We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a suite...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The London West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The London West Hollywood to your Saves list
The London West Hollywood
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a suite...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Extremely disappointing on many levels..
1 the room is not a suite.. its a room maybe a big room but its a room...
a suite is two rooms living room and a bedroom.
(if each room had a goldfish bowl would it be ok to say each room had a personal Zoo i think not)
2 personal terrace is a balcony.. not a terrace a balcony.. maybe a nice balcony but a balcony.
3 after room confusion, i was kindly offered a fruit platter the next day, for my guests im still waiting.
4 furniture in room could do with an upgrade, armchair although pretty was tattered, head board was pretty scratched up (didnt want to think about what was happening in that bed before me, i suggest you change it)
5 bar staff were usual supercilious hollywood nonsense but thats to be expected.
i felt nickeled and dimed as i had a few visitors who were all promptly charged a minimum 12 dollars for Valet..
really disappointed in Amex that they would recommend this place..
Most of all its irritating when as a customer your sold something your not getting..
its not a suite its a room!!

Room Tip: If you want a suite dont stay here ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    234
    57
    27
    17
See reviews for
187
477
76
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The London is by far the best place to stay in West Hollywood and I personally would say LA as well. I dont stay anywhere else now, food is amazing, rooms are very nice and well appointed, and service is on point but not bothering.

Although the hotel is deep in West Hollywood, its about 20-30 mins to LA and Santa Monice areas. Less without traffic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but take one of the larger suites on the bottom floors. You still get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the London W. Hollywood for 3 nights and loved the place. The room came with a balcony and was spacious as was the bathroom. The breakfasts were great--perfect for healthy eaters as well as those of us who like to indulge while traveling. The staff was unfailingly positive, friendly and eager to help. The first room they gave us smelled like someone had been smoking in it, and they provided a substitute immediately no questions asked. The valet parking staff did an amazing job even when things were busy. All positive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we're from LA but we often go for a short get away in hotels around LA. after having a baby, it's extremely hard to find a baby-friendly hotel. the London exceeded our expectation. wish we were from out of town that way we couldve stayed longer!
the staff were friendly, genuine, and helpful. they not only provided a crib upon request, but also gave us some baby shower gel, powder, and wipes!
the food was exceptional and view was spectacular. i wish i could give them 10 stars. having stayed in hotels in Asia and europe, the london is by far the most comfortable and friendly one. we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here three nights and was so impressed with the level of comfort and the always-helpful staff. My room had a beautiful balcony looking out over LA, an enormous bathroom, L-shaped sofa and big coffeetable and desk, comfy bed, super clean and fresh. From the valet parking team to the front desk and the near-invisible cleaning crew, everyone was friendly and warm. It was too cool and rainy to swim, but we did look at the gorgeous rooftop pool and the intriguing Hampton Court outdoor area on the third floor. I was surprised by the reasonable price and the very friendly staff. The balcony was my favorite hangout, with a nice little sofa and table under the awning. Also, the complimentary breakfasts were delicious and the restaurant and lobby are beautiful. Room service was speedy and good and dinner/drinks in the restaurant were good also.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best, and facing the city. Many rooms look toward Sunset Blvd. and that would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Excellent service with a very friendly and helpful staff. (You might expect them to be stuffy or have a Hollywood/Beverly Hills attitude, but that's not the case.) Large rooms/suites, which are very comfortable. Wonderful, extremely large bathrooms with double-sided/headed showers in addition to the tub. We had two 2-week stays, so the size and comfort of the rooms was important. As a result, we feel very at home in this hotel.

The London is dog-friendly, but dogs are limited to a specific block of rooms. Having stayed in the dog and non-dog rooms, I can say they are equivalent, so dog owners are not getting short-changed. However, do be aware that, in addition to the per-night pet charge ($20, I think), there is a mandatory $100 cleaning fee per stay. To us, it was well worth it to be able to have our dog with us and have her treated so well by the staff.

Most of the room rates include breakfast, but it is continental style (albeit fairly extensive), so if you do want eggs or a hot dish you will have to pay extra. The pool area is lovely with a fantastic view and the food/drinks area adjacent to the pool is a great place for snacks and cocktails. Room service food is quite food and comes promptly. Ovenright parking rates are ridiculous but then there is no parking in WeHo, so it's a necessary evil.

The location is perfect for doing the WeHo party "strip" of Santa Monica Blvd., or the Sunset Strip. Tons of restaurants to walk to. Also close to the Beverly Center and plenty of other shopping. If you need to rent a car, I would suggest Enterprise on SM Blvd. (next to the Ramada). They're really great and will drive you back to the hotel at the end of your rental if you need a ride. (I think they will come pick you up as well.)

Have also stayed at the NYC property multiple times and can also recommend it, although $40 for a room service breakfast there of oatmeal and coffee still leaves me shaking my head.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've stayed at both London Hotels in the US now(LA and NYC). Both are fantastic!! We will be back!! The staff was very attentive and the room was beautiful. Can't beat the location....within walking distance from all the hot spots. Great view from the pool area too. We fealt like celebs!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The London West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.