We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz West Hollywood to your Saves list
Andaz West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I stayed at the Andaz West Hollywood on recommendation of a friend who stayed there when it first opened. They go to LA every year and always stay there, so I decided to try it out for my business trip.

You can't really beat the view from AWH - the rooftop pool is AMAZING!! I was jet-lagged so went up to the pool as soon as it opened at 6 AM and took in the beautiful view. You can see downtown LA in the distance, and Hollywood Hills was literally in the background. As the sun came up from the mountains, it shone on the rest of LA and it was surreal to be in such a busy city, but wake up to the peacefulness of Sunset Blvd.

The room itself was very spacious, but could see that it was already getting a bit old and worn down. The furniture in the room did not seem to be very high end for a hotel of this caliber, and the windows were terrible; I was on the 3rd floor and heard every car that drove by on the busy strip.

I'm not sure if the hotel is still worth the value that I paid to stay there. Although it was nice, it didn't wow me. I may try The Standard down street next time in town.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor to avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you for taking choosing the Andaz West Hollywood for your recent visit to Los Angeles. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooftop pool and views; however our sincere apologies that you found the noise from the Sunset Strip to be disruptive. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and feedback as we are continuously looking for ways to improve our service and guest experience. On behalf of all of us here, we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back upon your next visit to California.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    459
    132
    38
    32
See reviews for
300
662
115
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed for five nights. Colin, in reception, was so friendly and helpful, booking two tours for us. Complimentary tea, water, juice available in reception 24 hours per day. Complimentary snacks left in your room. Brilliant location. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to Los Angeles. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s amenities, our central location as well as the service provided to you by our amazing team. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Colin. We hope to see you back soon and look forward to providing another wonderful experience for you.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed a couple of nights after PCH trip! The hotel is in a great location with impressive views of LA and the Holywood hills behind, the roof bar is a real treat with a great vibe and resident DJ on Saturdays.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location, the amazing views from your accommodation as well as our rooftop pool. We look forward to welcoming you back soon upon your next visit to West Hollywood.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April to break up our honeymoon long haul trip. Great location, right in the middle of Sunset Strip so you can walk to a number of tourist attractions...cool hotel....loved the free wine o'clock. Staff were friendly and informative. Lovely roof top pool.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing Andaz West Hollywood as part of your Honeymoon travels. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you both back for your next visit to Los Angeles. Wishing you a lifetime of wedded bliss!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brissy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Two travelling friends spent four nights at the Andaz West Hollywood.
Our room had a glorious view of Sunset Boulevard and beyond.
First timers in LA and really liked the location of the hotel. It is located across the road is House of Blues, next door is comedy club (where the hop on and off bus picks up and drops off). Down the road is Mel’s diner for breakfast, lunch or dinner and also a H & M clothing store.

What we loved;
Friendly hotel staff
In room complimentary snacks and soft drinks and afternoon wine o’clock at the foyer
Comfortable beds
Small pool but views of the hills and city are fabulous
We used the uber car service to get around and found it to be a more efficient, enjoyable and friendlier transport option

We had a noise issue with the adjoining room during our stay and hotel management was very efficient with responding to our concerns. Hand written card with apology, with complementary drinks was unexpected but much appreciated.

I could not fault the service. Definitely recommend AWH.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy your accommodation along with the service provided to you by our team. We look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you both back on your next visit to California.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The location could not be better. First time at an Andaz and I love it. There is no check in desk, you sit down on a couch with a staff member with an iPad. Really different touch that made a statement. The rooftop pool overlooks the Hollywood Hills on one side and downtown LA on the other. There is a Starbucks just a two minute walk, so that's a plus. Don't hesitate to book here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andaz West Hollywood. From the service of the staff to the atmosphere, it sounds like you really appreciated the Andaz service. On behalf of the hotel, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next trip to Los Angeles.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK ( Lowestoft )
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

If you go to LA stay at The Andaz !!! This hotel is so much fun and in the perfect position on Sunset , midway between Hollywood and Beverley Hills. Hubby and me stayed here for 5 nights for our 25th wedding anniversary and loved every second. All the staff at the hotel treated us like we were the only guests they had!! Our room was upgraded to a beautiful suite with panoramic views across the whole city. Rock and Roll memorabilia decorated the suite , keeping the hotels rowdy past very much alive.
We were greeted at check in by one if the managers , Alison who personally welcomed us and wished us a lovely anniversary, and on returning from a little walk a little later found pink champagne, macaroons and fruit with a card personally written by Alison. Really made us feel special and so welcome.
Thanks so much to everyone at Andaz West Hollywood, we had the time of our lives and cannot wait to return

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, amazing views across the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
I am so delighted that you chose to spend your anniversary with us at Andaz West Hollywood. It's great to hear that you enjoyed top notch service as well as our central location during your visit. Rest assured that I will share your kind words with the team and with Alison specifically. We cannot wait to welcome you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd., Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.