We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have been to the Andaz 5th Avenue, this could be a letdown.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz West Hollywood to your Saves list
Andaz West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Laugh Your Andaz Off
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you have been to the Andaz 5th Avenue, this could be a letdown.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent my Xmas weekend this year at Andaz 5th Avenue and New Year weekend at Andaz West Hollywood. The Andaz 5th Avenue is so much better in terms of quality that I felt so letdown while staying at Andaz West Hollywood. You can see my review over at the Andaz 5th Avenue webpage.

First of all, you do have to give credit to the design of the lobby, it is indeed very elegant. However, once you exit from the elevator and walk towards your room, the corridor gives you a feel that you are in 2 or 3 stars hotel as the furnishing looks very beat down. I have a king size bedroom and the size of it is more than enough for a couple. However, the touches of the room is at the low end which makes you feel like you are in Courtyard or Bestwestern hotels but just with updated TV.

The bathroom is a big negative. It is small, I would say it is half the size as the one in Andaz 5th Avenue. And you cannot find anywhere that you can hang your clothes while you go to take a shower.

Speaking of the staff, a lot of credits have to be given to the parking valet and breakfast crew. They really did their best to make sure everything went smooth and comfortable for the guests. On the other hand, the hosts certainly have room for improvement as my newspaper request and check-out bill were both not handled properly. Not a big deal but sometimes travelers judge a hotel by the tiniest thing.

Overall speaking, if you have never tried Andaz before, you may not want to start with this. This may not be the one that can give you a positive impression.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am delighted to hear that you were well taken care of by our valet and RH restaurant teams, however I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. At Andaz we are committed to serving every guest beyond expectations and to know that you did not find your experience here to be consistent with your previous Andaz experiences is a big disappointment. Hopefully one day we can welcome you back to create a more memorable experience.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    440
    130
    37
    32
See reviews for
283
650
107
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Andaz is Hyatt’s collection of boutique hotels, and I enjoyed the vibe, intimacy, and amenities of the Andaz West Hollywood as much as I did during my previous stay in 2011. The check-in staff (“hosts” in Andaz lingua franca) recalled details of my last stay, and thoughtfully asked if I would like a similar room looking out to the famed Sunset Boulevard in the immediate vicinity and the downtown Los Angeles skyline beyond.

The room I was assigned was spacious, and one special feature that distinguishes the front-facing room from those that look out into the fabulous residences that line the hill behind the hotel is that rooms facing the front come with a relaxation alcove with lounge sitting and a separate flat-screen TV of it’s own. Not that guests will be utilizing the TV all that often with the spectacular views of the glittering Los Angeles skyline especially at dusk.

A refreshing change from the Portico Spa products found in all other generic Hyatt properties is the aromatherapy series of toiletries set from Lather by Modern Apothecary.

Facilities include a fairly basic gym, but fitness buffs might want to time their visits as the hotel as saw fit to place the treadmills and elliptical trainers in the direct rays of the relentless Southern California sun in the morning hours.

Guests of the Andaz West Hollywood should take a trip to the rooftop where the pool–as well as verdant flora and more great views–await.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Sunset Boulevard for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that we had the opportunity to welcome you back and that you once again enjoyed your accommodation along with the service provided to you by our team. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, I look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in November and was given a discounted upgrade to a double room at the front with great view over LA which was well worth it. Good location on Sunset Boulevard and 30mins walk from central Hollywood although taxi rank right outside if need be. Breakfast was expensive but there is a Starbucks right next door. Rooftop pool is a big attraction and very clean and private. Great view from it of the houses on the Hollywood hills. Loved the wine and nibbles in the evening (all free). Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the amazing views from your accommodation as well as our rooftop pool. We look forward to welcoming you back soon upon your next visit to West Hollywood!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Colin at the front desk was great! He greeted us, checked us in, delivered our bags, poured our wine and gave us great advice on places to eat and visit. He made our experience fabulous. We had a room overlooking The House of Blues. The mini-bar ( non-alcoholic beverages ) and snacks in our room were complimentary. We ate dinner at the hotel twice. The food was excellent. My only complaint was our breakfast buffet. The selection was very limited. We have had many Hyatt breakfast buffets, this one did not compare. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our host, Colin. I am thrilled to hear that you were well taken care of and will be sure to pass along your very kind words to him! On behalf of all of us here at Andaz West Hollywood, I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Andaz West Hollywood sits on the Sunset Strip with great city views, especially from the rooftop pool. The Chateau Marmont is also a stones throw from the hotel.

Rooftop Pool
Cabanas
As you enter the hotel, there is no formal registration desk. There are “hosts” that assist you with the check-in process. Guests are invited to sit on sofas throughout the check-in process. Guests are also offered a glass of wine, water or other beverage.

During this stay, I decided to use a Suite Upgrade, which Diamond members receive four throughout the year. Normally, a Diamond member will be upgraded to the smallest or lowest level suite, but can be upgraded further at the hotels discretion. As you may expect, some hotels are more generous than others with upgrades.

I was given an Andaz Suite King on the 9th floor. As you enter, the room opens up into a large open space. There is a large glass table with four barstools with a large window that overlooks the city.

To the left is a large leather couch with a large desk. There is also a flat screen TV that welcomes you to the Andaz. They even personalize the greeting on the TV, a very nice and memorable touch.

The balcony has been enclosed and converted into a small sitting area with two chairs and ottomans, and a small TV that overlooks the city. With the great city views, why would someone want to watch TV?

With the Andaz brand, all non-alcoholic drinks are complimentary, along with several types of

The room has two full bathrooms. The “guest” bathroom is slightly larger than the one in the bathroom. There is a large counter, which is always appreciated when on the road. The shower is spacious, however there is only a small hand held shower head that does not put out much water pressure. There is only a semi-enclosed shower door so water will undoubtedly splash onto the floor.

The bedroom is fairly large with a closet holding two robes and pairs of slippers, iron and ironing board. There is a small sitting area in the bedroom. The bed is on the softer side with large super soft pillows. Although the bed is on the softer side, it is not uncomfortably so. There is a large dresser and flat screen TV to round out the room.

The master bathroom is slightly smaller than the guest bathroom with almost no counter space. Like the guest bathroom, there is a fairly large shower with hand held shower head with less than desirable water pressure. The same semi-enclosed shower door is also in the master bathroom. There are Lather bath products, which are a very welcome change compared to the standard Portico products.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely, in depth review of your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very nice hotel, and excellent location. We spent our two nights here in the venues directly next door - Saddle Ranch Bar and Comedy Store (and the following mornings recovering in the Starbucks next door!).

My only complaint (and to be honest a somewhat big one), is that there is no free WiFi (cost is $9.99/day). For the price paid for this hotel, I would expect WiFi to have been included. Fortunately there are a couple of computers in the lobby from were set up for you to print your boarding pass for free.

In the rooms are included a free minibar for non-alcoholic beverages, which was a very nice touch. Valet parking $32/day and it was a fast service.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood and that you enjoyed your stay. In addition to the modern lifestyle amenities we offer in our accommodations (complimentary minibar with non-alcoholic beverages and snacks), we do in fact offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our guestrooms and throughout the hotel. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pulling up to this hotel is very impressive! Great location....went to saddle ranch next door for dinner which was fun and entertaining for my kids...ages 15, 12 and 11. The rooftop pool area is very pretty and the pool was heated very warm. The drinks and food are very pricey but we find that at any nice resort. The check in and check out experience was not ideal....I found it fine checking in and annoying checking out. There are no lines and I have no patience for people who jump in front of me because there is no organization....it is a cute concept but really doesn't work. The valet parking was fine 32 dollars per day....and tip every time you get your car was unfair..if they want to charge for parking that is fine but the tips add up, as well. Also we had a beautiful city view on the 6th floor....very loud! Should have realized but if you want quiet take the hill view rooms which are smaller or high floor! Overall nice and great location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Andaz West Hollywood! I am so pleased to hear that you and your kids enjoyed our central location. We are looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the West Coast.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd., Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.