We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great LA base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz West Hollywood to your Saves list
Andaz West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great LA base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the final leg of our honeymoon. We arrived early after overnight flight from Tahiti and were really grateful to be allowed to check in early.

Rooms are good size, although agree with other reviews that bathrooms very small. Rooms had complimentary soft drinks and snacks which was a nice touch. Also nice welcome gift for honeymoon with card.

I agree walls are quite thin, but same as most buildings. It is just a shame some people are so inconsiderate. On one night the room next door had music on so loud we could hear the words over out TV. By midnight we had had enough and called reception. They sent security who came a short while later and resolved the problem. No problems on other nights so guess it is just luck if you get next to ignorant people.

We didn't eat here, but restaurant looked nice. Massive choice of places to eat nearby and all in walking distance. Great location. We walked to Hollywood walk of fame in about 45 minutes. For those who prefer not to walk, always taxis outside. Taxi ride to Rodeo drive/Beverley Hills about $20, to Universal $30.

We also did Disney and the hotel recommend a company called LA Tours. STRONGLY advise against this company (see separate review). If we had read numerous complaints beforehand we would have used another company. However, hotel were very helpful in sorting out problems with them. Host Joshua very helpful.

Pool and bar on roof lovely, although packed at weekend when we arrived.

Overall I would recommend for good service, great location and good value for LA.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit and will be sure to pass along your kind words to the team. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    479
    145
    40
    32
See reviews for
323
689
121
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the most amazing location. Fantastic rooms. Got a free upgrade! Had a view of Downtown, fantastic view! Right on sunset strip, the curtains blacked out the light from the strip so still able to sleep well. I'm a light sleeper and could hear the cars outside on the strip but it was part of the atmosphere and didn't bother me. The goodies in the mini bar were great!! Offered wine upon arrival and the wine tasting sessions are great. We had two TVs in the room, one (the smaller) did switch itself on a few times which was strange. Our room was opposite the Ice room so that was great. We were woken up a few times on Saturday night by party goers but that's fine and all part of the fun of sunset strip so was to be expected. Receptionists were great and the valet too...except for one young valet guy who openly said he couldnt be bothered to do any work to another valet guy and stood their doing nothing when we needed assistance. All the others were great though. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a complimentary review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many of the unique qualities that we feel make our hotel so special. We truly look forward to the opportunity of providing another great experience for you in the future!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived early in the morning after a long haul flight and were worried we wouldnt be able to check into our room until the afternoon so were all set on just dumping our bags - couldnt have been more wrong.
Without even asking , we were promptly checked in via a guy with an ipad and whisked up to our room in all of 5 minutes! easiest hassle free check in ever !
We had a King View room - The bedroom was massive, very large comfortable bed, additional seating lounge area by window (sadly our room was on a lower floor so not the best view in the hotel), and a nice clean bathroom.
We immediately went up to the rooftop pool to get refreshed afetr our flight - its gorgeous up there- great views over LA and the hillside houses, not a massive pool but lovely lounge chairs and bar.
Massive bonus of the Andaz is the complimentary soft drinks and snacks - really nice touch :) They even had free wine between 5-6 every evening in the lobby.
Small touches like this make it a great hotel, fantastic helpfull staff .

Room Tip: Try to get a high room for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious accommodations, the hotel’s amenities and the service provided to you by our amazing team. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to West Hollywood!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous modern hotel. Very helpful staff...all checked in within minutes on the ipad and upgrade with complimentary strawberries sent up with a lovely card for us as newlyweds. Great location and complimentary tickets to nearby comedy show were a bonus. Rooftop pool with plenty space and private coves. Gorgeous views from all sides-the hollywood hills and the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to LA. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience on our rooftop pool deck and the hotel’s amenities. I will ensure to share all of your wonderful comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you want to stay in West Hollywood, I recommend giving The Andaz a shot. Big rooms which include a couple of snacks and non-alcoholic beverages for free. FREE - you don't have to pay $8 for a diet coke or bottle of water! The room rate itself was very reasonable. I enjoyed a great day at the pool - Sunset, LA & Hollywood hills views.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise and light, ask for a room on the backside of the bldg. If you aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood. Thank you for all of your kind comments about the hotel. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived in LA from Australia very early in the morning after and long and uncomfortable flight. First time to US, but not first time long haul, so we were expecting a hellish wait until we could book in. Imagine how we felt as weary travellers to be told by the lovely young lady checking us in (on the iPad) that our room was ready and we could go upstairs, wow all by 9.00am! The best was yet to come. The room was fabulous, sumptuous - on the top floor, massive, and at the back of the hotel where it is quiet overlooking the hills. Even though this quiet room location was our travel agent's request, the hotel had kindly granted that request, and we sank into the luxury of the Andaz. Everyone was so friendly, the hotel itself is great for furnishings, location, hospitality and again the staff are wonderful. My only complaint would be that the restaurant was a bit too pricey, but you can go elsewhere for breakfast, which is an adventure in itself. Can't wait to go back, thank you!

Room Tip: Just ask - we preferred rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the hills. This is quieter, but v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at Andaz West Hollywood and for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of our hotel. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to California!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is perfect for a stay in LA to experience everything it has to offer.
I arrived for a four day stay which I extended to five, then I came back for another five days instead of heading back to NY.
The location is perfect either for seeing the sights of LA or Santa Monica and for the great restaurants on the Sunset Strip. The Everleigh was a favourite, or if you just want a burger... Mel's Diner..
Andaz has a really good hotel gym and the pool area is perfect for an afternoon sunbake. It's big enough that even if there are some party groups it doesn't get annoying. But you also have to remember that this is the old Riot Hyatt so don't expect chilled out sun time. The music is pumping at weekends and it's a great atmosphere.
Top marks to the bar guys, Matt especially, who work the crowds perfectly.
The rooms are great size. I had a king with strip view for the first stay and a corner suite for second which was immensely big.
The only downside was if you check in at a busy time it's hell. The relaxed lobby area just can't take that many people and bags! But that's a small downside until you get to your room and the pool.

Room Tip: The corner suites are really good. On the west side they face up the strip or the east you get Chat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at Andaz West Hollywood and for taking the time to post such a lovely review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you felt that your experience, including the service provided to you by our wonderful team, our prime location and accommodations, were amazing enough to return multiple times! We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the West Coast!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd., Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.