We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lcoation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good lcoation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel in a good location surrounded by lots of restaurants. Also close to Beverly Hills for shopping. Very efficient front office staff and concierge. Plenty of parking space, parking fee applied.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Ramada Plaza WEHO has an excellent location and provides clean, nicely appointed guestrooms that are reasonably priced. Our guests within walking distance to many exciting night clubs, fine restaurants and great shopping on Santa Monica, Sunset Blvd and La Cienega Blvd. We’re also less than a mile from Rodeo Drive, Beverly Center, Beverly Connection and Cedar Sinai Medical Center. Many of these locations can be walked to or require just a short trip by car or taxi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    520
    352
    117
    129
See reviews for
186
369
199
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here as our first stop on our first trip to the US. The location was good as it was quiet and relaxed.
The staff were all very helpful and courteous when we arrived and throughout our stay and the Concierge Jose was great, extremely helpful!

Room:
We had booked a loft suite but on check in were told we had been given a complimentary upgrade which was great, so we got a room with 2 doubles beds (there were 3 adults) and an adjoining room with lounges and a sort of kitchen area with a microwave (but what was strange though was that there was no plates or cutlery so you couldnt really heat up anything to eat in the microwave without having to first purchase some plastic cutlery and plates) the room also had a small balcony which had a view of Santa Monica Boulevard which is also Route 66 which was cool.
The only problem with the room was the air conditioning, it worked but it would cut in and out throughout the night which disrupted your sleep because it was quite a loud air conditioner and so you would set it on a temperature and it was supposed to turn on when the temperature went below that. However, it took a while for it to turn on so you would find yourself getting quite warm in the night before the air conditioner would eventually come on.

Location:
The location of the hotel was good, it was in a nice laid back relaxed area close to a bus stop where you could catch the bus for $1.50 and head down to Santa Monica Pier which is the end of Route 66 and has an amusement park on the pier. It was easy to get a taxi to restaurants and shops to go for dinner or during the day, we found ourselves going to the shopping centre called 'The Grove' a lot.

Overall the hotel was really good, we loved it, great courteous staff and great facilities, would definitely stay there again if I get the chance to go back to West Hollywood for sure!
Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Ramada Plaza WEHO has an excellent location and provides clean, nicely appointed guestrooms that are reasonably priced. Our guests within walking distance to many exciting night clubs, fine restaurants and great shopping on Santa Monica, Sunset Blvd and La Cienega Blvd.

It sounds like you were upgrade to a parlor suite which is a lovely suite with a separate bedroom and living area. It has a kitchenette area and lounge to relax and enjoy the activity along Santa Monica Blvd.

Regarding your air conditioner, once the thermostat is set, it should operate until the desired temperature is reached. I have contacted our engineering staff to examine the unit and ensure its operating properly.

The hotel offers several options regarding transportation including: on-site taxi service, on-site rental car service (Enterprise) on-site town car service and the MTA station is located (1) block from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while on a trip from San Francisco to Anaheim. Neighborhood is clean and felt safe and you could walk to many places although most "attractions" would require a short car ride. We had a loft suite which was nice, although it definitely is smaller than it looked in the pictures. Because the ceiling is so high and the AC is on the lower level it was much warmer in the sleeping area then the living area. We had to turn the AC down to 65 with the fan on just to be comfortable.. unfortunately that meant our two kids, sleeping on the pullout downstairs were freezing! They, by the way, said the pullout was very comfortable. Had a fridge, microwave, and sink... The pool area, while small, was clean with nice lounges. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left however, it was Jose who really "connected" with us. That man is a tremendous asset to their hotel! He advised us about tours, greeted us warmly each day, and really made us feel welcome. On the downside.... On the first day of our stay my daughter and I purchased handbags from Michael Kors and had the shopping bags in our room.. One upstairs and one down. We had taken the actual bags with us on day two. When we returned to the clean room later that day one of the bags had been thrown away.. unfortunately it had the dust bag that went with the handbag with it and wasn't meant for garbage.. A little odd since one bag was left intact... The final downside occurred when we got to our next hotel in Anaheim and realized that my daughter's expensive headphones had been left behind in the room. When we called the hotel they agreed to look and said they would call back within a half hour... no phone call :( The next day, we called again and were told nothing was found. While I cannot say what happened to the headphones I can say they were there when we left and then were gone... It was her fault for leaving them behind but it sure would have been a nice story had they been returned to her. Not something to ruin your trip but would probably lead us to try another hotel in the future. One more odd thing was that there were 4 people booked/staying in the room yet each day we received 3 towels and had to call down for a 4th. The last day we asked a maid in the hallway and she laughed at my daughter and told her no, that she had to call down for one even though she had a cart full right in front of her. My husband had to go out and insist in order to get one....

Room Tip: Loft rooms are nice but warm in hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Our location is a pedestrian safe area and is located in the center of greater Los Angeles. Many restaurants and retail stores are within walking distance. Major attractions are only a few minutes away. The loft suite is a wonderful roomtype and is very popular. On extremely hot days, the upper loft can get a little warm, but usually the room is very comfortable.

Our pool area is very popular, especially in the summer. It’s a great place to work on a tan or enjoy a relaxing swim in the pool. Jose does an outstanding job making feel guests welcome and arranging tours, transportation, reservations and providing area information.

I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the towels. There’s no excuse not to provide the correct amount of linen for your room. I will speak with our Executive Housekeeper about the matter and also discuss your comment about the missing headphones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week trip in the USA and this was the first hotel we stayed at. Check in was simple and whilst the staff weren't overly friendly they were courteous. We were a little disappointed with the size of our room, it looked a lot bigger in the pictures. We booked a loft suite and wouldn't recommend having four people stay in one, mind you one of these was a toddler. They allowed us a rollaway bed but it was very congested. Our room also had a strange smell, probably best described as musty.The room could have been a little cleaner, housekeeping certainly weren't real thorough.
The pool area was nice and it was never over-crowded. We only ate at the restaurant next door once, but enjoyed it.
Los Angeles is not the easiest city to get around when you don't have your own transport, but we did find it an easy walk to the closest 'Hop on Hop off' bus stop. It's about a 15 minute walk from the hotel and the concierge can organise your tickets for this. They also organised our bus trip to Disneyland which picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel.
West Hollywood is an interesting place to walk around and whilst there weren't alot of shopping options close by, there were quite a number of eating options.
We had one very unfortunate experience during our four night stay here. We purchased tickets to a Dodgers game and asked the concierge to organise a taxi to the game. We allowed plenty of time to see the pre-game activities. Instead of calling a cab, the concierge, Jose, said that he would take care of it and called someone else to come get us, we're guessing it was a friend of his. We then sat in the lobby for 40-45 mins waiting for our ride. We were quite surprised to find a gentleman turn up in a Hummer to drive us to the game. Jose told us that he had organised for it to be $50 each way. Which after talking to locals we've discovered is a lot more expensive than a cab cost. When we were dropped off at the game, the driver informed us that the cost was in fact $160 for the round trip and he insisted we pay him there and then. We thoroughly enjoyed the game and would highly recommend you try and get to one if you're in LA, but we weren't real confident that we would see our driver again. To his credit he did come back and pick us up at the pre-arranged time and place, however this time he was not in his uniform and was driving his own personal car! We spoke to Jose about this and he assured us that he would 'fix it up' before we checked out, we never heard from Jose about this again, despite seeing him several times. A few days later he even offered to organise our transport to the airport, we strongly told him that we wanted to go through a reputable shuttle company but he was quite persuasive with us on this matter.
If you're wishing to go anywhere in a cab, my best advice is to step out onto the street and hail one down yourself.
If we were return to LA, we would probably consider staying here again but have learned from our experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed most of your stay. I’m concerned about the comments you made regarding our concierge. Your absolutely correct that a trip to Dodger stadium should not exceed $50.00. Our staff are here to assist our guests and provide cost effective options, not to be the final decision maker in the process. If our guests want to use a taxi or shuttle service, our job is to arrange it, not upsell you.

I apologize how your transportation needs were handled and we will certainly address the issue(s) immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My room on the 4th floor (412) had clearly been remodeled recently. The carpet, furniture, bed linens, wall coverings, and curtains were all updated. The bathroom was not updated, but it was spotlessly clean, the towels were plentiful and high quality. The workout room was minimal, but adequate, and the pool area was quiet and clean. The staff at the front desk were all friendly and helpful. The concierge allowed me to use his computer to check in for my flight and the receptionist printed my boarding pass. I am a big believer in public transportation. The bus that stops in front of the hotel will take you directly to Rodeo Drive and the Santa Monica Pier (but you can also walk 4 blocks and get an express bus). The reception staff gladly gave me change each day for the bus since you must board with exact fare ($1.50). Two blocks up a steep hill is Sunset where you can get a bus to the Walk of Stars (get off at Amoeba Records). A couple of blocks in the other direction is Wilshire Blvd. where you can get a bus that will take you downtown. I highly recommend taking the Wilshire Blvd bus downtown to Bottega Luis for the
BEIGNETS Four house made beignets served warm and freshly made with raspberry compote.
Next to the hotel is Kitchen 24 which has good food and nice outdoor seating, but I didn't care for their coffee. Just a few blocks away is Hugo's diner where the coffee is great and they serve real maple syrup with their pancakes/waffles. I would gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments and were glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
There are several transportation options available to our guests to choose from when exploring West Hollywood and Los Angeles.

Kitchen 24, our on-site restaurant, has been a wonderful addition to Ramada Plaza WEHO. K24 offers a wonderful selection of food, appetizers and drinks. The menu items are reasonably priced and they’re open 24 hours a day serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also feature a wonderful outdoor patio area an offer a full bar with an extended happy hour, 7 days a week. Hugo’s is also a great choice and has been a local favorite for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights during our LA stop over. Positive aspects - were the friendly and polite staff, the lovely clean swimming pool and comfortable kingsize bed. Downside - would be the room we stayed in with a view of the satellite dishes and not much else. The air conditioner rattled and could not be left on all night making the room stuffy and hot. Thankfully we were able to open the window for air. The noise on the floor above us was particularly noticeable first thing in the morning as people moved about above our floor.
We paid close to $200 a night for this accommodation which we booked back in January on what was sold as a summer sale price reduction. Possibly booking via a third party, that being hotels.com, meant we received a lower quality room and nobody offered us an upgrade. I was surprised there was no opportunity for breakfast at this price. In fact you have to go to the cafe next door to the hotel and pay if you want breakfast and this applies to everyone. The hotel is situated near some restaurants but not a great location for a short stay. The restaurant next door served great burgers and fries and positively wonderful cocktails but with tip around $65 for two which included two house wines.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We’re sorry that the air conditioning unit created a disturbance. Our engineer will address the problem as soon as possible to correct the issue. Regarding your reservation, it wouldn’t matter what reservation platform you used, it would not impact the guestroom you were assigned. The hotel has been sold-out throughout the summer season and room upgrades are based upon availability.

Breakfast is provided by our on-site restaurant Kitchen 24. Kitchen 24, which has been a nice addition to Ramada Plaza and provides a wonderful selection of food, appetizers and drinks. The menu items prices are reasonably priced and they’re open 24 hours a day serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The feature a popular happy hour, 7 days a week and offer hotel guest room service 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had an apartment, which was big enough and nice. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom is small and could be refurbished. The people at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location is good, just a short walk to the Sunset Blvd, a short drive to Beverly Hills, Rodeo Dr., Walk of Fame....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Ramada Plaza WEHO provides friendly guest service and nicely appointed guestrooms that are reasonably priced. We are located within walking distance to many exciting night clubs, fine restaurants and great shopping on Santa Monica, Sunset Blvd, Robertson Blvd., Melrose Avenue and La Cienega Blvd. We’re also close to Hollywood Walk of Fame, Universal Studios, Rodeo Drive, Beverly Center, The Grove, and Cedar Sinai Medical Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Address: 8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter and Otel so you can book your Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel-West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza Suites West Hollywood
Ramada West Hollywood
West Hollywood Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.