We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“SUPERB LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Location on Sunset Strip was excellent. City tour bus stopped across the road from the hotel. Good choice of breakfast items.Spacious room. Reception staff a little impersonal (but not rude) - perhaps typical of a big hotel chain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    578
    437
    101
    39
    17
See reviews for
349
388
41
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good location, relatively good hotel. Full hot breakfast buffet included in the price, gym, albeit small, and isn't open 24hrs (7a-10pm) which was problematic for me to get in an early morning workout before heading out for business. The court yard with the pool is beautiful! The staff was very nice and helpful and went out of their way to assist. Shout out to the front desk crew, - Carlos and Lucy and to Edwin who helped me move rooms. Shout out to the ladies working in the breakfast room. They did a great job ensuring the breakfast was always presentable and full; they were very nice and professional

Okay, here are the not so good points. The walls and floors are PAPER THIN! If you are a sound sleeper, than maybe you can get by, otherwise you will have problems sleeping. You can hear EVERYTHING! I changed rooms twice because I couldn't take walking above my head, the pipes from the shower, the tv and conversations from either side. Finally, I asked for a room with no one above me, the trade off was that it faced busy sunset blvd. I was told that the windows are thick and that I wouldn't hear noise. I did hear noise but it diminished as the restaurants and clubs closed.

If you are in LA and only need a room to shower, change and have breakfast, this is a good hotel choice with a great location. If you plan to spend time in the hotel, and are sensitive to sound (light to medium sleeper) this will not be a good option for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no one above you. There is a section of the hotel with a wing like this. Break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in a room that had French doors opening out to the pool area. There were two very comfortable queen sized beds, a large bathroom, table and chairs and kitchenette with microwave, coffee maker and fridge. The pool area is in a courtyard that has been surrounded with flowering bougainvillea - just beautiful!

The included breakfast was generous with eggs, bacon, ham, spicy sausages, toast, juice, tea and coffee and waffles with maple or freshly made strawberry syrup. It was much nicer than the usual complimentary continental breakfast we had at other hotels.

Parking is ample and costs $16 per day. You enter the parking area from the street behind the hotel and take a lift up to the lobby. There are coin operated washing machines and dryers which we were relieved to find.

Overall it was the best place we stayed on our trip to California.

Room Tip: We loved our room that opened onto the pool area. It wasn't noisy but I guess it could be depen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

as soon as we arrived we were greeted with a smile, directed to car park facilities and then advised that we had been updated to a suite!! very nice indeed! french doors & windows that meant no air conditioning was needed (the first time in over 2 weeks after staying in other hotels around America - yay!). the room was spacious, with a great balcony that provided us with pool & city views (once the smog lifted!) and engulfed us in beautiful pink, red & white flowers growing all over the complex... gorgeous! our bed was big & very comfy and our bathroom was much the same. complimentary breakfast each morning was great... we just had to time it right though to find an available table (that was fine by us, we just went back & forth to our room and watched more TV on our massive screen while we waited!!). thanx for a great stay xxxxxxx

Room Tip: see if they have rooms available at the end of the complex where a balcony is likely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the BW Sunset Plaza and were very pleased with our stay. For touring (with a rental car) the location cannot be beat. We were pretty close to everything and everywhere we wanted to go. The parking ($16 per night) beneath the hotel is convenient. The location is right on Sunset Strip, so it was amazing that our room was as quiet as it was (although we were on the very back of the third floor, I heard street-facing rooms were not as quiet).

The included breakfast was very worthwhile: everything from cereals, eggs, bacon, ham, bagels and pastries to waffles made on the spot. The breakfast room can be consistently crowded but we usually got a table no problem.

Everything was clean and comfortable, but the decor does seem dark and a bit dated, including wallpaper and fixtures. The bathroom gets very hot quickly and takes ages to clear the steam out. But the beds are large and comfortable and we slept very well each night.

All that said, we'd definitely stay here again. It was a good time on Sunset!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was just lovely. The staff was courteous and promptly checked me into my room. My awesome room was ready and waiting for me after a long drive before hitting the city. I loved the location which was a good value for a hotel on the strip and the delicious breakfast was both convenient and a plus. I will definitely return again.

Room Tip: south side rooms have a great view of the city while overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here based on many of the positive reviews particularly on its "boutique" nature which is what I usually seek out. I didn't find too much to like other than the pool area which is vintage LA. My room came kind of dirty as if the desk wasn't cleaned nor the bathroom counters. The gym equipment had sweat drippings all over them and there was nothing to wipe down equipment either. Furnishings are tired. This would be a great hotel in mid-century modern design, but it can't escape the heavy wood and chandeliers appropriate for another time. This could be a great vintage hotel but needs some capital. Rates are more reflective of a premium hotel but in part probably a function of location.

For an urban infill type property, you are going to have certain limitations, but cleanliness shouldn't be one of them.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.