, I suppose that's technically true although the hotel could erect a wall between the bed and the living-room area but then you'd lose the view from the bed to the Hills and downtown LA. So I prefer it stay as is. It's still a very big room.) Well done London and I'll see you on my next trip to LA!

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms (I think those were the Sunset Suites) don't have views as nice as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scannermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel really lives up to its name. It captures the luxury, style, and atmosphere of a five star hotel in London. The architecture is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, and the design is divine. The bathroom has dual showers with a separate tub, very indulging and relaxing.

The staff is friendly, efficient, and polite. I ordered an in-room massage, which was promptly coordinated and exactly what I needed.

We had a really great experience at this hotel, and look forward to coming back on my next trip to LA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were booked in to The London for two nights in March. We were there for a wedding. The room smelled strongly of a heavy duty disinfectant but I assumed it would fade. It did not. By 11pm, I had a sore throat. Despite this, we tried to sleep. Not possible. The noise from the traffic on Sunset Boulevard often sounded as though it was in the room with us. This was particularly so for revving motor bike engines. We did not know you had to ask for a quiet room but the hotel obviously did. In the morning, we found that they supplied earplugs in the bedside drawer. This is an expensive up-market hotel and yet the very large windows are single glazed. Ridiculous in such a location. A quiet room should be the norm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzimill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I've state here twice. Love the location. Great for furniture shopping. The rooms are big. This time I had a very noisy room. I asked to change and they accommodated me quickly and there was no noise in this room over the drive way. My ninth floor room was better the last time. Bathrooms are awesome. Beds are very good. Not awesome. Pillows need a little help in my opinion but they are plentiful so you can stack them. I like the breakfast but the staff there are not the best. The lady in the bar area of te free breakfast was great. Unlike tht yet have meat, cheese and tomorrow's as I don't eat wheat. I don't often repeat where I stay because I like to try new places but this time I chose to stay here again which says it all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelette4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully designed hotel just off the Sunset Blvd in W Hollywood. Rooms with true comfort and beautifully designed open to amazing views of the city. A rooftop pool with a great bar too! Walk to the Whiskey, Viper, Rainbow or any,of the old time rock clubs or down the street to the hottest gay bars in LA!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TWilliamson07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for 5 years now, and each year we realize why we keep coming back. We feel like we have "finally" arrived on the west coast when we get checked into the London. The staff is so friendly and the rooms as well as the view are amazing. If you go, you MUST visit the rooftop pool. Can't say enough good things about this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bc2mc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,191 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Low Cost Holidays and Jetsetter so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing