We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - nice rooms and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay - nice rooms and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

had a great stay, room was nice a large, great view of the city. staff and service were excellent. great location. We stayed there before a show at the hollywood bowl which was a quick 10min drive. good moscow mules at the pool.

have fun

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    77
    22
    15
    10
See reviews for
79
224
58
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The first thing that strikes one about this landmark is the sense of history. They give you a small card with the history of the hotel in your room, and it sets the tone of this wonderful vintage property. I arrived after the Vanity Fair Party which was held here, and they kindly upgraded me to a suite on the 14th floor with stunning views of the city. I enjoyed the restaurant, and experienced excellent friendly service from all, as well as reception. The rooms are not huge, however, the hotels character and ambience make up for this in spades. I took advantage of every aspect of this wonderful hotel, including the pool restaurant, room service and the spa, and all were excellent.
I look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Definately ask for one with a view of the city, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one-night. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. We got in at noon and our room was ready by 1:30PM (normal check-in is at 3PM)! The hotel is designed to have the old Hollywood look and pulls it off. From the lobby to the hallways to the rooms themselves...it's very circa 1940-1960s Hollywood.

The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were great.

It did however remind me of the Tower of Terror ride from Walt Disney World.

Additionally, it is in W. Hollywood and for the $$$ I would rather stay in Beverley Hills or Santa Monica. W. Hollywood has a sketchy crowd....although this is a safe distance away from the majority of the bums...it's still close enough that I would rather stay in a nicer neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here one night when it was the old Argyle, and that place was a real dump. But since the renovation, this hotel is awesome and a great value. They did an excellent job of maintaining the art deco feel, while making it also feel updated and new. Service is excellent too.

This is the second time I have stayed at the hotel, and I think the service and value is superb. I travel to LA frequently for work and will be staying at The Sunset Tower every time. As I mentioned, overall I have found the service to be warm and professional, and everyone from valet to reception, to room service, to the servers are top notch.

I do need to point out the EXCEPTIONAL level of service I received from Regina at reception. I arrived in LA on Monday morning and immediately had to run all over town for meetings, ending with a dinner in Santa Monica. During dinner, I realized I had left my wallet on the airplane - so annoying and stressful. When I got to the hotel, I was greeted by Regina, and when I told her what had happened, the very first words out of her mouth were "can I call American Airlines for you to track down your wallet?" She left them a message, and left me a hand written note under my door letting me know that she had called them, left a message, and provided me with the lost and found number as well. American Airlines called me the next day to let me know that they did indeed have my wallet, which a friend of mine went to pick up.

After a long day of travel from the east coast, a full day of meetings and dinner, only to realize my wallet was missing, was a total drag. Regina's kind offer and help was such a highlight, I am very grateful. She really understands the meaning of the word 'hospitality, she is a spectacular asset.


Anyway, just wanted to let you know I think she is a spectacular asset to your team there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

On a recent trip to Hollywood we stayed in the Sunset Towers. It has great service and is in a great location. The hotel rooms are small but nicely decorated and have great views. We also went to have a few drinks at the Tower bar which was fun. While there is nothing particularly special about the hotel or rooms it does offer some old Hollywood charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Sunset Towers Hotel is a boutique hotel set on Sunset Boulevard in West Hollywood with scenic panoramas, rich interiors, comfortable well appointed rooms and a rich Hollywood history.

We chose the Sunset Towers as our overnight hotel while attending a performance at the nearby Hollywood Bowl. The ambiance of the hotel is early Hollywood when stars like John Wayne, Marilyn Monroe, Errol Flynn, Elizabeth Taylor and Frank Sinatra were residents. They have a really beautiful interior style.

Our room was very well appointed with a very comfortable bed and exceptional appointments including a steamy marble bath and an espresso coffee machine. The stocked mini-bar will accommodate some of your own beverages BUT at check-in the hotel does have guests sign a form saying they will not bring in outside alcohol.

They have a great bar, terrace restaurant serves delicious food and the hotel has 24-hour room service. Service is friendly and professional.

The reason this hotel is not a five for me is their parking fee of $39 per night and their policy to allow smoking in their Terrace restaurant. If not for that, this is really great hotel to stay at when visiting Hollywood would be a five.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for great views. From the 14th floor we could see Santa Monica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed from Oct 15-18th at the Sunset Towers for three nights on our first trip to LA. While the location bordered on the less desireable section of Sunset Blvd, the hotel itself is very nice. And the location is good for fairly easy drive to studios, Bevery Hills, and other tourist highlights. Great view of the city and the service was amongst the best we've ever had at a hotel this size. The staff (Jessica on mornings and Kyle (?) on evenings) did a great job answering our questions about tours, travel times, etc. The room was not huge, but it was not tiny either. The bathroom was very spacious. All very nicely decorated and kept - not dirty or dated. High quality food and selection at the continental breakfast. Parking is a bit steep at $32/day, but overall we thought this hotel was a fair value for the lovely room, awesome staff/service, good breakfast and to stay at a historic LA site. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel to have a view of the city instead of Sunset Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Tower Hotel

Address: 8358 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famed Sunset Strip in the City of West Hollywood, The Sunset Tower is next door to Beverly Hills and minutes from all the major studios and attractions. With 74 elegant suites and rooms - most with views of Beverly Hills, the Hollywood Hills and downtown Los Angeles - as well as a top-notch modern bistro, the Tower Bar, a poolside grill, The Terrace and a full service spa and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Splendia, BookIt.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunset Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.