We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LA Spring Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“LA Spring Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My son and I always stay at the Sunset Towers when we come to LA, so it was the logical choice for our recent spring break.
The hotel is located on Sunset Blvd and is easy to get to from LAX. It is also located near many of the great things to do in LA, (sight seeing/shopping/the beach/the observatory/Hollywood/Beverly Hills, etc). As always, the staff at the Sunset Towers took great care of us (especially Tim Cunnigham who always seems to be working). Both restaurants in the hotel are excellent and the pool area overlooking the city is exactly what we needed in getting away from the Minnesota winter.
As always, we will be back the next time we have to travel to LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    72
    19
    15
    11
See reviews for
68
208
57
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

It was our first trip to Los Angeles and this hotel was recommended to us by a friend , so glad we took there recommendation ! It was the perfect place to stay - excellent location , very luxurious , all the the staff were very helpful , especially Tim Cunningham, front desk manager . Really enjoyed the nostalgia about the hotel , it has a very interesting past .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

While the rooms are on the small size, you only sleep there. The staff and the waiters and bar keeps are fabulous! The maitre'D, Demitri is absolutely old Hollywood glamour rite large in this century. His ability to make everyone feel like a movie star is unbelievable. A definite must stay at least once.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The atmosphere is lovely, but it is the staff that made our stay so wonderful! Including our friendly waiter (Derek), the incredible young man who helped me carry my sleeping child to the room, the cleaning staff who did an excellent job, and everyone who made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here February 9th & 10th with my daughter. Our room was nice and the view (with balcony) was amazing. Everyone was warm and friendly and we enjoyed our stay. We had our hair styled at Argyle Salon & Spa while we were there and our curls never looked better! Also, the restaurants at the hotel are lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The first thing you notice driving up - what a spectacular art deco building! The staff are very friendly and accommodating - Jeffrey was especially good. I booked a king size room and was surprised about how small it was. And I was wondering about those floor to ceiling windows I've read about. The reviews talking about size are absolutely true - if you're in a standard/superior/delux king room. We stopped by and saw a junior suite - that was what I was expecting. The room was smaller than the rooms from my recent stays in Tokyo and London. For the price i was expecting a lot more.

Room Tip: Don't select a normal king room - super tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recent stay at STH:
The best sheets on the most comfortable bed. Love the Nespresso machine in the room.
All staff very helpful .Front desk very knowledgeable and helpful.
I commend them all- but let me just mention : Viktoria, Angel and Derick who helped me make the most of the one day of relaxation I had - by constantly moving the shade umbrella so I could lounge near the pool but not be exposed to the sun.
This is an extremely well-run hotel that is focused on its clientele and does the utmost to make them comfortable.
May be time for a bit of minor touch up in some of the rooms

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Splendia, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.