We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The London West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The London West Hollywood to your Saves list
The London West Hollywood
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great ambience and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My first stay here since it was the Bel Age Hotel. Great location, service and amenities. The staff was also great. A good place to stay if you can afford it. Easy walk to NOBU (if you desire) and short cab ride to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive, Sunset Boulevard and the highways.

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the Hollywood Hills, although most if not all rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    241
    58
    27
    17
See reviews for
193
481
78
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I love this hotel. The decor is elegantly chic and clean! The location is perfect. It's in the middle of the hustle and bustle of West Hollywood, but tucked in just behind Sunset Blvd with amazing views! The service is top notch. A little secret...the hotel has a "house car" (very nice luxury car) that they keep on the property that will take you to any close location. It is first come, first served.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The London is the best choice if you want to stay in the Hollywood area. It exudes a cool elegance, and the rooms are huge and beautifully appointed. There is plenty of closet space, a separate sitting area with sofa (although truth be told the sofa was not all that comfortable), good lighting for reading in bed, and coffee/tea making facility. The bathrooms, however, steal the show! Whether you enjoy a soak in a great tub, or prefer to be bombarded with different shower jets in a huge separate shower stall, you won't want to leave the bathroom! You can believe all the raves you've read here on TA. For some of you, however, the balconies might even upstage the bathrooms - make sure you get a view over the LA basin. It is spectacular, (and I mean REALLY spectacular) especially if you can get a higher room. There are rooms on the Sunset side of the hotel which would prove quite disappointing, I think, so if you want that phenomenal view, make sure you request it.

Of course, you can always partake of the view up on the roof of the hotel, and you MUST do this, if only to have one of the cocktails on offer up there. But trust me, you'll never want to leave, once you settle in with one of their really creative drinks. There is a lot of comfortable and varied seating all around, and they even have heat lamps to heat the area once the sun goes down, (and it can get cold in LA in a hurry once the sun sets!). Service was quick and friendly.

In looking for a hotel in the Hollywood area, I found the London to consistently offer the best value, especially once you factor in the terrific breakfast that comes with the room (make sure you get this included with the rate you book). I found the offerings to be quite upscale, beautifully presented, and with enough choice to please any palate - much more so than the usual fare in a casual breakfast buffet. However, that restaurant is small, and on at least one morning we had to wait about 10 minutes or so for a table to open up before we could eat.

All in all, you will not be disappointed in the London! The location is convenient for Sunset, but overall quiet; and there are a number of lovely restaurants/shops within 10 minutes walk, and best of all, a Peet's coffeeshop just around the corner!

We booked a package that included a spa treatment, and even though the spa itself is inconveniently off-property and difficult to find (and NOT walking distance), everything else about that experience was top-notch, from booking it to the choice of services from which we could choose, to the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. We were treated like honored guests, and the massages and facials were wonderful. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I wanted to give this hotel a 5 star review so badly. Everything was perfect from the staff, to the suite we had, to the food we ate, but once the wedding party moved in, the party was over for the regular guests.

I believe every room in this hotel is around 750 square feet or more. Our room (Room 212) was really wonderful with private terrace. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom very nice. I'll post pics so you can judge for yourself. I must say, no detail was left out, from the iron, to the mini bar, we had absolutely everything we needed and more.

The staff here is wonderful. We encountered energetic, friendly and accommodating staff throughout the entire hotel. Whoever is doing the hiring here, knows what they are doing.

We enjoyed the pool and the restaurants.

Now for the one negative. Both nights we were there, there was a wedding in the hotel. The first night wasn't bad, the wedding was on the 3rd floor terrace and didn't really interfere with our use of the hotel. The second day we were there, we were unable to eat lunch on the rooftop as they were setting up for a wedding event there and to make matters worse, the pool was half taken over with tables to accommodate the guests who wanted to dine where the rooftop space usually is, but much less, so impossible to get a table OR a seat at the pool since everything was crowded all together for the regular guests.

We crammed in, 3 to a sun lounger that we had to rush to snag as someone was getting up. Then we were told we had to leave after about 30 minutes because they needed that area for yet more tables for the restaurant. We gave up and went down to our room to hang out on our private terrace and relax before dinner.

That night we had made reservations at Gordon Ramsay's. It was a special occasion for us, and we have eaten there before and enjoyed it. We had an 8pm reservation and when we arrived were told we needed to dine in the box car cafe because the entire dining room was reserved for an after hours party for that same wedding. Needless to say, I was not happy about this. The food was the same, but the atmosphere was not. I felt soured on this hotel that the regular full paying guests do not have access to all the hotel has to offer (and a reason why you book here!) when a wedding is taking place there. I feel that wedding ruined our stay. If everything else hadn't been way above 5 stars, I would seriously give this hotel a bad review. How can they let a wedding take over everything at the hotel, from the rooftop restaurant, to the pool, to their fine dining option? Not acceptable to me. I doubt I will be back on a weekend again. If planning a mid-week visit without a wedding, I am sure it would be a totally different experience.

Room Tip: Stay mid-week when there isn't a wedding scheduled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkan, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Excellent location, right behind Sunset strip and the other surrounding areas. Close to the Viper Room.
Hotel is well furnished and the staff are keen to help. Rooms are large and well equipped.
Pool on the roof offers great views, day or night. Restaurants offer good food and the breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The London West Hollywood is an elegant smallish hotel just off the Sunset Strip. The rooms are large and handsomely decorated. My balcony had a sweeping view of Los Angeles and the surrounding hills. I have rarely stayed in a hotel with a finer staff; they are efficient, welcoming and consistently exerted every effort to make our visit pleasant.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over LA and, if you want to splurge, ask for one with a terrace. Handicapped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

At the end of a 3 week trip around the West Coast we stayed our last 2 nights at The London before heading back to Oz. What a great experience. The most friendly and welcoming reception team, beautiful arrival area. Taken to our room along gorgeous hallway made us feel at home again. The room was bright, modern with huge balcony overlooking B. Hills. The bathroom was to die. Huge, great appliances and very bright with loads of hotel supplied goodies. Room way big enough to share with our soon on an extra bed. Roof top pool and bar amazing, with brilliant views to the hills. Breakie was interesting, tastie and very enjoyable. Great value. Dinner at Ramsey's was worth doing but probably not again. It was nice but expensive for what it is. I think better places to eat in West Ho at cheaper prices. Breakie definitely the winner. Location of hotel is superb, easy access to everything you might want. Also free limo to Beverley Centre shops was a bonus. If you like shopping you must pay a visit. Only down side was view whilst expansive wasn't as nice as Hollywood side. Definitely check view on website before booking.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have huge balcony but make sure you have the right view. Upper level rooms are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Amex, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The London West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.