We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz West Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz West Hollywood to your Saves list
Andaz West Hollywood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Laugh Your Andaz Off
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
VIC Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed in April for a couple a nights. Great boutique Hotel. Beds were incredibly comfortable. Rooms clean and great bathroom amenities and great service. Only downfall was that we didn't have time to enjoy the Hotel more. Stayed at a few hotels throughout our trip to the USA and this one impressed us the most.
Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    449
    130
    37
    32
See reviews for
289
656
113
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We like the Andaz. A lot. Nice, clean and functional. It does what it says on the tin. Efficient staff. Clean rooms with deeply comfortable beds and lovely linen. My son loved the complimentary nibbles and the fact that the soft drinks are free is stellar in our view. Free drinks? Things to eat? Just heaven at any stage in your life. Great art. Staff were very helpful with our requests. Small, cold pool on the roof, but its got a great view and, once you have managed to get a seat, a great place to chill. Superb location in West Hollywood. Breakfast was very good but very expensive. Hell, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwoods, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We usually travel to LA to visit family and decided to stay in W. Hollywood this time. We thoroughly enjoyed the staff, the wonderful room and the location of this hotel. Loved the rooftop deck and had the city view from our room. Many amenities made this a treat!

Room Tip: Both sides have lovely views-- either downtown LA or the Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much for staying at Andaz West Hollywood and for taking the time to post such a complimentary review! We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Los Angeles!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Upon pulling up at the Andaz West Hollywood, the hexagonal artwork on the outside is really impressive. The enourmous advertisements on the side of the building are not. Valet service was quick and friendly and unfussy. This pleased me immensely. Reception staff were also very friendly, helpful and informative. Coffee in the morning and early evening wine both complementary, lovely! The reception area through to the restaurant and bar areas (with great pieces of artwork) are modern, striking and dark with glass lighting features and huge windows. The restaurant is a good space and diners are not packed in like sardines, which I love. Seating in comfy dark leather chairs and booths compliments the glass front and open kitchen and partition bar area. Food was pleasant too as was the service. The other good feature of Hyatt's Andaz brand in the complementary minibar (non-alcoholic beverages only). However, compliments to the Andaz end here, which I think is such a shame because I have nothing but praise for the Andaz properties in London and San Diego that I have previously stayed at. I was staying in an Andaz King booked with Hyatt points as my partner is a Hyatt Platinum member, that I upgraded on arrival to an Andaz Deluxe King for $20 a night. The room was of a very good size with floor to ceiling glass windows. However, these were half obstructed by a wall that sectioned off a small seating area, making the rest of the room very dark. The other problem being that the rest of the lighting in the room is woefully inadequate to the point I found it infuriating. The decor in the room was particulary stark and grey with very little to distinguish the room from any other grey box, other than a 12" copy of Madonna's La Isla Bonita to provide some amusement. Bland desk, chair, AV unit. There was an Artemide Tolomeo light - boutique cache, thanks Andaz!!! At least the bed was comfortable. Other reviews have commented upon peeling wallpaper. Yes, that was present and in such a newly refurbished property, I think this is unacceptable. The bathroom that was disproportionately small for the large size of the room, had little space for storage and only space for hanging towels in the shower area, which was overly large for the size of the bathroom. Upon arriving at the hotel, I popped up to rooftop pool area. This was very small, packed with guests and not particularly relaxing. Upon leaving, the hotel, reception staff were again very helpful. However, to retrieve the car from the valet parking turned into a carry on. It was raining and obviously there were difficulties for the staff due to the number of guests wanting their cars at the same time. We were happy to wait. I don't understand the greatness of valet parking and would much rather retrieve my own car. However, myself and my partner felt slightly harrassed by different valets telling us our car was coming. We did feel like we were being targetted in case we were not going to leave a tip. One valet also told us we hadn't paid for our parking when it had been added to our room bill. Hmmmmm. We were glad we hadn't paid for the hotel and its doubtful we would in future, or even stay again for free!! Go to the Chamberlain in West Hollywood! Check out Andaz at other locations.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces Sunset, the other faces the hollywood hills. Sunset isn't that quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Definitely the place to be in West Hollywood – modern, cool and fashionable rooms with unusual amenities – we liked it very much. Try to get a room with city view in higher floors – it is breathtaking. If you are not as lucky, enjoy the rooftop pool area for the great view. Nice restaurant and bar – a bit pricy – but the quality and environments is definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle of Man
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I cant even describe how much me and my friends enjoyed our stay here, clean smooth design throughout and unbelievably friendly and down to earth staff, who we even bumped into on a few nights out and were more than happy to inform us of the best places to visit.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, you will definitely remember it for a long time to come and i am already planning my next visit!

Many thanks to everyone there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
We are so delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Andaz West Hollywood! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind recommendation. We truly look forward to welcoming you all back upon your next visit to LA!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carshalton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Checked in by I pad, free coffee and Danish in the morning, free wine in the evening, free snacks and non alcoholic mini bar, amazing rooms and great location what more can you want.

This hotel was great value, and with lots of things to do around the area. The bar in the hotel was buzzing and the restaurant had a good menu.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipdailey, General Manager at Andaz West Hollywood, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent visit here at Andaz West Hollywood. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz West Hollywood

Address: 8401 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Sunset Strip, directly across from House of Blues. Central to Santa Monica Blvd, Pacific Design Center, Hollywood Blvd., Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame, Grauman's/Mann's Chinese Theater, and the Kodak Theater - Home to the Oscars. Minutes from the Getty Center, Universal, Paramount and MGM Studios. 12 miles to Los Angeles International Airport and Burbank Airport. 257 guest rooms including 16 Junior Suites. Rooftop outdoor heated pool. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Andaz West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
Hyatt West Hollywood
West Hollywood Andaz
West Hollywood Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.