We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Unforgettable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Marquis to your Saves list
Sunset Marquis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Unforgettable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Spent Grammy week-end at the Sunset Marquis and despite the hotel being completely sold out, there was no attention to detail spared by the excellent staff. My friend and I stayed in the main building in 2 rooms that have been updated. They were beautiful and modern, with exceptional showers (one of my most important criteria for a hotel I will return to!). But, as comfortable, hip and stylish as the rooms and the hotel are, the real reason to stay at the Sunset Marquis is the exceptional and remarkable staff. They are helpful, thoughtful, patient and truly committed to the highest levels of customer service. My friend and I are not music or entertainment VIPs (though there were plenty there over Grammy week-end, at this hotel frequented by musicians and their bands), but you'd never know it from the 5-star treatment we received while at the hotel. It was another 5-star stay and I cannot wait to go back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    81
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
36
125
33
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Sunset Marquis for the first time this past week. It was only for one night but as I'll be doing more and more business in LA, I'll be back. It's always nice to go back to a hotel after being in meetings all day where you can take a breath, sit outside and not feel like your walking into a nondescript building.


I had a suite on the first floor which was really great. The layout would work for a meeting and or a casual night in. The only thing I can't get used to is having a sliding door right outside of the bedroom. I can see how that can be convenient & cool but for me, I wasn't into it.

My boss stayed in a one bedroom villa which was beautiful as well. It was way more private and tucked away. However, the only difference I saw was the location and the bathroom. His bathroom was beautiful and large. The linens might have been upgraded as well.

I didn't appreciate that my room wasn't ready until after 4.30pm and it didn't matter to me that it was Grammy week.
I'm not sure if I'd bring a family here but it was great for business!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarquisDOM, Manager at Sunset Marquis, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
lunagoddess77

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Glad you enjoyed yourself. We apologize your room wasn't ready upon your arrival. Check out time is noon, and when we have a full house it is sometimes difficult to get all the rooms cleaned in time for the 4pm check in. We promise to do better next time, and we've indicated the issue in your folio for reference upon your next stay.

Our over-sized rooms and work space really do make them convenient for business travelers, and we are indeed focused on creating an environment conducive to relaxing after a hard day of meetings.

Again, apologies for the late check in, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Sunset Marquis in July 2012 when we were in town for a party. We loved this hotel. The room was big, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was modern and well equipped. Modern, but with a retro vibe. We got a real kick out of looking at all the photos of rock and roll stars who have stayed at the Sunset Marquis over the years. Both pool areas were gorgeous and we wished we had stayed another day to spend more time lounging. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hollywood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have no complaints whatsoever for the Sunset Marquis. We had a great 4-night stay and would highly recommend it to others. A great location, 2 mins from Sunset Blvd. Our room was a very good size, with separate sitting area, desk space, dressing table, a small patio. Comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little small and bath very shallow. The hotel has two outside pools, one in the centre of the hotel with very comfortable and stylish sun loungers, the other towards the villa and garden area. We visited both the restaurant and bar, and happy to recommend both. The restaurant is open to the gardens and koi pond but kept warm with ceiling heaters, very comfortable seating and good service. A little haven in the middle of the city. We wanted salads, and they were very accommodating inviting us to choose from the lunch menu in the evening. The concierge staff were super helpful too, and all the staff were welcoming and professional. A great hotel worthy of praise and repeat visits and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family of 5 recently stayed at the Sunset, we had a suite and room connected. Unfortunately we did not have the pleasure of staying in a renovated room so the bathroom was pokey and falling apart :(, but none the less we were more than comfortable. The Rooms have very comfortable beds (kids said like sleeping on clouds) and awesome blockout curtains (yeah sleep ins). My 3 children were made to feel like "rockstars" the duration of our stay, thanks to the kid friendly staff and the kids rock program and I love that the staff are attentive without being over the top. The property is a pleasant oasis and the kids loved feeding the fish while we waited for breakie to be served. Overall we had a very chilled out time at the Sunset thanks guys!

Room Tip: Request a renovated room (not sure when the whole hotel will be complete)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Sunset Marquis once again in January and still think that it is a true gem. It is so serene and beautiful. The ambiance is one of total relaxation. The service is outstanding in that everyone is so genuinely friendly and cares to do everything possible to make your stay the most enjoyable. The pool and gardens are paradise and complete the overall peacefulness of the property. It was not crowded at all on this, my second visit. The massage at the spa was one of the very best that I have had. The room service and restaurant food is excellent and is served with a genuine smile. Service is very efficient and friendly. The rooms are not luxurious, but are comfortable and well supplied. The entire property is well maintained and super clean. I will only stay at the Sunset Marquis when visiting West Hollywood!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have access directly to a small patio with lounge chairs for the pool. The pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in one of the villas which was quiet and very large with two balcony's and a huge bathroom. It was tucked away a little and with all the plants outside, a little dark but I didn't really mind as it was so sunny the minute you stepped out. The breakfast was consistently good but the buffet could have been a bit more and the staff always helpful and friendly. The setting is like a little oasis with well tended plants and two pools to choose from. It has a great central, West Hollywood location too. Well worth it if you have the cash to spare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.