We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time as a family in LA and we could do it all again in this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The London West Hollywood

Save Saved
You added The London West Hollywood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The London West Hollywood
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time as a family in LA and we could do it all again in this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved this hotel as soon as we arrived after a long day in Disneyland. The lobby's classy and cool and check in was very quick. Shown into our gorgeous room and given a quick tour of it which was lovely. Our room had a small balcony which was amazing as it gave us an absolutely amazing view of Los Angeles, and the employee who showed us up to our room said we had one of the best in the hotel. Room was large with ample storage space, and an amazing bathroom with twin showers and a huge bath.
We found the highlights of the hotel were the pool, breakfast and location.
Pool: huge rooftop one with loads of sun loungers. Has a stunning view of LA and offers refreshing and complimentary lime water etc. The fire pit which was lit at night was also great.
Breakfast: complimentary and excellent. Room's decor was superb and we looked forward to it every single morning we woke up there. Loads of fresh fruit, hams, different types of breads, etc.
Location: great. Near sunset boulevard and also a sighseeing bus stop which we used and was very handy. Found it a perfect base for all of our sightseeing.
Tip: look out for Stella, the English bulldog in the lobby! We saw her once in the 5 days we stayed and we all loved her.
All in all, I would love to come back here. Pricey, but worth it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    724
    206
    54
    23
    16
See reviews for
171
451
70
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

If you are going to LA, and want to stay in a genunine 4.5 star hotel, trust me, you can't do better for value and return. In my view the only better hotels in LA are the four seasons, the peninsula and the Beverly hills hotel, yet they are all at least double the price. Rooms are huge and very nice, service great and location really good. If you are a gym junkie like me this is the one area of disappointment as it needs some care and attention. Not sure they have renovated this since they did over the hotel from its former motel days. If you are looking at this hotel vs the andaz, don't even think about it. They are both around the same price yet this is a classy place and the andaz is more like a motel with ipads and free drinks....harsh perhaps, but true

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Our first time in LA and a good stay at The London. The lobby and concept is terrific. Beautifully decorated lobby with ornate tiling, scones, glass and brass.

The gym is adequate, the roof top pool area is stunning and their main restaurant offered a complimentary breakfast which was excellent.

The staff we encountered was professional but somewhat standoff-ish. The front door / car park always seemed understaffed. Our concierge gave us excellent dining recommendations but was hard pressed to tell us of any attractions to see outside of West Hollywood. They didn't even have maps to give us so we had to plan our own excursions.

As this was a special occasion; my partner upgraded us to a "Crown Suite". The room was massive and the tiled shower for two was exquisite. The suite was located on a low floor with zero views. Both TV and IPod clock radio were broken and the champagne and snacks (which were pre-ordered through their online amenity service found on the Hotel's web site) had been missed completely. We had to order it once more and wait 20 minutes for the delivery. Very disappointing but the hotel did change the broken equipment the following day and comp'ed the bubbly.

Tips:
- Ask for a high floor, skyline view... Not the view of Hollywood hills. The view of the hills is lame and noise coming from nearby Sunset Blvd is very loud. The hotel offers comp earplugs located in the night stand. If you like to sleep with the window open: this is not a good choice for accommodation.

- Call the hotel directly should you wish to buy upgraded amenities. Always best to talk to someone and not rely on an online service.

A nice hotel but we will explore other hotel options on our next trip.

Tips:

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay at The London for our honeymoon, and my oh my did we get it right!!!
From the moment we arrived (at 1am) we were greeted with if smiles & warm welcomes! We entered our AMAZING room, which was more than what we expected! We then woke up to a SENSATIONAL complimentary breakfast & the staff really took the time to get to know us. Kirk from Concierge was just beautiful! He was more than happy to help us out & gave us plent of tips- all with his big smiles & fantastic attitude!!! We were ever SO sad to leave L.A, and cannot wait to return to The London!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel definitely has a lot of pluses. The staff were all attentive and helpful. Very service oriented and seem to have been given the proper training in customer service.

There are a few challenges that this hotel will need to overcome to really knock it out of the park. First and foremost is the noise. The walls at this location are paper thin. You can hear every conversation in the hallway, every door shut, day and night. Secondly, the windows are not thick enough to even muffle the noise from outside, let alone block it. You hear every passing car, siren and motorcycle. Above us at night, it sounded as if someone was doing laundry. Not so great when you are attempting to sleep. When you think of the main reason that you would stay in a hotel, it would be get a comfortable and great sleep while travelling. My sleep in this hotel was always disturbed, so for this reason, I can't score it any higher than noted.

The rooms are well equipped and make a great extended stay option if you don't need the kitchen facilities. It has a funky design and many of the modern comforts that you would come to expect from a luxury hotel. It is still able to maintain a home feeling and if you are looking for a place to base yourself for a few days, this would be a nice option. They did a great job designing this building, very cool and easy to appreciate the efforts. I don't know what it was before, but for some reason I couldn't get in the "i'm staying in a luxury hotel" groove that I generally look for when I stay in hotels.

On the other hand, my husband thought it was great. I guess it is a matter of personal taste.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fun times, even with just one night. A friend and I ate at Gordon Ramsay's restaurant and it was a la French style, with small portions and pauses in between courses, long enough to fit in conversations and long for that next course, but enough to make you full at the end. We relaxed after dinner with a rooftop swim and lounged with cocktails in front of a modern firepit, overlooking the city. The room was trendy with comfortable beds and an awesome rainfall shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This Hotel is situated in the residential area of West Hollywood, while not too far from all the actions in the adjacent neighborhoods (Hollywood/West Hollywoods). We managed to book a block of the rooms during the sold out weekend in LA and we left very impressed. Although the rooms were not located on the same floor, but each rooms were all tastefully decorated with modern technology equipments. Wifi is complimentary for those who needed. Rooms were very comfortable but make sure to ask for the room with the view of the city. It is very gorgeous at nighttime.

One of the best thing that I like about this hotel is their staff. Very accommodating and understanding. Make sure to visit the rooftop bar and pools, its a nice place to hang out. While people rave about their restaurant, I found it was just average (I had afternoon tea there but I do not recommend it, the food was mediocre at best).

Besides the F&B, its still one of the best hotel in LA with its services and comfort.

Room Tip: Room with view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The London West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.