We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and hip hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz West Hollywood to your Saves list
Andaz West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice and hip hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Andaz is most comparable to a Hard Rock hotel with its edgy feel and lots of art in its public spaces related to rock and music. As you enter lobby, you're greeted with workers who are not behind a counter but instead holding an iPad to check you in. The complimentary beverages all day are convenient, and the rooms are nice, modern, and edgy. However, I did miss having a hotel room with a balcony so that would be my only complaint. The beds are very comfortable though which is a plus. The breakfast table (buffet) is nice with fruit, yorgurt, eggs, but not impressive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andaz West Hollywood so thoroughly. From the service of the staff to the atmosphere, it sounds like you really appreciated the Andaz service. I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next trip to Los Angeles.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    478
    145
    40
    32
See reviews for
323
687
121
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Andaz is an ultra modern, boutique-feel hotel. There is no front desk, but the staff is mobile at the lobby ready with handheld devices to check you in, make a reservation, or give you advice for dining, sites, etc. We had a room with a view of the strip. The room included a separate seating space in front of the windows which was a great added benefit. I always get up earlier than my significant other, so I could use that space to read, watch tv, etc. without disturbing him. The staff was EXTREMELY attentive, including the valet service, which was excellent. The hotel also offers free wine during happy hour in the evenings which was nice. This hotel was exactly the experience I was looking for staying on the Sunset Strip in LA. My only complaint was that one member of the staff said he would help us with a reservation for dinner and leave a message for us with details. That never happened, so I was left with another staff member at 5:30 to try and find another availability. We actually ended up at a better restaurant, I think, so it all worked out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for selecting Andaz West Hollywood for your most recent trip to Los Angeles. I want to especially thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at our hotel! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, our central location and the service provided to you by our wonderful team! I am terribly sorry that we missed a follow up to your request for a restaurant reservation; however, I am pleased that it all worked out. Rest assure that this will not reoccur. On behalf of all of us here at the hotel, we hope to see you back soon and look forward to providing another amazing experience for you.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in the evening after driving fom san fransisco which took about 7 hours so once we got there we obviously just wanted to get settled in asap. The momment we pulled up we were greated by concierge and valet people who helped us take our 8 pieces of luggage out (there were only 3 of us!) an brought them straight into the reception where we were checked in by thier cool ipads and also given a couple of glasses of wine each and also we were given the opportunity to upgrade to a better view room which was facing the blvd. it was defo worth the extra $100!! I couldnt belive the view we woke up to plus as we were high up we didnt hear any street noise it was amazing. The location is amazing id defo go to the saddle ranch! Typical american bar and so much fun, we even saw some famous celebrities in there which was amazing! The only thing that i wasnt happy with was when we were leaving we called for a bell boy to help with luggage an nobody showed up so we ha to run to an forth gettin suitcases which were so heavy!!
Everythin else was amazing id defo go bk again :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am so delighted to have the opportunity to receive your kind feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our distinctive check in experience and our spacious accommodations! I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel upon your next visit to Southern California!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and it was our honeymoon,first of all it was not even acknowledged that it was our honeymoon,it was on the reservation however not aknowledged just a small thing like that can make a difference,the lobby and bar etc are stunning but the bedrooms are so poor they look like a 3 star hotels bedrooms,the bathroom is as big as a cupboard,hugely disapointed and wouldnt stay at this hotel,would go to the bar for a drink though.We then went to Hawaii and stayed at the Hyatt Regency and spa,a whole amazing experience and made us feel special and at check in congractulated us,as a Hyatt Hotel id expect better arrival service and bedrooms,maybe we just got allocated the worst room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. At Andaz we are committed to serve every guest beyond expectations and to know that we did not satisfy you at all is a big disappointment. Hopefully one day we can welcome you back to create an experience more consistent with the Andaz true hospitality.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Loved this hotel! From the fantastic service as soon as we arrived, to the complimentary drinks every evening, the great art, and the so-cool rooftop pool and bar, it was just a fabulous experience all round.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood! We are so pleased to hear that you loved the Andaz experience!! We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights. Comfortable rooms, free minibar, free internet. The staff was very helpful and polite. The location is great. I really recommend this hotel for anyone that wants a very nice experience in LA.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our prime location, spacious accommodations and the service provided to you by our amazing team. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A very cool stylish and sophisticated hotel based right in Sunset strip. The hotel is very informal in terms of check in but the service was excellent. Very nice rooms the amenities in the bathroom very nice. Cool decor and good food.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I am so pleased that you chose to stay at Andaz West Hollywood and am delighted to know how much you enjoyed our central location, unique check-in experience and the service you received from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the not too distant future!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#7 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd., Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.