We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my second stay at the Tower, and there was a snafu with my reservation rate. It was the fault of the travel agency and not of the hotel; nevertheless, the conflict was not resolved by my check-out time. Drew, the front office manager, smiled, promised he'd take care of it, and sent us off to the airport without our having paid. By the time I landed at my home airport, Drew had corrected the problem and emailed me the bill which reflected the change.
The food was great, as was the service, the massage, and the salon. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    69
    19
    14
    11
See reviews for
67
192
49
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by a client who stayed here years ago and we were not disappointed. Our suite was nice and roomy and very comfortable. Staff were great. We weren't too impressed with the tower bar service as I guess since we weren't celebrities we weren't good enough to eat in there as we made a reservation and the lady at the counter said it would be over and hour wait and would we like to eat at the terrace instead, yet as we walked through the tower bar all we saw were empty tables. My fav staff member were actually the boys out the front, nothing was ever too much to ask of them and i feel people tend to forget about them as being important too. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a lovely working lunch at The Terrace restaurant- the food was delicious and the atmosphere was even better! It feels like a lovely European lunch spot overlooking LA.

We had WONDERFUL service from Jacob and the manager, James. Jacob was friendly, knowledgable and so so helpful throughout our entire meal. He truly made our first lunch experience here even that much better. James was also simply fantastic. So professional, friendly and accommodating!

A great experience and delicious lunch! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Awesome hotel. The reviews on TA are all pretty accurate. Old Hollywood feel, fantastic service, friendly staff, very clean rooms, great neighborhood (walked to the Rainbow Grill & Nobu), and great price. Pool is kinda small, but no big deal. You will not be disappointed.
Get the "free" continental breakfast poolside. Only $5 with omelettes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Loved everything about the experience at Sunset Tower Hotel. The staff was so friendly and warm. A nice gentleman at the concierge even upgraded us to a suite when we were only there for 2 nights. Wish we could have stayed longer. We ended up eating dinner there both nights (once on the terrace and once in piano bar) because it was so cozy and the food was great. The menu will satisfy just about any palette- it's simple but elegant. The hotel has a ton of character, and although its not as lavish as some other hotels in the area- it has a quality that can't compare- right down to the cookies in your room before bed. When back in LA- will definitely be staying there again! It seems as though the staff treat every customer the same, with a genuine warmth and sincerity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I really did eat the sashimi every night I was there... it is just that good! The bar staff and servers welcomed me back very warmly and made my trip as perfect as possible. Meeting friends and business associates is always a treat too. It is the place with an incredible energy & atmosphere where you can truly have a home away from home. I slept like a dead man and always woke to a quiet morning with a fresh breakfast. The Sunset Tower stands as a monument to great service and is unsurpassed by any others that I have seen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

my fiancé & i love to stay at The Sunset Tower when visiting LA. it's ideally located with beautifully appointed art deco rooms and common areas.
the tower bar restaurant is elegant & cool with stunning city views, a classic brasserie menu and an extensive beverage list that includes the perfect martini. the terrace is a beautiful, cozy spot to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner overlooking the pool and city beyond. we've had many meals here and it never fails to please.
service at both restaurants is professional and super friendly. say hello to angel at the terrace--he's the best!
touches such as kiehls products, fluffy robes and turndown service w/ cookies always make for an overall special experience, even when we're in town for a quick layover or business trip. it's old school glamour but decidedly fresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.