We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the jungle...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Marquis to your Saves list
Sunset Marquis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An oasis in the jungle...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend here as an extension of his business trip earlier in the week. This hotel is beautiful. We stayed in a villa and the walk through was private and enchanting with all the lush tropical plants and flowers. The service here was excellent. It is a very exclusive resort where privacy is ensured as many celebrities stay here. The service and food at the Restaurant was good- we only ate breakfast here as we had preplanned our culinary adventures in advance. LA has some great food options and we were anxious to try some out during our short stay. The location is close proximity to Sunset, but we took cabs everywhere as it's not really a walking city. We enjoyed the villa pool for one full day. It fills up early and there aren't a lot of seats in the first place. People tend to stay for the duration so if you plan to go- get there in the morning and stake out your spot. We were able to take a tour of the studios beneath the Sunset, which was a really cool experience. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Villas are great- I don't know about the rooms in the main section of the hotel but if you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    77
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
116
32
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel numerous times for business. It's location is perfect - away from the buzz on Sunset Blvd yet within walking distance of many nice places, restaurants and clubs.
Their suites are impeccable and the service was always warm and personal. I would stay there for private stays if I could afford to ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Sunset Marquis is an awesome, hip hotel. Great service, cool people, delicious food and comfy beds. We had so much fun lounging by the pool and eating at the restaurant. A true oasis in West Hollywood. The staff was over the top attentive and they had great recommendations for us when we asked about restaurants and nightlife. I can only hope for another visit like this one. It will be hard to top our experience!

Room Tip: Call the hotel to book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel was like finding a hidden gem. My husband and I traveled here for pleasure and we will never stay anywhere else in LA. This is a boutique hotel that has some music history dating back to the 60's. We are both musicians so this was the perfect place for us. We also like being next to the Sunset Strip because if it's prime location. My recommendation is to call the hotel staff when booking a room. Some of them are renovated and some aren't. The grounds are unbelievable so be sure to walk through where some of the villas are located. Nightbird studios are located underneath the hotel where many major artists record. We actually ran into Steve Tyler and that was pretty unbelievable. I would love to go back and stay in a villa at some point. The hotel is so quiet and I truly felt like this was the real deal. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My fifth visit to this wonderful hotel. Great location, beautiful garden, wonderful food, great service especially the from the conceirge team. We had a junior suite which overlooked the main pool which was perfect. The only two things which really bothered me was the daily charge for internet access which when you are paying $300 for a room is downright greedy. In fact I think it is outrageous. I was also unimpressed that the room service menu included $39 bottle of wine which didn´t exist. When I asked for the alternative ´house´ chardonnay I was charged $96 which was really pushing the boat out. If you run out of stock which you can´t replenish then you locate a similar product at a similar price that is a basic. Otherwise one may think that the management are trying to push the envelope a little too far.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello jimmixxx,

Thank you for your review of Sunset Marquis, and your continued patronage whilst visiting Los Angeles. We truly appreciate our repeat guests, as they are our best ambassadors.

I have shared your concerns with the room service department. We certainly agree with your assertions regarding replacement options for wines and have ensured our staff will take more time to explain the options to our guests in the future. Regarding Internet access, we do have costs associated with providing this service but understand your comments and wanted to acknowledge them here. We are reviewing our options in this regard to provide the best possible coverage while minimizing costs.

Thank you again for your support of Sunset Marquis, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Booked a one bedroom suite for two nights. The photos on their website are misleading, taken from creative angles, and showcase the Villa part of the property. The front buildings and pool area (which conveniently aren't pictured on the website) have been treated to a poor quality HGTV makeover. The front desk staff was incredibly nice and apologetic that my expectations were not met. Poor value at this price point.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello Onesweetlife,

Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory experience you had while staying at Sunset Marquis. It is always our goal to provide the best accommodations and service levels possible, and we are sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this stay.

As we continue the renovations we will address each and every aspect of the rooms to ensure they meet the highest standards. And once completed, we will load all new images of the hotel. For yours and others convenience, we do currently have images loaded for both suites and villas on our site, under the accommodations tab, as well as on our booking engine. It is certainly not our intention to mislead guests with the images displayed on our site, but simply to share with them "some" of the aspects they might find appealing. Unlike most hotels in the area, we offer the opportunity for guests to experience the wonderful weather that is representative of Southern California by virtue of our gardens, indoor/outdoor restaurant and two outdoor heated pools. Our goal is simply to convey these assets via imagery.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value and appreciate all feedback as it allows us the insight necessary to continue working toward our goal of offering the absolute best hotel experience in the area.

Warm regards,

Sunset Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location. Just steps away from great restaurants on Sunset Boulevard near Sunset Plaza. Quiet neighborhood street that is residential. We took some sightseeing tours and the stops for the busses are near our hotel off Sunset. Nice pool atmosphere, quaint hotel that was pretty quiet and convenient. Staff was very helpful with our questions about restaurants to try, etc. Cost was decent for this area. Very glad we chose this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.