We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I always enjoy my stays at Sunset Tower. The rooms are very nice (although some are on the small side), and the food is outstanding. The best part about this hotel, however, is the staff. Every single person I encountered, from the front desk to the room service waitstaff to the bellman, was helpful, friendly, and professional. They truly make you feel welcome. No complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    69
    19
    14
    11
See reviews for
68
195
54
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Tim Cunningham continues to amaze me with his command of just what it takes to deliver the perfect experience in a competitive hotel market. There are plenty of choices in LA, and you don't stay here for the latest flat screen TV or modern furniture. The tower offers something much more sublime. It's become a second home for me, but I suspect the team makes equal effort for every guest.
Dinner at Tower Bar Saturday night was flawless - Dmitri, and his team old & new, orchestrate the room with such flair. Is it good or bad that they remember your favorite cocktail? Lets say good.
Finally got a chance to use the Argyle Spa - having previously been a loyalist to my girl Esther at the now closed Aqua Spa. Farah was awesome and even though I out came in for a quick buff manicure, she made it memorable and ill definitely explore the spa more in the future. All of the desk staff were darling and super welcoming.
Last but DEFINITELY not least, is my ray of sunshine Angel at the Terrace Bar. He's young, service oriented, and loves his job. That comes through. He's a graceful host, and (Jeff are you listening?) represents your brand with such integrity and passion. He's a lovely lovely, young, aspiring and inspiring guy. Thanks for always making me feel so looked after Angel.
See my guys at the tower again soon.
Stay here - and experience something very very special.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

From the moment we entered the hotel until the time we left, we were met with pleasant, professional staff who made us feel most welcome. While the history of the building is certainly interesting, the hotel's true asset is the staff, who were so friendly and always with a smile, eager to please. Breakfast in The Terrace with Angel serving was to die for and dinner in the Tower Bar was superb. I'm still dreaming about the morning's French Toast and freshly squeezed orange juice, as well as the evening's oysters and Tower Burger and French Fries.
Our room was a good size with two queen beds and TV and a sitting area also with a TV. Bathroom had a large, glass-enclosed shower with seat. My husband enjoyed the pool, where the excellent service continued. This trip was a 5 night visit to be with our grandson for Thanksgiving. Regretfully, we didn't have time to enjoy the hotel spa.

Room Tip: Corner suite had a better view of the city from one window than it did from the one facing Sunset, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I found the service to be well above the average - very attentive without having to ask. It's a fine balance between superb service without being intrusive. I found that to be the case with everyone I met. The food was good as well. Sitting in the morning sunshine at the Tower Bar eating what is very fresh fruit was a great way to start the day. That is indeed a rare event in today's hectic world.

My wife and I stayed for two nights, breakfast included. Although our room was small, the bathroom was very spacious equipped only with a shower but large enough for two (nudge nudge, wink wink). Our view however was fantastic, looking out over LA. You definitely need to get a room with a view. The bed was comfortable and we did like the location on the strip. I also appreciated the free wi-fi.

The Sunset Plaza is a short walk away with plenty of restaurants to choose from. We also ate at the Tower restaurant. Very tasty and great service as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

had a great stay, room was nice a large, great view of the city. staff and service were excellent. great location. We stayed there before a show at the hollywood bowl which was a quick 10min drive. good moscow mules at the pool.

have fun

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The first thing that strikes one about this landmark is the sense of history. They give you a small card with the history of the hotel in your room, and it sets the tone of this wonderful vintage property. I arrived after the Vanity Fair Party which was held here, and they kindly upgraded me to a suite on the 14th floor with stunning views of the city. I enjoyed the restaurant, and experienced excellent friendly service from all, as well as reception. The rooms are not huge, however, the hotels character and ambience make up for this in spades. I took advantage of every aspect of this wonderful hotel, including the pool restaurant, room service and the spa, and all were excellent.
I look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Definately ask for one with a view of the city, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one-night. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. We got in at noon and our room was ready by 1:30PM (normal check-in is at 3PM)! The hotel is designed to have the old Hollywood look and pulls it off. From the lobby to the hallways to the rooms themselves...it's very circa 1940-1960s Hollywood.

The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were great.

It did however remind me of the Tower of Terror ride from Walt Disney World.

Additionally, it is in W. Hollywood and for the $$$ I would rather stay in Beverley Hills or Santa Monica. W. Hollywood has a sketchy crowd....although this is a safe distance away from the majority of the bums...it's still close enough that I would rather stay in a nicer neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.