We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Sunset Tower Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Sunset Tower Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a great time at the Sunset Tower Hotel. My Son just recovered from a Pneumonia and my wife was not well. They did their best to make our stay relaxing. One of the waiters at breakfast, Angel prepared hot lemon juice with honey, his mother's recipe for bad stomach! This was kind and relieved the stress of being sick far from home. We will come back from Switzerland nex summer for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    69
    17
    13
    11
See reviews for
56
184
47
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed at almost any hotel of note in LA and have this is my first time at Sunset Towers in Hollywood. It is a classic, beautiful experience where the details are done perfectly. It's low key, stunning Deco architecture and historically preserved while still feeling modern - or better yet - timeless. The staff is amazing, my personal favorite is Tony, who is warm and genuinely fun to talk with. I prefer talking to the patio restaurant people more than the other guests. The hotel retains the feel of 1930's apartment living with all the benefits of technology and top-notch service. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing Sunset BLVD. it can be bit noisy with floor to ceiling windows, and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at The Sunset Tower hotel last week and was thoroughly impressed ... the room was clean and the hotel had a classic Hollywood feeling to it. Upon checking out, Tim gave me a box of chocolate chip cookies, which was really sweet! Order them while staying at the hotel if you can, they were home made!
Will def be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wow! Talk about feeling welcome! I was in LA on business for 4 days and spent most of my free time in the Tower Bar. There were plenty other places I could have perched on the vibrant Sunset Boulevard, however Derek and Angel bought service to another level so why go anywhere else! The 20's allure of the hotel, terrace pool and perfect view were just as wonderful however it's the service that I most enjoyed.
Thank you for making me feel so comfortable - I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Everybody was polite and professional. The room was lovely with a wonderful view. The hotel was upscale without being stuffy, and the restaurant was just perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

You will not find a better wait staff/valet/front desk & bartenders anywhere. The atmosphere in the restaurant & terrace is intoxicating, yet relaxing and refreshing. The rooms are comfortable and have great views from downtown to the beach. The location is within walking distance to many great restaurants/bars and venues, but I found that night after night, I was already at the best spot in town. The bartenders were complete gentlemen and the tuna tartar was fantastic. One of the best hotel experiences to date.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week at the Sunset Tower Hotel and we loved it. Within thirty seconds of checking in we saw our first celebrity who was staying on the property. Our first night at the hotel we had already done so much, we decided to stay in and order room service. Both the food and the service were exceptional! Then, about half-way through our trip, my wife and I had an unexpected, upsetting and embarrassing experience. The hotel staff was extremely kind in being discrete while assisting us with the situation. We can't thank them enough. This is not to mention that the beds and the pillows in the rooms are incredibly comfortable and you have great views of the city from the Hotel. The Sunset Tower Hotel is beautiful historic property and we would absolutely recommend it to anyone considering staying here! Thank you again to all of the staff!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the south side for a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.