We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have stayed in many places around the world 5 star, including Versace Hotel on the Gold Coast where we live. It was cosy, cute and the pool area was like being in the middle of an Italian villa. Rooms old style but new, really cosy rather than staying in a big cold hotel. We had just been travelling around the USA for two weeks, this felt like home. They had a self serve laundry, which is great while you are travelling. Most of all it is really central to all the sights and Beverly Hills and Rodeo etc and just down the road is Sur Lounge, awesome bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    457
    109
    40
    17
See reviews for
368
399
41
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of four staying there from the 21st - 27th July and it was fabulous. We were lucky enough to be given a poolside room ( Room 120 ) and we couldn't have asked for more. The room was very clean and spacious and exactly what we needed. The fridge came in really useful for storing cold drinks and it was lovely to open the french doors and watch our kids in the pool.
The hospitality we received went above and beyond what we expected. We left the hotel to go travelling and so far haven't found a hotel as nice as this one. We have re-booked the hotel for our return to LA for the last 5 days of our holiday and hope that we may yet again be lucky in getting a poolside room. The Wilson Family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Four of us stayed in a two queen bedded room overlooking the delightful (Italian styled) swimming pool and could not find anything negative.
Having stayed at a string of hotels up and down the coast, the Best Western Plus fared extremely well and the only hotel to include breakfast, saving us quite a bit of money over five days. Personally, I thought the breakfasts were fine and catered for all tastes and as free breakfasts go, this was good enough. It was a little difficult to find seating in the tiny dining room but there is always the option to take a tray outside and sit around the pool - there are tables there.
The two queen bedded room we occupied was large and had an additional area with a kitchenette, fridge (REALLY helpful), microwave and coffee maker. There was a small table to sit at if you were to actually make your own food, although I cant think why anyone would do this in LA!
The front desk were always helpful and knowledgeable and we valued their opinions. Directly opposite is a well frequented restaurant called the Saddle Ranch. We mistakenly went on Saturday night and had to wait an hour for a table and another hour to get our food, so avoid Saturday nights (they dont take booking). It was a fun, lively and loud place with mammoth portions. Another good tip was the Italian restaurant opposite Chin Chin Chinese about 10 minute walk from hotel to the left. Food really was excellent,
Having the car park so accessible was great even if we had to pay USD18 for the day. There really is NO free parking within miles.
Despite the location being excellent, figure about an hour into every journey you make in LA. The traffic is worse than London!

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool is nice and even on the same level as the pool would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was very nice hotel. Rooms were clean,fresh and good size. Great location in good neighborhood.
If your room is facing on Sunset Blvd make sure you leave your tv on while you sleeping or go buy ear plugs. Sunset blvd is very busy and noisy street.

They have a beautiful pool but when we were staying there pool was dirty (hairs and nails)- discussing
Tiles by the pool was so hot that will burn your feet after you make two steps. There is no umbrellas or shade to hide.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for five days July 16-21. The hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Tours were booked for us with ease. We are a family of 5 and the room was quite large enough to accommodate us all (2 queen beds and a roll away). The parking is underground and very reasonably priced compared to many of the other hotels closer to the beach. The breakfast was fantastic! Large selection of hot and cold items to choose from..... ie: eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, home fries, all kinds of breads, muffins, yogurt, apples, oranges, waffles, hot oatmeal, cereals, honestly if anyone has a complaint about the breakfast, i'm not sure what they are looking for. Trust me, we spent 4 days in San Francisco, spent more money per night and the continental breakfast was cereal, apples, yogurt and toast..... the location of this hotel is perfect..... we had a rental car so we drove everywhere,,,, picked this hotel because it is half way between the beach and Hollywood ALTHOUGH traffic is horrible in LA so it did take more time to get anywhere than we had hoped. All in all a great , clean, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel was a lovely hotel in a great area with a lovely pool & had a balcony.... But don't go here for the free breakfast, there is not enough tables & a lack of hot food. Would stay again but would skip Breakfast....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great location for touring Hollywood. If you Check in early there's a better chance of getting a pool side room which is very convenient. Large variety of breakfast is included. Front desk staff very helpful, can book tours right from hotel. Our fridge did not work but was fixed promptly! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.