We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted garden in WeHo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Marquis to your Saves list
Sunset Marquis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enchanted garden in WeHo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed at the Sunset Marquis twice already and I look forward to getting back! The Villas are extremely spacious and spotless, the pool villa is quiet, the food is exquisive and the staff is extremely attentive. I've searched in LA for many years to find a classy hotel with unpretentious and skilled staff, providing a homey feeling. I've now found it, thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a Villa which balcony is not overlooking La Cienega
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    79
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
120
33
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I loved this hotel. It's expensive but worth it. Steeped in rock n roll history with lots to look at. We had one of the signature bungalows for three nights which was set in a wooded area lit with fairy lights at night, quite magical. The bed was without doubt the most comfortable I have ever slept in and I wanted to take the pillows home ( but resisted!) Bathrooms superb with huge bath and enormous rainshower.
Staff were mostly very good. They are a bit full on with the old expectation of tipping and one night we got chased halfway back to our bungalow by a member of the bar staff who reminded us that we had 'forgotten to add a gratuity'.
Pool areas are nice and there is an air of opulence without the stuffiness that you sometimes get in upmarket hotels. Would have liked to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Not alot more for the bungalows if you take advantage of the upgrade offer in advance, and these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Location: excellent, in West Hollywood, convenient for restaurants, Beverly Hills, Hollywood/ Sunset boulevards, Santa Monica

Rooms: spacious, with super-comfy beds, well-stocked minibar, fridge

Amenities: swimming pool (though not too big) with a very nice deck/ area around; tropical garden

Restaurants/ bars: restaurant is excellent (though a bit over-priced - breakfast for 2 can set you off by $100) - great choice of buffet/ a la carte; trendy bar, though its reputation to be a celebrities magnet is definitely overclaimed

Staff: very friendly, helpful and welcoming

Mood: cool, relaxed and unpretentious

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 2nd floor (eg 233) - instead of swimming pool views you may get a view over relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Staying here right now! Nice one bedroom suite although view is of a roof too, slightly shabby carpet and not as luxurious as the price would warrant. Corridors are dark and gloomy. We have had mixed experiences with the staff, Elaine the concierge is incredible! Found reception staff on check in uninterested, I actually stood at the desk a few minutes without being noticed although it was quite late! Valet brought my bags to the room but my husband who checked in an hour earlier wasn't offered help with luggage.
Biggest letdown for me is no coffee/tea making facilities in the room (although we have now been provided with a kettle) room service coffee isn't good and a $15 charge to set up a tea service (makings and kettle) each time is a little over the top, I have my own tea bags so $15 for milk seems excessive!
Pool areas are beautiful, breakfast in the restaurant was nice if a little too pricey for our budget I'd recommend Mels Diner at the top of the road for anyone not on a "Rock Star" budget!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a great property as far as location and potential. Rooms were large and clean with separate living space, staff was great, cool intimate bar, beautiful restaurant and complimentary partnership with equinox gym(huge perk that would probably be the reason I went back). Restaurant food was amazing but extremely expensive (more than four seasons or ritz carlton) with slow slow slow service! We waited 1 hour and 45 minutes for our entrees and there were only two other tables filled in the restaurant. Internet service did not work well in room. Refrigerator was broken. Bed extremely comfortable!! Phone in main area broken.

Room Tip: stay away from elevators...some rooms are right next to elevator door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Great location and friendly staff. Large, comfortable rooms and beautiful property. Mixed customer service training - some employees were great and some really lacked basic social filters. For instance: when our party was served dinner an hour and 40 minutes after ordering and the server warned us 20% gratuity had already been added. Or, when we grabbed drinks in the bar a waiter dropped our check, after the first order , and said, "how are you going to pay for this?" - without asking if we wanted something more. Housekeeping was either great or average and our mini bar fridge was broken the whole time even though it was restocked once. Visit was fine - but I expected better service.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Sunset Marquis in Sept 2012 and having read the reviews were really excited. The hotel didn't disappoint. It was smaller than I had imagined (not a bad thing), the decor was super-modern and all the staff very professional - from the reception staff to the valet parkers they were all extremely efficient.
The location is brilliant - a very short was to Sunset Boulevard and the bars/restaurants there (note you will still need a car to explore the rest of LA).

The hotel definitely has a rock vibe - the walls show signed photos from major artists who have stayed there, guitars hanging, cool art etc.

After reading TripAdvisor reviews before going we were looking forward to some celebrity spotting and it didn't disappoint!

Although pricier than what we would usually pick, I would definitely stay here again - well worth the money.

Room Tip: The villas looked amazing - if you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marquis

Address: 1200 Alta Loma Rd, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunset Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessentially LA? Not exactly! Centrally located between Beverly Hills and Hollywood, the Sunset Marquis in West Hollywood, CA offers 152 suites and villas intertwined within a 5 acre oasis of gardens and private retreats. We also boast indoor/outdoor "RESTAURANT," 2 heated pools, iconic "BAR 1200" and "SPA." Mere steps from famed Sunset Strip, nightlife and music abound at legendary venues such as the House of Blues, The Comedy Store, Viper Room and Whisky a Go-Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Marquis Hotel West Hollywood
Sunset Marquis West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.