We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly spoiled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Andaz West Hollywood to your Saves list
Andaz West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Laugh Your Andaz Off
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
GreenLeadersGold level
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Thoroughly spoiled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived here as our first stop in LA, very tired after a nightmare getting out of LAX. We had 2 rooms booked and were told 1 was on the 7th floor and 1 on the 9th. Due to the lateness of arrival we wanted to be next door to the kids therefore chose 2 rooms on the 3rd floor with views over the car park. It was not a problem as the view from the pool made up for it tenfold.
We could not fault this hotel. Rooms were spacious, well stocked, free soft drinks amazing, complimentary tea/coffee in the lobby and free wine in the evening made a massive difference to our experience.
The staff could not do enough for us, from the guy at the pool bar to the breakfast team and the hosts. Printed maps, things off the menu for the kids, breakfast could not be faulted, we stayed 5 nights and breakfasted off the a la carte menu each day which was good value and not one bad choice. Some great eateries within walking distance fir dinner.
We moved on to another hotel near Santa Monica after this and really missed the Andaz.
The only downside the pool on the Saturday pm was too busy, but only this day due to a DJ in residence.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room at the back for quiet and the strip for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Andaz West Hollywood for your recent trip to Los Angeles. It is wonderful to know how much you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to California.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    427
    127
    37
    30
See reviews for
280
620
102
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights over Christmas last year and thought this was a great hotel! The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The room was large and had more than enough room for the 3 of us. The staff were very friendly and we even had a little stocking filled with little gifts left on our door handle on Christmas day :)
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in West Hollywood and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I am pleased you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood during the holiday season and am delighted to know how much you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to California.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Such a cool hotel! From the moment you walk in it has a very hip vibe with a few different lounge sitting areas. The check in process is so relaxing with a friendly and helpful staff which offer you wine or champagne upon arrival. There is also a computer station to schedule an uber pick-up when going out. It is close to the Hollywood Bowl and downtown shops and bars. The best part is the rooftop pool and bar with amazing views! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. We are so pleased to hear that you loved the Andaz experience. We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Brilliant hotel, great staff, excellent rooms. Free coffee and snacks at breakfast in the lobby and also free glass of wine in the afternoons. A nice touch. Lovely decor in the rooms and all nicely done. Excellent location for shopping and restaurants. We went to the western style restaurant/bar to the left of the hotel when exiting (right next door). Great food and good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room as the hotel has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Andaz West Hollywood. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to LA.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Staying three nights for business meetings. I work in the hotel industry so maybe I'm a little, ok a lot more critical. Lobby and check in was quick and untraditional. Went to bar for dinner the first night and the bartender/server didn't really get the concept of service. One drink, then one plate at a time. Co-workers settled on the fish and they loved it, I had over cooked chicken.
Room was, ok. Peeling wallpaper/drywall and view in back of property overlooking parking structure and homes. Typical car noise and barking dogs in the morning. Then the guy blaring music from his car. The rooms are spacious and offer a nice work area, WI-FI is quick, comfortable beds with simple bedding. No noise from the A/C was a huge plus! Bathrooms are adequate. Showers are marble and there are decent amenities. Would be nice to have a make-up mirror or shaving mirror for the guys. Overall decent property, but overpriced.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing Hollywood Blvd. I'm sure the view is way better, but possibly noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. Your comments are greatly appreciated and valued, as we continue to strive to provide the highest standards of service. Please know that I am looking into the challenges you experienced, as we always want to make sure that our guests’ stay is beyond expectation. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to Los Angeles.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have stayed in a number of Andaz properties and this lived up to the brand. We had arrived quite early but luckily our room was ready and we had been upgraded to a corner suite. The room was huge and my wife fell in love with the Puppy. The roof top pool was great but rather spoiled by a noisy group of people who had commandeered a number of the sun beds and were wandering around shouting and smoking.

Love the art work in the hotel and the location is just great. Valet parking was a little expensive but you are in LA.

Breakfast was the only disappointment. Our server told us we were only entitled to the buffet which frankly was the poorest selection of food I have ever see. Drank a coffee and walked down Sunset to get breakfast. Not a great way to treat a long time Hyatt Diamond guest. Also it's hardly normal to charge to have to swipe a credit card to use a computer to print out a boarding pass.

Room Tip: The corner suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are delighted that you chose West Hollywood for your recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback. Please note that all boarding passes are printed complimentary on the lobby computers via a desktop application. Our sincere apologies for any confusion regarding accessing this system. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as I will ensure this is thoroughly investigated. On behalf of the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed recently and cannot speak highly enough of the room (corner suite - highly recommended if there are more than 2 of you).

Rooftop pool is awesome - quiet, spacious, bar staff great and look out for Andy the Pigeon!

The restaurant is great although breakfast is a little $$$ for my liking BUT it's amazing, filling and the staff were fantastic.

Would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a corner suite if there's more than 2 people staying - it's huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Andaz West Hollywood. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to LA.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd., Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.