We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good... Not great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The London West Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The London West Hollywood to your Saves list
The London West Hollywood
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good... Not great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Our first time in LA and a good stay at The London. The lobby and concept is terrific. Beautifully decorated lobby with ornate tiling, scones, glass and brass.

The gym is adequate, the roof top pool area is stunning and their main restaurant offered a complimentary breakfast which was excellent.

The staff we encountered was professional but somewhat standoff-ish. The front door / car park always seemed understaffed. Our concierge gave us excellent dining recommendations but was hard pressed to tell us of any attractions to see outside of West Hollywood. They didn't even have maps to give us so we had to plan our own excursions.

As this was a special occasion; my partner upgraded us to a "Crown Suite". The room was massive and the tiled shower for two was exquisite. The suite was located on a low floor with zero views. Both TV and IPod clock radio were broken and the champagne and snacks (which were pre-ordered through their online amenity service found on the Hotel's web site) had been missed completely. We had to order it once more and wait 20 minutes for the delivery. Very disappointing but the hotel did change the broken equipment the following day and comp'ed the bubbly.

Tips:
- Ask for a high floor, skyline view... Not the view of Hollywood hills. The view of the hills is lame and noise coming from nearby Sunset Blvd is very loud. The hotel offers comp earplugs located in the night stand. If you like to sleep with the window open: this is not a good choice for accommodation.

- Call the hotel directly should you wish to buy upgraded amenities. Always best to talk to someone and not rely on an online service.

A nice hotel but we will explore other hotel options on our next trip.

Tips:

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LeotheLion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We chose to stay at The London for our honeymoon, and my oh my did we get it right!!!
From the moment we arrived (at 1am) we were greeted with if smiles & warm welcomes! We entered our AMAZING room, which was more than what we expected! We then woke up to a SENSATIONAL complimentary breakfast & the staff really took the time to get to know us. Kirk from Concierge was just beautiful! He was more than happy to help us out & gave us plent of tips- all with his big smiles & fantastic attitude!!! We were ever SO sad to leave L.A, and cannot wait to return to The London!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ggleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel definitely has a lot of pluses. The staff were all attentive and helpful. Very service oriented and seem to have been given the proper training in customer service.

There are a few challenges that this hotel will need to overcome to really knock it out of the park. First and foremost is the noise. The walls at this location are paper thin. You can hear every conversation in the hallway, every door shut, day and night. Secondly, the windows are not thick enough to even muffle the noise from outside, let alone block it. You hear every passing car, siren and motorcycle. Above us at night, it sounded as if someone was doing laundry. Not so great when you are attempting to sleep. When you think of the main reason that you would stay in a hotel, it would be get a comfortable and great sleep while travelling. My sleep in this hotel was always disturbed, so for this reason, I can't score it any higher than noted.

The rooms are well equipped and make a great extended stay option if you don't need the kitchen facilities. It has a funky design and many of the modern comforts that you would come to expect from a luxury hotel. It is still able to maintain a home feeling and if you are looking for a place to base yourself for a few days, this would be a nice option. They did a great job designing this building, very cool and easy to appreciate the efforts. I don't know what it was before, but for some reason I couldn't get in the "i'm staying in a luxury hotel" groove that I generally look for when I stay in hotels.

On the other hand, my husband thought it was great. I guess it is a matter of personal taste.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjcan8119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Fun times, even with just one night. A friend and I ate at Gordon Ramsay's restaurant and it was a la French style, with small portions and pauses in between courses, long enough to fit in conversations and long for that next course, but enough to make you full at the end. We relaxed after dinner with a rooftop swim and lounged with cocktails in front of a modern firepit, overlooking the city. The room was trendy with comfortable beds and an awesome rainfall shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This Hotel is situated in the residential area of West Hollywood, while not too far from all the actions in the adjacent neighborhoods (Hollywood/West Hollywoods). We managed to book a block of the rooms during the sold out weekend in LA and we left very impressed. Although the rooms were not located on the same floor, but each rooms were all tastefully decorated with modern technology equipments. Wifi is complimentary for those who needed. Rooms were very comfortable but make sure to ask for the room with the view of the city. It is very gorgeous at nighttime.

One of the best thing that I like about this hotel is their staff. Very accommodating and understanding. Make sure to visit the rooftop bar and pools, its a nice place to hang out. While people rave about their restaurant, I found it was just average (I had afternoon tea there but I do not recommend it, the food was mediocre at best).

Besides the F&B, its still one of the best hotel in LA with its services and comfort.

Room Tip: Room with view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doraemon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Beautiful property and make sure to go up to the roof bar and pool! Staff were fantastic and so friendly.

Gordon Ramsey's restaurant was above and beyond what i expected... we had the 10 course meal and loved every bite. Service at restaurant was above and beyound

Splurge you will be happy you did!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovesjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stay at The London West Hollywood when I travel for business and the staff is always wonderful! They're polite and attentive, and they are always willing to accomodate random requests if they can (like a later check-out, or a room upgrade). The rooms are really big, the beds are really comfortable, the bathrooms are really clean and the premises itself is lovely. I personally like the Gordon Ramsey kitchen better in LA than I like the one in New York. The rooftop, poolside bar is also great, and if you have a room with a balcony, definitely take advantage by ordering a couple of drinks and sitting out there to relax.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level have a better view of the surrounding Hollywood/Los Angeles area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
Andaz West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 2,189 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#12 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Low Cost Holidays, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing