We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week trip in the USA and this was the first hotel we stayed at. Check in was simple and whilst the staff weren't overly friendly they were courteous. We were a little disappointed with the size of our room, it looked a lot bigger in the pictures. We booked a loft suite and wouldn't recommend having four people stay in one, mind you one of these was a toddler. They allowed us a rollaway bed but it was very congested. Our room also had a strange smell, probably best described as musty.The room could have been a little cleaner, housekeeping certainly weren't real thorough.
The pool area was nice and it was never over-crowded. We only ate at the restaurant next door once, but enjoyed it.
Los Angeles is not the easiest city to get around when you don't have your own transport, but we did find it an easy walk to the closest 'Hop on Hop off' bus stop. It's about a 15 minute walk from the hotel and the concierge can organise your tickets for this. They also organised our bus trip to Disneyland which picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel.
West Hollywood is an interesting place to walk around and whilst there weren't alot of shopping options close by, there were quite a number of eating options.
We had one very unfortunate experience during our four night stay here. We purchased tickets to a Dodgers game and asked the concierge to organise a taxi to the game. We allowed plenty of time to see the pre-game activities. Instead of calling a cab, the concierge, Jose, said that he would take care of it and called someone else to come get us, we're guessing it was a friend of his. We then sat in the lobby for 40-45 mins waiting for our ride. We were quite surprised to find a gentleman turn up in a Hummer to drive us to the game. Jose told us that he had organised for it to be $50 each way. Which after talking to locals we've discovered is a lot more expensive than a cab cost. When we were dropped off at the game, the driver informed us that the cost was in fact $160 for the round trip and he insisted we pay him there and then. We thoroughly enjoyed the game and would highly recommend you try and get to one if you're in LA, but we weren't real confident that we would see our driver again. To his credit he did come back and pick us up at the pre-arranged time and place, however this time he was not in his uniform and was driving his own personal car! We spoke to Jose about this and he assured us that he would 'fix it up' before we checked out, we never heard from Jose about this again, despite seeing him several times. A few days later he even offered to organise our transport to the airport, we strongly told him that we wanted to go through a reputable shuttle company but he was quite persuasive with us on this matter.
If you're wishing to go anywhere in a cab, my best advice is to step out onto the street and hail one down yourself.
If we were return to LA, we would probably consider staying here again but have learned from our experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed most of your stay. I’m concerned about the comments you made regarding our concierge. Your absolutely correct that a trip to Dodger stadium should not exceed $50.00. Our staff are here to assist our guests and provide cost effective options, not to be the final decision maker in the process. If our guests want to use a taxi or shuttle service, our job is to arrange it, not upsell you.

I apologize how your transportation needs were handled and we will certainly address the issue(s) immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    598
    417
    148
    143
See reviews for
213
431
229
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My room on the 4th floor (412) had clearly been remodeled recently. The carpet, furniture, bed linens, wall coverings, and curtains were all updated. The bathroom was not updated, but it was spotlessly clean, the towels were plentiful and high quality. The workout room was minimal, but adequate, and the pool area was quiet and clean. The staff at the front desk were all friendly and helpful. The concierge allowed me to use his computer to check in for my flight and the receptionist printed my boarding pass. I am a big believer in public transportation. The bus that stops in front of the hotel will take you directly to Rodeo Drive and the Santa Monica Pier (but you can also walk 4 blocks and get an express bus). The reception staff gladly gave me change each day for the bus since you must board with exact fare ($1.50). Two blocks up a steep hill is Sunset where you can get a bus to the Walk of Stars (get off at Amoeba Records). A couple of blocks in the other direction is Wilshire Blvd. where you can get a bus that will take you downtown. I highly recommend taking the Wilshire Blvd bus downtown to Bottega Luis for the
BEIGNETS Four house made beignets served warm and freshly made with raspberry compote.
Next to the hotel is Kitchen 24 which has good food and nice outdoor seating, but I didn't care for their coffee. Just a few blocks away is Hugo's diner where the coffee is great and they serve real maple syrup with their pancakes/waffles. I would gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments and were glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
There are several transportation options available to our guests to choose from when exploring West Hollywood and Los Angeles.

Kitchen 24, our on-site restaurant, has been a wonderful addition to Ramada Plaza WEHO. K24 offers a wonderful selection of food, appetizers and drinks. The menu items are reasonably priced and they’re open 24 hours a day serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also feature a wonderful outdoor patio area an offer a full bar with an extended happy hour, 7 days a week. Hugo’s is also a great choice and has been a local favorite for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights during our LA stop over. Positive aspects - were the friendly and polite staff, the lovely clean swimming pool and comfortable kingsize bed. Downside - would be the room we stayed in with a view of the satellite dishes and not much else. The air conditioner rattled and could not be left on all night making the room stuffy and hot. Thankfully we were able to open the window for air. The noise on the floor above us was particularly noticeable first thing in the morning as people moved about above our floor.
We paid close to $200 a night for this accommodation which we booked back in January on what was sold as a summer sale price reduction. Possibly booking via a third party, that being hotels.com, meant we received a lower quality room and nobody offered us an upgrade. I was surprised there was no opportunity for breakfast at this price. In fact you have to go to the cafe next door to the hotel and pay if you want breakfast and this applies to everyone. The hotel is situated near some restaurants but not a great location for a short stay. The restaurant next door served great burgers and fries and positively wonderful cocktails but with tip around $65 for two which included two house wines.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We’re sorry that the air conditioning unit created a disturbance. Our engineer will address the problem as soon as possible to correct the issue. Regarding your reservation, it wouldn’t matter what reservation platform you used, it would not impact the guestroom you were assigned. The hotel has been sold-out throughout the summer season and room upgrades are based upon availability.

Breakfast is provided by our on-site restaurant Kitchen 24. Kitchen 24, which has been a nice addition to Ramada Plaza and provides a wonderful selection of food, appetizers and drinks. The menu items prices are reasonably priced and they’re open 24 hours a day serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The feature a popular happy hour, 7 days a week and offer hotel guest room service 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had an apartment, which was big enough and nice. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom is small and could be refurbished. The people at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location is good, just a short walk to the Sunset Blvd, a short drive to Beverly Hills, Rodeo Dr., Walk of Fame....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Ramada Plaza WEHO provides friendly guest service and nicely appointed guestrooms that are reasonably priced. We are located within walking distance to many exciting night clubs, fine restaurants and great shopping on Santa Monica, Sunset Blvd, Robertson Blvd., Melrose Avenue and La Cienega Blvd. We’re also close to Hollywood Walk of Fame, Universal Studios, Rodeo Drive, Beverly Center, The Grove, and Cedar Sinai Medical Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was the last hotel we stayed at on our USA trip, we had some amazing service, unfortunately this hotel was below average. We travel frequently so we understand that sometimes rooms will not be ready for check in, so when we arrived we weren't surprised to find we couldn't check in until 3pm, we did so then ventured off shopping and did some other things

when we finally checked in our room was still filthy, stains on bedside tables, stains on curtains, stains on mirrors, if you are going to tell me that we can't check in because of cleaning at least CLEAN our room.

we thought we would have a look at the pool as well, if you could call it that, more of a puddle.

we stayed at this hotel for a total of 30 minutes, before calling the andaz at west hollywood who promptly sent us a car and collected us.

would not recommend

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Check-in is advertised at 3:00pm. During the summer season, the hotel is usually sold-out, therefore some of our guestrooms are not prepared until 3pm-4pm.

I apologize that you found your room in unsatisfactory condition. I'm forwarding your comments to our Executive Housekeeper to determine who was responsible for cleaning and preparing your guestroom. There is no excuse for this to occur.

Our outdoor heated pool and sundeck is a very popular area and as you learned, extremely busy during the summer season. The pool is not Olympic sized, however, it's adequate for the size of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our time there as they have a great resturant next door,plenty of shops near by as well and the bus stop is just a stones throw from the hotel which we used to tour most places.
I will stay again at the Ramada for sure on my next visit to LA and will recommend to anyone looking for a great location hotel. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Ramada Plaza WEHO provides clean, nicely appointed guestrooms that are reasonably priced. Our guests within walking distance to many exciting night clubs, fine restaurants and great shopping on Santa Monica, Sunset Blvd and La Cienega Blvd. We’re also only eight blocks from Beverly Center, Beverly Connection and Cedar Sinai Medical Center. Many of these locations can be walked to or require just a short trip by car or taxi.

Kitchen 24, our on-site restaurant, offers a wonderful selection of food, appetizers and drinks. The menu items prices are reasonably priced and they’re open 24 hours a day serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also feature a wonderful outdoor patio area an offer a full bar with an extended happy hour, 7 days a week. The bus stop is located across the street from the hotel. We also offer LA Checker Cab (on-site) and Enterprise Rent-a-Car (on-site) to assist you with your transportation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I recently stayed at the Ramada in West Hollywood and was really happy with the friendly service and homey feel to the hotel . The location is perfect , walking distance to Sunset and the cool part of Hollywood and Robertson and Beverly Hills . The restaurant next door Kitchen 24 is open all hours and they have great food and a very reasonable Happy Hour . I have stayed in other hotels in Los Angeles but you can't beat the Ramada for price and value

Room Tip: As with any hotel ask for a quiet room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Ramada Plaza WEHO provides friendly guest service and nicely appointed guestrooms that are reasonably priced. We are located within walking distance to many exciting night clubs, fine restaurants and great shopping on Santa Monica, Sunset Blvd, Robertson Blvd., Melrose Avenue and La Cienega Blvd. We’re also close to Hollywood Blvd, Universal Studios, Rodeo Drive, Beverly Center, The Grove, and Cedar Sinai Medical Center.

Kitchen 24, our on-site restaurant, has been a wonderful addition to Ramada Plaza WEHO. K24 offers a wonderful selection of food, appetizers and drinks. The menu items prices are reasonably priced and they’re open 24 hours a day serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also feature a wonderful outdoor patio area an offer a full bar with an extended happy hour, 7 days a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Address: 8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel-West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza Suites West Hollywood
Ramada West Hollywood
West Hollywood Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.