We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with great potential in an amazing location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average hotel with great potential in an amazing location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011 via mobile

I've stayed at The Ramada Plaza in West Hollywood twice in the past year. Each stay, specifically this past one was average to good at best. The hotel lobby has a modern layout, typical of a boutique property, however that's about as chic as it gets. The room hallways are aligned with white wallpaper and the multi colored rug is straight out of the 1980's. The rooms themselves have been remodeled and you can tell, however the remodel that done within the past -10 is always showing massive wear and tear; chipped furniture, dirty worn carpeting, etc. I don't judge these things too harshly as I've worked in the hotel business for years and know the $$$$$ that goes into remodeling. The TV's are plasmas and the reception is crystal clear! The bathrooms are average and typical of a small chain property. Overall, the rooms are comfortable and clean, but don't except any chic or ultra modern accommodations. The pictures on the website are deceiving and the lighting in the rooms is poor. The hotel also features a small pool on the 2nd floor and a tiny gym. Both of these amenities are nice, but could use a 2012 refresher! Overall, this Ramada is a value! Where else in LA can you stay in a chic, energetic neighborhood and pay an average of 150.00 a night- nowhere that is. I stay at this hotel for convenience to amazing shopping (Beverly Center and Robertson), bars and clubs (The Abbey, Micky's, short walk to the Sunset Strip), and great restaurants (Basix, Mercato di Vetro, Hugo's, etc). At the end of the day- you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your review.

The hotel was remodeled in 2009 and included all guestrooms and common areas throughout the hotel.

Our 42” HDTV’s are great and we receive a lot of positive feedback regarding them.
The guestrooms and bathrooms are comfortable and clean, but not ultra-modern.

The pictures used on our website are actual images from the hotel.

The outdoor pool and fitness room are adequate size and receive a great deal of use.

The hotel uses TRUE fitness equipment, which is one of the top manufacturers in fitness equipment. The Ramada Plaza is a very good value, especially in a very high-end market place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    548
    374
    124
    132
See reviews for
191
394
209
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

cosy hotel, convenient for west hollywoord life, has car park (with reduced fee for hotel guests) cosy outdoor swimming pool and gym.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your comments.

Parking is convenient and priced comparable or below what our competitors charge.

The hotel has an outdoor heated pool and sundeck. Adjacent to the pool is a fitness room
which is available to all guests on a complimentary basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed early Nov on the last night of our honeymoon, my husband was on crutches and staff were all very friendly and helpful. They were accommodating when we asked for a slightly earlier check in and we had a fantastic corner room with 2 floors, the bedroom on the mezzanine. We'd stay there again for sure. Very comfortable bed and big televisions also with really good cable.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that faced onto Santa Monica Blvd with a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your review.

I'm glad to hear the staff accommodateed you and that you enjoyed your honeymoon.

The 42" HDTV's are great for watching movies and sporting events!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My friend and I stayed in a double queen room for 3 nights. We had a comfortable stay. Yes the rooms are dated but the beds are SO incredibly comfortable, the room is clean and very functional (big screen tv, wireless internet, coffee machine, good water pressure in the shower etc). We checked in after an 18 hour flight from Sydney and although it was about 4 or 5 hours before official check-in, the lovely man at the front desk (Amir?) was kind enough to give find us a room after about 20 mins. The other staff at reception were all equally nice and helpful during our stay.

The concierge was lovely too. You can book tours with the concierge and they will pick you up outside the hotel. My friend ate at the restaurant within the hotel and she loved the organic menu and had a great meal.

The location is fantastic (we didn't have a car but we managed with cabs, buses and tours) in the heart of We-Ho, close to the Beverly Center and several restaurants within walking distance(UnPHOgettable has good Vietnamese food a few doors down) . There is also a starbucks practically next door which attracts a lot of interesting clientele (Richard Chamberlain for one!).

All in all, I enjoyed my stay here and it is relatively affordable for the location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I needed a no frills place in the West Hollywood/Beverly Hills location. This fit the bill. Only downside is the parking is a little weird, but for the price grab this place. It's not fancy, the rooms haven't been updated since Bush ( the first one ) was president, but it's clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your review.

Ramada Plaza Hotel provides good value and is a clean, safe place to stay.

The parking rate at the hotel is among the lowest in the area.

The hotel was renovated in 2009, you probably meant GW Bush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Close to -
- Trader joes
- Organic restaurants
- fitness centres
- gay bars
- Hotel can do with an upgrade, but decent for short stay
- free wi-fi but slow
- clean
- pleasant staff
- not suitable for families esp location
- fresh towel change daily
- dark interior, very 80's
- walking distance to shops, restaurants, nice location

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your review.

The location is excellent and is convenient to all West Hollywood, Hollywood and Los Angeles has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Ramada is a perfectly adequate if utterly unremarkable and charmless chain hotel - the rooms are a decent size, with the facilities you'd expect; service is functional; and while parking is a bit on the pricey side ($27 a day) at least they have plenty of it. The real plus factor is the location - right the top end of Santa Monica Boulevard, within a stone's throw of a whole host of bars and restaurants, and only a few minutes walk (albeit up a fairly steep hill) from Sunset Strip - and the fact that, compared with other similarly situated places, it's quite reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Some of them are quite a long walk from the one set of lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadaweho, Manager at Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your review.

Though the Ramada is a part of chain (Wyndham Worldwide) its certainly different from most Ramada properties around the country.

Being part of the Creative City, there's nothing typical about this property. The hotel is an art-deco design featuring 2 story loft suites, a roomtype that can be rarely found anywhere in Los Angeles. The property also features 10 retail stores on-site, something that can't be matched by any hotel in the county!

The guest rooms are a good size, an offers services that you find at many 4-4.5 star hotels

Our parking rate is actually one of the lowest in the area at $27.00 per night. We feature one of the largest parking structures in area.

Location, its one of the best in West Hollywood and provides good value to its customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites

Address: 8585 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel-West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza Suites West Hollywood
Ramada West Hollywood
West Hollywood Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.