We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a truly enjoyable stay at one of my very favorite hotels. From the moment we arrived we were impressed with all the care taken by this establishment. The overwhelming landscaping of overflowing bougainvillea flowers greets you before you even enter the tastefully decorated lobby. The desk clerks couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The room we had was on the second floor with French doors facing out onto the attractive pool area which was also beautifully landscaped. Our room was not only super clean but tastefully decorated and larger than most one room hotel accommodations. The bed was most comfortable and the room included a small but totally functional kitchenette area (no stove but did offer a small fridge and microwave as well as a sink). And best of all was the all you can eat breakfast offered in the hotel's cheerful restaurant. It offered everything one could want in a buffet style setting. The hotel was on Sunset Boulevard in the heart of West Hollywood. Having once lived in this city for over twenty years (and working a couple of blocks away from the hotel) I can wholeheartedly recommend the location. The glorious art deco Sunset Towers Hotel, a true Hollywood landmark circa 1931, was a few doors away offering a super trendy and luxurious rooftop bar with beautiful people and a spectacular view of downtown Los Angeles. Granted the drinks were expensive but it was a vacation so we figured why not? I also suggest checking out the Saddle Ranch restaurant located directly across the street from the hotel (which also delivers). Their chicken avocado club sandwich was excellent (so much so that I went back twice to reorder it). And you can even make reservations on line. The convenient hotel underground parking lot can be easily accessed from a quiet residual street behind the hotel. Overall the hotel rates were reasonable for the area and did I neglect to mention their great breakfast spread each morning is complimentary? We had a wonderful stay in Los Angeles and that was greatly due to our stay at the Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    572
    428
    100
    38
    17
See reviews for
337
372
41
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My sisters, mom and I stayed at this property last week on our girls trip to California. This hotel was an excellent location for all of the things we wanted to do. It was central for many tours (most even came right to the hotel because of it's location), a short cab ride to Universal Studios and Burbank where we went to see Ellen and the Warner Bros Studios (GREAT TOUR!! See review on that separately). Cabs are always lined up down the road so it was especially easy to get around.

The room was extremely comfortable and the queen size beds seemed more like King size to us! Duvet covers were cozy for sleeping and our view of the pool and all of it's well kept flowers was wonderful. Very helpful front desk staff for any questions we had and lots of options within walking distance for shopping and eating. Saddle Ranch on Sunset is right across the street and has a great menu with a fun vibe if you want to stay low key but still have fun.

Never really used the pool as we were too busy but looked well maintained although a bit small. Continental breakfast was alright - waffles, yogurt, some fruit. But if you go within the last 20/30 minutes before it closes down they don't replenish. Would have been nice to have all of the options if they kept it replenished throughout the morning.

Overall, this hotel was exactly what we were looking for at an excellent price for our fun girls trip. Would also be good for couples or anyone looking for comfort, location, free breakfast, free wi-fi that works well and for a great price in comparison to other options.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is a great room view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza during the Oscar weekend last February. First of all, check inn went very smoothly. We got a room at the end of the hall (on the ground floor, but the back of the hotel is below 0, so you have a nice view at the back of the hotel). The room had a terrace with a view over the back of LA and the pool on the side, there was a safe, sofa,..

Price/quality you can't choose a better hotel than this. They have an underground parking in the back and it's only a 15 min drive to everything you would want to do in LA.

The Vanity Fair after party of the Oscars was in the hotel next door, so that was cool too.

Furthermore; breakfast is included.

If we ever visit LA again and don't want to stay at the beach, we'll use the BW again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with terrace - they are in the back but are the biggest and nicest of them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Was booked in another hotel for 3 days in march after our trip to Vegas . Decided t cancel the other more expensive hotel as we had I feel overspent in Vegas so decided to save a few bucks .oh
" the best laid plans" Decide that the best western was a good idea as it was at the same location as the previous hotel and very positive reviews on trip advisor .
First there was no one for our luggage ,! We had 4 large suitcases . Then the first room was underground with a view of a cement wall . It had musty odour no natural light and the ceiling I could touch without over stretching my arm . I'm no giant at 5"11 ! . I'm nit sure they should be selling that room to anyone . We went upstairs and asked for a change of room . They agreed for and upgrade fro about I think 30 USD more . I immediately agreed . However that although still and improvement was still musty with very low ceilings . The only highlight was them allowing our good friends at bookings .com to allow us t leave early . Checked out the next morning and got he Beverly Hilton for only 7 USD a day more . Trust me that was an improvement .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetPlaza8400, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review regarding the Sunset Plaza. As you noted, the hotel is nestled in between the many attractions of Hollywood and Beverly Hills. I personally went to measure the ceiling heights of our rooms and confirmed they meet the requirement of at least 8 feet high. Would you please contact me so I can look into this further as I don't have any record of you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We can recommend this hotel for it's friendly service and for it's prime location. In particular we can report the following:
1. We arrived early but they gave us an upgrade into another room immediately.
2. Staff were instantly responsive to any request: even after-hours requests were answered immediately.
3. Free Wi-fi was reliable and easy to use.
4. Hot buffet breakfast is more than adequate: the cook even offered me hot waffles.
5. In resolving problems with our tours and shuttles, the desk clerks were always responsive and made many phone calls on our behalf.
6. There is a taxi rank right outside the hotel.
7. A taxi ride to Hollywood and Vine is less than $20 US.
8. You can walk to the best part of 'The Strip' (the Plaza) in about 10 minutes.
9. There is a steakhouse, a burger bar and Starbucks right across the road and many eating places within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel to stay at in West Hollywood. We had a third floor room facing the pool. The room was spacious and really nice. The beds were so comfortable. Having two fifteen year old boys with me, I appreciated the breakfast that came with our stay. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool view is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.