We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro glam Hollywood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
nyc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Retro glam Hollywood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed a sat night at the Tower probably the best hotel in west Hollywood. The owner Jeff Klein has done a marvelous job of restoring this Art Deco Hollywood beauty. The location is ideal, perched on a hill with wonderful vistas of LA.Had brunch on the verandah of the Terrace overlooking the pool. The lobster tacos were delicious. Even though the blender was malfunctioning , the kitchen sent out an excellent blueberry smoothie.The service was impeccable, probably the best part ot the stay was the interaction with the staff , who know all about outstanding service.
Fresh flowers abound around and inside the property with orchids placed at every corner.The room was the PH suite , upgraded due to Amex platinum booking. A wrap around terrace with flowers on the balcony,comfortable soft beds, Kiehls amenities(ask for refills which are gladly presented) made our stay a wonderful memory. Didn't have a chance to eat at the restaurant which I hear is celebrity city with outstanding food, book early!. Kudos to Mr. Klein who has mastered the art of being a Hotelier.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    69
    19
    14
    11
See reviews for
67
192
49
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Simple and chic with a definite perspective, the Sunset Tower Hotel ranks among the most wonderful places I have ever stayed.

The always twilight-time lighting throughout gives the hotel a warm and relaxed feel as does the decor with its emphasis on woods, neutrals, browns, and brass.

The rooms are spacious and exceptionally well appointed - espresso machines, wood and satin hangers, umbrellas, an excellent iron, sturdy ironing board, ash trays (on the 8th - smoking optional floor), cushy robes, well stocked refrigerator, a varied snack selection, glassware, ample Khiel's toiletries, pens, writing paper, post cards, iPhone dock alarm clock, dvd player, etc. The beds are very comfortable and the linens and towels of a very good quality.

And the views! The views! Beautiful no matter what direction you are facing.

The staff is young, attentive, and detail oriented. There is no wait for anything here really, and you are always made to feel you are a priority.

The bar, pool area is luxe without pretension and a great place to unwind. The workout room is bare bones, but there's enough there to get in a decent workout.

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is so exciting & glamorous , which is why I booked it. From the minute you get out of the car , the valet attendant looks like a young Johnny Mathis. The entire staff is so good looking & gracious. The rooms are very clean & the panoramic view of Sunset Strip is great day & night. Our room was a king suite on the 10th floor, which was a fabulous location . The room is very small , but the bed is comfy.The bathroom had only a shower & I prefer a tub. The bathrobes provided are swell. The history of the hotel gets you started on your Hollywood tour. This is a quite hotel with a small pool, but they make sure the hotel guests have first priority for the lounge chairs. You can have drinks & food around the pool.. I cannot rate the main restaurant,since I could not get a reservation. I should have booked the restaurant ahead of time. Movie Stars eat there late on Sat. nights. The walk down Sunset Blvd has lots of cafes & shopping .My only complaint is the hotel lobby & business center is way too dark.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my second stay at the Tower, and there was a snafu with my reservation rate. It was the fault of the travel agency and not of the hotel; nevertheless, the conflict was not resolved by my check-out time. Drew, the front office manager, smiled, promised he'd take care of it, and sent us off to the airport without our having paid. By the time I landed at my home airport, Drew had corrected the problem and emailed me the bill which reflected the change.
The food was great, as was the service, the massage, and the salon. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by a client who stayed here years ago and we were not disappointed. Our suite was nice and roomy and very comfortable. Staff were great. We weren't too impressed with the tower bar service as I guess since we weren't celebrities we weren't good enough to eat in there as we made a reservation and the lady at the counter said it would be over and hour wait and would we like to eat at the terrace instead, yet as we walked through the tower bar all we saw were empty tables. My fav staff member were actually the boys out the front, nothing was ever too much to ask of them and i feel people tend to forget about them as being important too. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a lovely working lunch at The Terrace restaurant- the food was delicious and the atmosphere was even better! It feels like a lovely European lunch spot overlooking LA.

We had WONDERFUL service from Jacob and the manager, James. Jacob was friendly, knowledgable and so so helpful throughout our entire meal. He truly made our first lunch experience here even that much better. James was also simply fantastic. So professional, friendly and accommodating!

A great experience and delicious lunch! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Awesome hotel. The reviews on TA are all pretty accurate. Old Hollywood feel, fantastic service, friendly staff, very clean rooms, great neighborhood (walked to the Rainbow Grill & Nobu), and great price. Pool is kinda small, but no big deal. You will not be disappointed.
Get the "free" continental breakfast poolside. Only $5 with omelettes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;