We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hollywood Art Deco hotel, perfect stay, don't hesitate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
1 review
“Hollywood Art Deco hotel, perfect stay, don't hesitate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a change in LA from my regular spots, I was enchanted by the sunset towers, real Hollywood glamour, the Art Deco, the spa the pool the view, not to forget the bathroom and the use Khiels products, yes it matters...

Staff is taking amazing care of you and makes sure you are happy

A special thank you to Derric who every morning took care of us for breakfast and gave us tips and places to go to!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    60
    13
    10
    10
See reviews for
49
160
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

After reading the other reviews, I wonder if I am having an out of body experience. My first room was so small, albeit with a wonderful view, that I, literally, could not unpack my suitcase, unless I wanted to stack my belongings on the bed and snuggle with them all night. After asking to see another room I guess my Hollywood contract has been ripped up as I am now staying in the Hollywood Mortician King, with a tiny window overlooking an air compressor, brown wallpaper and no counter for the sink. I can actually crawl out my window and lounge on a sooty roof. If this hotel is old Hollywood Glamour then this is the backlot, or the old prop room, or where they keep the extras. Lovely and friendly staff, however this is more Barton Fink then Betty Davis.

Room Tip: Stay away from the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The STH is my personal favorite in Los Angeles, and I always stay here when visiting for work or pleasure. Today I focus on the morning breakfast which is superb. Angel, Derric and Victoria always take extra special care of me, and I appreciate their efforts tremendously. They are friendly, attentive, and professional. I can always count on these guys to make my stay a solidly wonderful experience each and every time. Thanks, guys!

Room Tip: If you can swing a junior suite, go for it. The gracefully arching floor-to-ceiling windows beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay after an eleven hour flight from the UK. There was an instant sense of the history of the hotel and the glamour of golden age Hollywood. All of the staff members were incredibly welcoming and did their best to make us comfortable.

Our double room was spacious and relaxing, with a plush bathroom and a shower that didn’t leak out onto the floor (almost a first for hotel showers).

The pool was small; definitely a pool designed to be sat by rather than to be used, so that wasn’t a problem at all. Cocktails on the terrace by the pool as the sun set over the city came pretty close to perfection.

Finally – the restaurant. The food and service were exquisite but the restaurant was very dark. This gave it a cosy, intimate feeling and we had a great evening. The truffle mac and cheese went down very well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Absolute old school glamour! Sunset Tower is as chic and gorgeous as you could imagine but, unlike many alternatives, has no pretenses and doesn't feel overly youthful. I adored my large suite and the dusky hallways that brought to mind Raymond Chandler novels. I especially loved the staff who made me feel as comfortable in the hotel AND the sophisticated Tower Bar as any of the celebrities that frequent it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We adored everything about this hotel. It has the vintage Hollywood touches but is updated perfectly with modern marble bathrooms, very comfortable beds and luxurious linens. The windows in the room open up so you can feel the breeze. Breakfast was awesome, terrace and pool area are heaven, Tower Bar is the perfect hangout spot. We even used the little gym and it was great for what we needed with nice equipment (though the hallway to get there is kind of smelly and old). Service was fantastic in all areas. Couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay here and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend room with 2 twin beds unless absolutely necessary - there are only 2 and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location with a wonderful & attentive staff. The classic beauty of the bar-restaurant and the poolside lounge exceeded expectations. Our large room was equally as impressive and a great value. Loved its history as well. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood
Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex, Tablet Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.