We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel in perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz West Hollywood to your Saves list
Andaz West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab hotel in perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights hotel and staff were amazing, lots of nice little touches that make your stay so much better. Fab location, near all the buzz but not that near that it affects your sleep! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your recent three day stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service from our team, our unique amenities and central location. On behalf of all of us here, we look forward to welcoming you back to provide yet another wonderful experience!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    478
    145
    40
    32
See reviews for
323
687
121
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Yes its true this place was "the spot" for rock and rollers for decades back in the seventies and eighties. You can still hear the televisions crashing through the windows, joke. Very nice property well maintained and such a nice staff. Lots os options for food very close and the locations is tops also.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and i did a tour of California and this was our first stop. As we arrived it was free wine hour, which was greatfully received. We had a drink at the bar but tended to eat out. Found a fab diner just down the road (Mel's). Room was large and comfortable with a view of the hills. The roof top was fab, wish we'd had more time there!! Only disappointment was giving a birthday card for a friend in U.K. to a member of staff who stated the hotel would post it and it didn't arrive.. We did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, including your accommodation, our spectacular views and central location. Our apologies that the card has yet to arrive to your friend as there are times where items are either delayed in delivery or lost within the mail system. I will ensure to communicate your concern to our postal provider. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here for four nights last week, mainly on strength of reviews here. I was especially looking forward to cool rooftop. I arrived Saturday night from a UK flight only to find one of my pet hates, the roof top closed for a private function! I went up there Sunday afternoon but there was zero service, despite about 6 guests looking for a drink.
I ended up walking across to the Sky Bar at the Mondrian. Same thing Monday when I had guests joining me for drinks after work. Breakfast is ok, $26 for eggs at the breakfast table was too expensive though. Breakfast staff were way friendlier than the bar staff, the latter weren't unfriendly but just not really bothered.
The rooms are big but bare. You can't open the windows, which weren't very clean.
Gym was nice and spacious with decent equipment and plenty of towels/water etc.
I know the Mondrian is a little OTT for some tastes but it's got way better and more friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. At Andaz, we are committed to serve every guest beyond expectations and to know that we did not satisfy you at all is a big disappointment. Please know that the matters you raised have been addressed and we are taking the necessary steps to ensure that they do not reoccur in the future. Hopefully one day we can welcome you back to create an experience more consistent with the Andaz true hospitality.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Not quite sure what all the hype is about. Yes the lobby is funky. The staff are mostly hip. The pool has a great view. But that's it for me. The room to me was like staying in a Holiday Inn. The breakfast in the morning was basic at best and $200 for four of us. You often have to wait forever to get in a crowded lift. The pool deck has no service at all if you are wanting to sip a cocktail by the pool. So yeah this hotel has good aspects but it certainly is nothing special for mine given the price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. While I am delighted that you found our rooftop pool and unique amenities appealing, I am terribly sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit. Please do let us know if we may ever be of any assistance in the future. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

After searching hotels in the area this one won me over, due to its style and rock n roll cred. Was not disappointed. Booked a standard room which was simple and more than comfortable. Looking over the Hollywood hills was a bit surreal but amazing. Enjoyed the bar and restaurant immensely. The chef was lovely and stopped to chat with us, he even sent over a comped dessert. The Andaz somehow manages to deliver what you'd expect of Los Angeles quality while not being too flashy or OTT. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to Los Angeles. I want to especially thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at our hotel! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, the RH restaurant and the service provided to you by our wonderful team! We hope to see you back soon and look forward to providing another amazing experience for you.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel was great for a weekend getaway. The atmosphere was refined, the pool and rooftop patio outstanding and the breakfast buffet in the RH restaurant was awesome (although not free unless a Hyatt Diamond member). The Staff was courteous and by the time we left, three days later we were almost starting to feel like regulars because of the great treatment!

Room Tip: Corner suites are nice and roomy. Balconies on higher floors offer great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood. I appreciate you taking the time to share how much you enjoyed the service provided to you by our wonderful team, along with our hotel’s amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd., Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.