We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jose the concierge was the star here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #15 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jose the concierge was the star here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights while on a trip from San Francisco to Anaheim. Neighborhood is clean and felt safe and you could walk to many places although most "attractions" would require a short car ride. We had a loft suite which was nice, although it definitely is smaller than it looked in the pictures. Because the ceiling is so high and the AC is on the lower level it was much warmer in the sleeping area then the living area. We had to turn the AC down to 65 with the fan on just to be comfortable.. unfortunately that meant our two kids, sleeping on the pullout downstairs were freezing! They, by the way, said the pullout was very comfortable. Had a fridge, microwave, and sink... The pool area, while small, was clean with nice lounges. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left however, it was Jose who really "connected" with us. That man is a tremendous asset to their hotel! He advised us about tours, greeted us warmly each day, and really made us feel welcome. On the downside.... On the first day of our stay my daughter and I purchased handbags from Michael Kors and had the shopping bags in our room.. One upstairs and one down. We had taken the actual bags with us on day two. When we returned to the clean room later that day one of the bags had been thrown away.. unfortunately it had the dust bag that went with the handbag with it and wasn't meant for garbage.. A little odd since one bag was left intact... The final downside occurred when we got to our next hotel in Anaheim and realized that my daughter's expensive headphones had been left behind in the room. When we called the hotel they agreed to look and said they would call back within a half hour... no phone call :( The next day, we called again and were told nothing was found. While I cannot say what happened to the headphones I can say they were there when we left and then were gone... It was her fault for leaving them behind but it sure would have been a nice story had they been returned to her. Not something to ruin your trip but would probably lead us to try another hotel in the future. One more odd thing was that there were 4 people booked/staying in the room yet each day we received 3 towels and had to call down for a 4th. The last day we asked a maid in the hallway and she laughed at my daughter and told her no, that she had to call down for one even though she had a cart full right in front of her. My husband had to go out and insist in order to get one....

Room Tip: Loft rooms are nice but warm in hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    497
    341
    110
    125
See reviews for
176
350
188
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just returned from a 2 week trip in the USA and this was the first hotel we stayed at. Check in was simple and whilst the staff weren't overly friendly they were courteous. We were a little disappointed with the size of our room, it looked a lot bigger in the pictures. We booked a loft suite and wouldn't recommend having four people stay in one, mind you one of these was a toddler. They allowed us a rollaway bed but it was very congested. Our room also had a strange smell, probably best described as musty.The room could have been a little cleaner, housekeeping certainly weren't real thorough.
The pool area was nice and it was never over-crowded. We only ate at the restaurant next door once, but enjoyed it.
Los Angeles is not the easiest city to get around when you don't have your own transport, but we did find it an easy walk to the closest 'Hop on Hop off' bus stop. It's about a 15 minute walk from the hotel and the concierge can organise your tickets for this. They also organised our bus trip to Disneyland which picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel.
West Hollywood is an interesting place to walk around and whilst there weren't alot of shopping options close by, there were quite a number of eating options.
We had one very unfortunate experience during our four night stay here. We purchased tickets to a Dodgers game and asked the concierge to organise a taxi to the game. We allowed plenty of time to see the pre-game activities. Instead of calling a cab, the concierge, Jose, said that he would take care of it and called someone else to come get us, we're guessing it was a friend of his. We then sat in the lobby for 40-45 mins waiting for our ride. We were quite surprised to find a gentleman turn up in a Hummer to drive us to the game. Jose told us that he had organised for it to be $50 each way. Which after talking to locals we've discovered is a lot more expensive than a cab cost. When we were dropped off at the game, the driver informed us that the cost was in fact $160 for the round trip and he insisted we pay him there and then. We thoroughly enjoyed the game and would highly recommend you try and get to one if you're in LA, but we weren't real confident that we would see our driver again. To his credit he did come back and pick us up at the pre-arranged time and place, however this time he was not in his uniform and was driving his own personal car! We spoke to Jose about this and he assured us that he would 'fix it up' before we checked out, we never heard from Jose about this again, despite seeing him several times. A few days later he even offered to organise our transport to the airport, we strongly told him that we wanted to go through a reputable shuttle company but he was quite persuasive with us on this matter.
If you're wishing to go anywhere in a cab, my best advice is to step out onto the street and hail one down yourself.
If we were return to LA, we would probably consider staying here again but have learned from our experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Someone jokingly referred to this hotel as "The Ram-rod-a" because of its popularly with gay guests, and--true--it is in the heart of West Hollywood's gay center, but we were surprised that in July the place seemed more overrun by European tourist families. Unfortunately, that meant that the pool was overtaken by screaming children and we were constantly disturbed by perpetual running in the halls and rooms above us. We were on the second floor facing Santa Monica Blvd, which we thought might be noisy, but we were less bothered by noise outside than that emanating from within. The only outside disturbance was from cigarette smoke wafting up and into our opened window from staff taking breaks on the garage deck below us.

Our room was comfortable enough with a firm king-size bed, although dim lighting made it a bit difficult to read at night. We discovered that the primary bathroom light was out on our first night, but it was promptly repaired when we reported it the next morning. Who doesn't travel to LA without a car? And parking is $30 extra per night, which seems to be the going rate, but surely adds up. The in-room fridge seemed handy, until all our drinks froze and exploded inside. It was very difficult to adjust the temperature down. The free wifi is extremely unreliable, and most evenings we could not connect. Service seemed to be better in the mornings, but it is frustrating to have such unreliable service. And finally, the elevators are slow, and during our staff we often had to wait because the cars were full before they reached us. (Recovering from knee surgery, I was dependent on the elevators.)

Kitchen 24 is the attached hotel restaurant with good-enough offerings and service but great outdoor seating for watching the parade of West Hollywooders and visitors go buy. It's also a great place for a night-cap as the evening cools. There is also a Starbucks on the corner for a quick, light breakfast and coffee.

Room Tip: In summer, lower floors are subject to the noise from vacationing children who run the halls above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My room on the 4th floor (412) had clearly been remodeled recently. The carpet, furniture, bed linens, wall coverings, and curtains were all updated. The bathroom was not updated, but it was spotlessly clean, the towels were plentiful and high quality. The workout room was minimal, but adequate, and the pool area was quiet and clean. The staff at the front desk were all friendly and helpful. The concierge allowed me to use his computer to check in for my flight and the receptionist printed my boarding pass. I am a big believer in public transportation. The bus that stops in front of the hotel will take you directly to Rodeo Drive and the Santa Monica Pier (but you can also walk 4 blocks and get an express bus). The reception staff gladly gave me change each day for the bus since you must board with exact fare ($1.50). Two blocks up a steep hill is Sunset where you can get a bus to the Walk of Stars (get off at Amoeba Records). A couple of blocks in the other direction is Wilshire Blvd. where you can get a bus that will take you downtown. I highly recommend taking the Wilshire Blvd bus downtown to Bottega Luis for the
BEIGNETS Four house made beignets served warm and freshly made with raspberry compote.
Next to the hotel is Kitchen 24 which has good food and nice outdoor seating, but I didn't care for their coffee. Just a few blocks away is Hugo's diner where the coffee is great and they serve real maple syrup with their pancakes/waffles. I would gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights during our LA stop over. Positive aspects - were the friendly and polite staff, the lovely clean swimming pool and comfortable kingsize bed. Downside - would be the room we stayed in with a view of the satellite dishes and not much else. The air conditioner rattled and could not be left on all night making the room stuffy and hot. Thankfully we were able to open the window for air. The noise on the floor above us was particularly noticeable first thing in the morning as people moved about above our floor.
We paid close to $200 a night for this accommodation which we booked back in January on what was sold as a summer sale price reduction. Possibly booking via a third party, that being hotels.com, meant we received a lower quality room and nobody offered us an upgrade. I was surprised there was no opportunity for breakfast at this price. In fact you have to go to the cafe next door to the hotel and pay if you want breakfast and this applies to everyone. The hotel is situated near some restaurants but not a great location for a short stay. The restaurant next door served great burgers and fries and positively wonderful cocktails but with tip around $65 for two which included two house wines.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an apartment, which was big enough and nice. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom is small and could be refurbished. The people at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location is good, just a short walk to the Sunset Blvd, a short drive to Beverly Hills, Rodeo Dr., Walk of Fame....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the last hotel we stayed at on our USA trip, we had some amazing service, unfortunately this hotel was below average. We travel frequently so we understand that sometimes rooms will not be ready for check in, so when we arrived we weren't surprised to find we couldn't check in until 3pm, we did so then ventured off shopping and did some other things

when we finally checked in our room was still filthy, stains on bedside tables, stains on curtains, stains on mirrors, if you are going to tell me that we can't check in because of cleaning at least CLEAN our room.

we thought we would have a look at the pool as well, if you could call it that, more of a puddle.

we stayed at this hotel for a total of 30 minutes, before calling the andaz at west hollywood who promptly sent us a car and collected us.

would not recommend

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Address: 8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel-West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza Suites West Hollywood
Ramada West Hollywood
West Hollywood Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.