We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding space,comfortable rooms,hit&miss food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz West Hollywood to your Saves list
Andaz West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great wedding space,comfortable rooms,hit&miss food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Andaz West Hollywood this weekend to attend a wedding at the hotel and we had a really positive experience. The Wedding was located on their rooftop deck and ballroom and it couldn't have been more beutiful. Food at the wedding was actually pretty good for wedding food and the bar setup was gorgeous! Great job Andaz! :)
Our room had a beautiful view of the Hollywood Hills and I appreciated that they didn't nickel and dime you for refreshments in the room. When you spend a pretty penny for a room, it's almost insulting when the hotel charges you like $10 bucks for a water. The Andaz kindly provided bottles of water, sodas and healthy snakes inside the room all for free. REALLY Nice touch!
I only had two criticisms; it was pretty hard to find someone to help us in the reception space when we checked out. My husband and I were in a rush to check out and get our car to beat the INSANE LA traffic, but there was no one to be found by the main Reception desk. Seemed strange.
Also, the food in the restaurant downstairs was not very good. We had lunch with another couple on Saturday afternoon and everything was pretty blah. LA has some fantastic restaurants, but the one at the Andaz just isn't one of them. In all fairness, it's not like we stayed at the Andaz for the food. The location, the rooms, the view and the beautiful rooftop deck are the draws at the Andaz and they delivered in all those areas! I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone coming to LA in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall visit however I am sorry that you experienced a service delay at checkout and that you did not find the lunchtime dining experience as it should be. Please know that I am looking into this, as we always want to make sure that our guests’ stay is pleasant and satisfying on all levels. We truly look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    459
    132
    37
    32
See reviews for
298
662
115
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in January as part of a West Coast birthday trip and this hotel really suited our taste. The room was a perfect size and the great little chill out area looking out over LA as well as the comings and goings on the boulevard was great. Some nice touches too, complimentary soft drinks in the minibar and coffee, Danishes and fruit in the lobby to take away. Service was to on and particularly the parking guys who are great. The rooftop pool is fantastic, an oasis again with stunning views. There is a great steakhouse right next door opposite Sunset Towers where a lot of the after show parties are held. We were there the night of the Golden Globes and spent 1 1/2 hours celeb. spotting, sad but true. We would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your recent visit to Los Angeles. I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your time at the hotel; from our rooftop pool and the service received by our associates to the complimentary hotel amenities and the unique opportunity to have that true Hollywood experience of seeing a few celebrities! Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have just stayed at this hotel for 6 nights while on vacation. The check in was fast and efficient..A small issue with the air conditioning was taken care of immediately. The lobby is nice and they offer complimentary wine in the evening and coffee in the morning.The rooms are fine and would have been refurbished in recent years. The bed was comfortable. The building is quite old and the acoustics are not great..That did not really bother me as West Hollywood is a hype of activity and quite noisy anyway..If you want quiet I suggest you stay somewhere else or otherwise ask for a room at the rear of the property. I found the service great and and the hosts we attentive to any requests. The food from the restaurant was fine and reasonably priced. The rooftop pool is excellent and I was fortunate to have unseasonaly warm weather. The view from up there is amazing. The hotel located right on the sunset strip so an excellent location if your looking for some great music or fine dining..Overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Get a high room facing LA down town..The view is worth it...If you want quiet the rear of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us at Andaz West Hollywood and am delighted to know how much you enjoyed our central location, your accommodation, the hotel’s amenities and the service you received from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A few hiccups with checking in and also getting our laundry done!
Other then that great room, great location, a really nice pool area
(wasn't warm enough to enjoy :( ). Lovely staff, overall nice and would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us namely your room accommodations and the hotel's amenities; however I sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced. All of your comments are truly valued and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at the Andaz! Walter, our concierge, was fantastic and so friendly. Told us everything about West Hollywood, places to be, parks etc.! It costs you some money to stay there, but totally worth it. The pool is cool and you will see down town of LA. All in all a great hotel, very friendly people and very good location (but breakfast is very expensive if you do not take buffet.).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased that you chose our hotel on your most recent visit and thoroughly enjoyed our personalized service. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to Walter. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our stay at the Andaz was a real experience! From the moment you step into the lobby to check-in you realize you've entered a 21st Century hotel. The staff is friendly, efficient and present. The rooms are modern and comfortable but the best part of this hotel is the amazing terrace pool. A beautiful panoramic view of LA and the hills with a breathtaking evening view as the sunsets over this mythic city. A memorable stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your recent visit to Los Angeles. I want to especially thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at our hotel! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service that was provided to you by our team, as well as our sundeck, accommodations and panoramic views. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon and look forward to providing another amazing experience for you.
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel lobby on 30th Nov 2012, I was greeted by Jordan who was very polite and patient. The check-in was seamless and so was the checkout process. The rooms are great and spacious. The pool is pretty too. Jordan is very knowledgeable, he told me the places nearby to get my lunch and dinner. He was very helpful too; he drew me a map of the restaurants and malls. It was a great experience to stay there for those 3 days. Every service personnel are polite and helpful. The hotel is small but clean, tidy and most importantly you will be served by people who make you feel like home.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lift lobby and perhaps on the higher floor especially if you got the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin S, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review of Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased that you chose our hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our personalized service. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to Jordan. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future!
Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd., Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.