We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappoints. Always Delights.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints. Always Delights.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I really did eat the sashimi every night I was there... it is just that good! The bar staff and servers welcomed me back very warmly and made my trip as perfect as possible. Meeting friends and business associates is always a treat too. It is the place with an incredible energy & atmosphere where you can truly have a home away from home. I slept like a dead man and always woke to a quiet morning with a fresh breakfast. The Sunset Tower stands as a monument to great service and is unsurpassed by any others that I have seen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    74
    19
    15
    11
See reviews for
69
212
57
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

my fiancé & i love to stay at The Sunset Tower when visiting LA. it's ideally located with beautifully appointed art deco rooms and common areas.
the tower bar restaurant is elegant & cool with stunning city views, a classic brasserie menu and an extensive beverage list that includes the perfect martini. the terrace is a beautiful, cozy spot to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner overlooking the pool and city beyond. we've had many meals here and it never fails to please.
service at both restaurants is professional and super friendly. say hello to angel at the terrace--he's the best!
touches such as kiehls products, fluffy robes and turndown service w/ cookies always make for an overall special experience, even when we're in town for a quick layover or business trip. it's old school glamour but decidedly fresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Great bar staff! The Hendricks cucumber martini are spectacular Fried chicken Sunday and Mondays are worth the wait. Sean and Brett are extremely welcoming and brilliant mixologists. The Terrace is stunning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed there with our good friends. The place was stunning and immaculate! Our friends had a great room. Our room was even better.The standard of accommodation was first class, there was everything you needed and more to make the holiday complete right down to the pool and view! Fantastic! Make sure to take time to see Angel and his team of fabulous servers Derek and Victoria. If you feel like staying in, order the pancakes from Daniel from in room dining. This is the place to be pampered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was recently in Los Angeles on business. It was during E3 Live so the city was busy and I was having trouble finding a hotel. A friend recommended Sunset Tower. They had availability and so I went.
It was a 4 day stay. The rooms are small, but extremely well appointed. The service is excellent, the bed out of this world, the linens are incredible. I repeat, the bed is the best I have ever experienced, bar none. They leave you the best fresh baked chocolate chip cookies with the turndown service. There was zero street noise in my room and I had a wonderful nights sleep. I need to repeat, the bed was best I have ever slept on, bar none.
The downstairs patio is fantastic with a nice breeze that flows through the entire first floor.It's an elegant place with a gracious staff. A lovely person named Wendy Krueger helped me with my reservation. Can't thank her enough - she was as sweet as the cookies.
Overall, I would recommend this to anyone visiting Los Angeles. It is an upscale hotel at a good price. It's well managed and the focus is service. I hope your stay there is as good as mine was.

Room Tip: I was in the room facing Sunset. I was afraid there would be off street noise coming through the art...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My partner and I decided to take a mini vacation to LA for some sunshine and relaxation. When searching for a hotel, a dear friend suggested The Sunset Tower. I immediately logged on to Trip Advisor and read such wonderful reviews and knew we had to stay. What a great decision that was. This is hands down the best hotel in all of Los Angeles. The hostess of the Tower Bar Restaurant (which was incredible), Miranda, was warm and welcoming and made sure we got the best seat in the house.

The Terrace Room has the most impressive continental buffet we've seen anywhere. They pull out all the stops here. Fresh berries, smoked salmon, a delicious selection of pastries and you haven't lived until you've experienced their french press coffee. Just fabulous. Each day of our stay we were exquisitely taken care of by our servers Derrick, Victoria and Angel. These guys have an eye for detail and will make sure you leave feeling like a Hollywood star. We also have to give a special thank you to Marvin the chef at the omelette station. He was so friendly and even remembered what we had in our omelettes every day!

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the house keeping staff works hard to ensure the rooms are spotless. We can't thank those men and ladies enough. Thanks again Sunset Tower Hotel management and staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've stayed there twice in the last 2 months. One on business, one with my wife and 3 girls. Awesome staff, very attentive, with no hassles whatsoever. Echoing a previous reviewer, Viktoria (sp?) is an excellent ambassador for this hotel. But everyone was friendly, accommodative and attentive. 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.