We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“I will be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I initially came in just for a glass of champagne at the Terrace Bar and ended up staying for hours since the view, atmosphere and service was so enjoyable. Tony at the Terrace Bar made the experience that much better. He made great recommendations for appetizers and wine. I will definitely be back! I recommend this bar as one of your destinations, it has one of the best views of the city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    81
    24
    15
    11
See reviews for
85
237
63
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a great time at the Sunset Tower Hotel. My Son just recovered from a Pneumonia and my wife was not well. They did their best to make our stay relaxing. One of the waiters at breakfast, Angel prepared hot lemon juice with honey, his mother's recipe for bad stomach! This was kind and relieved the stress of being sick far from home. We will come back from Switzerland nex summer for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed at almost any hotel of note in LA and have this is my first time at Sunset Towers in Hollywood. It is a classic, beautiful experience where the details are done perfectly. It's low key, stunning Deco architecture and historically preserved while still feeling modern - or better yet - timeless. The staff is amazing, my personal favorite is Tony, who is warm and genuinely fun to talk with. I prefer talking to the patio restaurant people more than the other guests. The hotel retains the feel of 1930's apartment living with all the benefits of technology and top-notch service. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing Sunset BLVD. it can be bit noisy with floor to ceiling windows, and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at The Sunset Tower hotel last week and was thoroughly impressed ... the room was clean and the hotel had a classic Hollywood feeling to it. Upon checking out, Tim gave me a box of chocolate chip cookies, which was really sweet! Order them while staying at the hotel if you can, they were home made!
Will def be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wow! Talk about feeling welcome! I was in LA on business for 4 days and spent most of my free time in the Tower Bar. There were plenty other places I could have perched on the vibrant Sunset Boulevard, however Derek and Angel bought service to another level so why go anywhere else! The 20's allure of the hotel, terrace pool and perfect view were just as wonderful however it's the service that I most enjoyed.
Thank you for making me feel so comfortable - I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Everybody was polite and professional. The room was lovely with a wonderful view. The hotel was upscale without being stuffy, and the restaurant was just perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

You will not find a better wait staff/valet/front desk & bartenders anywhere. The atmosphere in the restaurant & terrace is intoxicating, yet relaxing and refreshing. The rooms are comfortable and have great views from downtown to the beach. The location is within walking distance to many great restaurants/bars and venues, but I found that night after night, I was already at the best spot in town. The bartenders were complete gentlemen and the tuna tartar was fantastic. One of the best hotel experiences to date.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
Andaz West Hollywood
#2 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,889 reviews
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#4 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis
Sunset Marquis
#5 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
West Hollywood
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel
#10 of 17 in West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
West Hollywood
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.