We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Palo Alto, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Price & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

Stayed here one night on a quick business trip to LA when I was also going out to enjoy an evening of entertainment and partying in Hollywood. Location was ideal and in the middle of things right on Santa Monica Blvd. Everything you need within a few hundred feet of the hotel including a Wells Fargo Bank, nice place for coffee & brekfast, etc.

Hotel was basic but everything was fine and it is by far the best value in the area with other choices being either seedy motels or very expensive, upscale hotels. Seems like an excellent choice for tourists or others on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    591
    409
    144
    141
See reviews for
208
422
229
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

Beware of this place. Very expensive for what you get. The split-level loft rooms are not at all what they look like in the website pictures. they are very very narrow. furniture looked like it was from a garage sale. multiple cigarette burns in our couch. the framed poster in our room was literally falling out of the frame. it rained (to our surprise), and we had a big leak into our room. apparently many other guests had the same trouble because we were all down at the reception desk. They gave us another room, but we had to move our luggage ourselves and they refused to give us a discount for the trouble. Pretty much a dive. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

We have just come back from a trip round California and Nevada, so stayed at many hotels on the way.

I first stayed at the Ramada on Saturday 4th March, we checked in which was very smooth. (They have a nice large lobby and reception desk). Didn't find any of the staff rude or unhelpful. We had a great room at the front (all the rooms are quite a good size and I stayed in 3 so have a good gage) it had a balcony with a view of Santa Monica Blvd and high-rises in the background. Went straight out as wanted to see the Lakers Game at the Staples center. The concierge was very helpful in trying to get us some tickets (however he was unsuccessful) and also gave us great directions to get to the Staples center. We did get to the Staples center and managed to get two tickets from the Will Call Window and had the best seats ever, one back from courtside. Only paid $130, $30 more than we were originally going to pay (so sometimes it pays to hold out til you arrive). Saw Jack Nicholson, Denzel Washington, Diane Cannon and Pamela Anderson, so if you like to star spot definitely go to a game.

Back to the hotel and the area, as mentioned in lots of the reviews, yes it is in a gay neighbourhood, but we didn't feel that this was in your face and definitely not at the hotel and we didn't see any transvestites or sexual acts in the lobby. We went to some of the bars and restaurants and everyone was very friendly.

On our return to LA we had booked to stay at the Best Western on Sunset (as we had stayed on sunset before and there are bars and clubs close to hotels). On check in the guy behind the desk, was telling us how tired he was (not want you want to hear when you have been travelling all day). He also seemed disinterested. Lobby didn't make any impression. We always take our own luggage to our rooms, but he insisted that the bell boy take it. We requested a poolside non smoking room, however we were down the back stairs and the room was small and smelt bad, damp and smoke mixed and was very dark and dreary. Also the stairs were on the side of the room and you could here people banging up and down them. When the bags arrived in the room my friend’s wheel had been yanked off. Bell boy played dumb.

We ended up checking out, (no charge) and going straight back to the Ramada where again they were very helpful and accommodating. The concierge even remembered us and was always happy and smiling.

Again we had a good room, a suite, with lounge area. Granted they are not all modern and top of the range gear. But they are roomy (which is nice to have when you are getting ready etc), clean and we always had lots of towels and toiletries. Yes the carpet had some marks on it, but tell me are you planning on rolling around on it or sleeping on it and we take room slippers and wear them in all hotels even 5*. The sheets and pillows were clean.

The matter of the safe, no you aren't made aware of this on check in, but come on what's a dollar when you have somewhere to put your valuables. Not all hotels even offer a safe.

Back to the location, it is a good location right next to La Cienega (turn left outside hotel). Going up the street (Steep walk) it is about 10 minutes to Sunset strip where you have lots of bars (SkyBar, House of Blues, Boa). Going down is about 15 minutes to the Beverly Center (shopping mall, all the classics- Macy's, Bloomingdales, Pottery Barn etc).

We took a walk one night - Right out of the hotel and down Santa Monica (past the gay bars, which are very cool and worth a visit whether your gay or not) to Robertsons Blvd, past The Ivy (no stars in) and some posh shops, down Beverly Blvd and stopped at the Beverly Center for well earned shopping and then back up La Cienega to the hotel. A good walk and I never felt unsafe all of the time in this area. We also had dinner at the Voodoo Lounge (on the corner of Santa Monica and Robertsons, very cool and spicy/Asian food.

Don't let some of the bad reviews put you of this hotel - it really wasn't that bad and plus it is a good rate to stay in a good location.

Have fun and make up your own mind..!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

My girlfriend and I have stayed at this Ramada several times over the last couple of years and we've have never had any problems there. The rooms, although basic, are fine and always clean and tidy. The staff have always been very friendly and helpful.

West Hollywood is an openly gay area and if that makes you uncomfortable then best avoid it.

If you like to walk its only a short distance up the hill to Sunset Plaza where there is a great collection of restaurants.

The only problem we had was on this trip where we requested a non-smoking room, via Expedia, and this wasn't passed on to the Ramada. Because the hotel was full (it was over New Years) we couldn't be put in a non-smoking room till the next day.

Wi-fi is available in the rooms, but costs extra. However there is currently free wi-fi in the lobby. Which they dont advertise, but the conceirge told me about it.

Parking is a pain as it costs an extra $25/day which is a lot, even for someone from London!

I'm sure we be staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

All downhill once you get past the updated lobby -- and steeply downhill at that. We rented one of the loft rooms, which look so nice online. Once you get inside, you realize that you have just spent a considerable amount of money on a space that is, at best, dismal, poorly ventilated, and tired looking with shabby gray carpeting. Both sinks -- in the bathroom and the kitchenette -- were completely clogged. Maintenance did arrive promptly, but it took the poor guy about half an hour to fix the sinks, as someone (a disgruntled guest, one wonders?) had completely crammed the plumbing full of tissue. One can only wonder how housekeeping serviced the room and failed to notice that both sinks didn't drain!

I was warned by the front desk that the sofa bed was "very short", and the clerk highly recommended that we purchase a rollaway. We found that the sofa bed mattress was no shorter than average -- that was not the problem -- but it was in horrible condition. The rollaway mattress, however, was even in worse condition! (We complained the following morning, and the rollaway charge was removed from our bill.)

If this room were half the price, it still would have seemed a rip-off. This was one hotel experience that everyone in our family would rather forget. Stay elsewhere, weary traveler!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2006

We had a terrible stay here!

The rooms were below average, were dirty etc. The staff were far from friendly.

It was recommended to us by Qantas, so we thought it would be ok. It featured in their travel book.

When we got there, we were surprised by all the 'rainbow' flags. We straight away realised it was a hotel that was frequented by gay men. We didn't have a problem with that, but it wouldn't have been our first choice.

If the guests were discrete, it wouldn't have been a problem, but it was well flaunted and we were uncomfortable.

The foyer was full of transvestites, transexuals etc, and it was right in your face. My husband and I would have probably tolerated it if we didn't have a child with us, but I wouldn't have exposed him to straight people behaving sexually either.

We left a couple of days early, despite having paid in advance. We just had to get out of there, so lost a bit of money in the process.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

Darwin, "top end" Australia
My husband and I spent 5 unfortunate nights here.in november 2005.
This was not my first choice of hotels in Los Angeles, nor my second or third, as it was changed on our booking.( I had already read other reviews of the ramada)
The hotel itself was clean,but the staff were unhelpful in regard to assisting us with any sightseeing we would have liked to have done.Hence not much was done apart from a 60 minute walk to hollywood boulevard.(we purchased our own map, found our own way there and back)We would have liked to have done and seen more but no one would help us with any bookings, or advise us with travel arrangements.
Being a hetrosexual couple in the gay district of Hollywood was awful.....if you are young, hip and cool,go there, if you are middle aged and hetrosexual don't bother, as we were not even welcome in the clubs.{and may I add... we have nothing against homosexuality)
It is an elitist area to stay, and we felt unwelcome.
on a positive note the restaraunts in the immediate area were good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Address: 8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel-West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza Suites West Hollywood
Ramada West Hollywood
West Hollywood Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.