We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hollywood on the strip..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old Hollywood on the strip..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I loved this hotel. It was clean and the people were so friendly. Breakfast was wonderful with more choices than you can imagine and a big enough eating space to please everyone. There is a fee to park your vehicle - but hey - it's Hollywood and parking does not exist anywhere in Hollywood! There is a Starbucks across the street - The Comedy Club and House of Blues are right next door and Mel's Drive In in right down the road. If you want to be in the center of it all - you need to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 408. The corner room on the top floor. Spacious and quiet and quite lovely. A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    473
    112
    40
    17
See reviews for
378
414
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of West Hollywood directly across the street from Saddle Ranch and many other restaurants/bars. This hotel is like no other "Best Western." It is full of charming gardens and ivy that climb the walls with private patios/balconies. We visited in the middle of January. The sun was bright and the birds were chirping outside; we kept our patio door open. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your visually stunning review. You seemed to capture the essence of our Garden Courtyard perfectly. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent four wonderfull nights at this lovely, not too large hotel with our son and daughter just before Christmas.
The rooms are very tastefully decorated and comfy with coffee making facilities,ours overlooked the lovely pool area full of plants and flowers and a world away from the hustle n bustle of Sunset Boulevard which is very nice and safe to walk around near the hotel,a few nice restaurants within walking distance,a great burger ribs etc cowboy style restaurant accross the road with a rodeo bucking horse! and very lively bar!
The famous Pink Taco is a little further on just past the Chateau Marmont hotel,great taco's!
the House of Blues & the comedy store is just down the rd.
It has carparking underneath around $18 per day,very helpfull and freindly staff and nice breakfast,just enough to start you off in the mornings,scrambled eggs ham and bacon,pankakes fruit etc.
Last time we visited some 19 years ago the area was a little scary but not anymore,you do get the odd lady of night walking the Strip and one or two strange looking characters but this is L.A. ! everyone wants to be a star!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience with us at the Sunset Plaza Hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to West Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasent stay at the hotel. We would definitely stay in Best western any where else in the world too! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to all of them.we loved their breakfast. Rooms were very spacious and beds very comfortable.we are a family of 4 adults and we had a great time staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Sunset Plaza Hotel and letting others know about your stay. Our entire staff is delighted to know that we made such a positive impression with your family and that you are now our worldwide enthusiasts. We all look forward to accommodating you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

On a nice strip in west Hollywood but you do feel a bit removed from downtown. Good sized room and facilities are excellent. Free breakfast too which we weren't expecting. Funny rodeo bar across the road does good food with massive portions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary hot American buffet Breakfast and our central location. The Sunset Plaza is situated on the world famous Sunset Strip making it just minutes from most popular southern California destination. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Second floor room had abundance of flowers in window box, and view of courtyard (more flowers) and pool. Opened those double french windows and felt like we were in the south of France or Tuscany. Loved this property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool or with a private balcony/patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Our landscaping staff will be happy to know you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room. They ensure that our Garden Courtyard is overflowing with abundant flowers all year long for our guests enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Looking forward to my next stay at this property. Rooms beautifully decorated and spotless, no noise, gracious and helpful staff - really cannot ask more from a hotel. Wonderful location, easy access to freeways, restaurants, and attractions. We were here for the Tournament of Roses Parade.

I did have a few items in the room which needed minor maintenance...left the list at the desk in the AM when I left and upon my return all repaired - perfect.
AMC - Scottsdale AZ

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your generous compliments regarding your stay at the Sunset Plaza Hotel. We are pleased that our staff exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.