We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location, Price, Staff - What else could you want?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Location, Price, Staff - What else could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My family and I traveled to LA and wanted a convenient location to access Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal City, etc. The Best Western Sunset Plaza was the perfect choice. The buffet breakfast was wonderful, pool and courtyard beautiful, the rooms were large and clean and the staff very accommodating. The travel desk was convenient and had all the answers to our questions. There was a Starbuck's across the street and restaurants within walking distance (including the House of Blues). Hated to leave...couldn't have had a better experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    444
    104
    39
    17
See reviews for
357
391
41
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week, after being helped through my reservation by Nikki, who was so helpful, efficient and friendly.
The rooms were beautiful and kept immaculately clean by housekeeping staff every day ( i was upgraded to a room that i fell in love with, with doors that opened up to the pool...), pool area spotless, relaxing and peaceful, and the general ambience of the whole hotel was faultless. As a single woman staying alone, feeling safe is very important....the Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza took that to a whole new level and I felt secure and 'at home'!
All the staff were amazing, especially Nikki, Carlos and Lucy.
I can't wait to stay there again soon....in fact, I'm booking my next trip today !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed at a number of hotels in LA - Magic Castle, Sunset Tower etc but this without doubt was the best for the best price. From the front it looks okay but nothing spectacular - but it is the stunning pool/courtyard at the back that makes it. We were on the 2nd floor looking over the pool and you really would not realise you are right on Sunset. The grounds, pool. hotel is immaculate and they seem to absolutely flood the place with staff to keep it that way - and they genuinely seem to want to keep up standards. The breakfast is excellent - amazing how much money this saves especially in LA where just parking the car adds up - and has everything you need. Really cannot speak highly enough of this place or the team that run it.

Room Tip: Without doubt go for rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my third visit to this hotel because it is such a gem in the middle of West Hollywood. I have stayed in other Best Westerns but this is one of the nicest I have been to. Shopping for hotels in West Hollywood can be frustrating since the nice ones always seem to be so expensive. This hotel, however, is a well kept secret. I found out about it on tripadvisor and after staying there became a true believer in and a regular reviewer for tripadvisor. Every time I stay here I feel like I'm a living in an apartment in LA. The front of this pretty Spanish style hotel faces Sunset Blvd. and the back faces De Longpre Avenue, a small street in the residential neighborhood behind the hotel. The entrance to the well-lighted parking garage is easy to access off this street. The garage is well-monitored by cameras and an intercom. The rooms are very well decorated, especially the deluxe pool view room that I stayed in with three other guests during my last visit in December 2012. It was well-equipped with a kitchenette that included a microwave, a refrigerator, and a sink. It was the perfect size for the four of us and the bathroom in the hallway on our floor helped for those times when we needed an extra bathroom. The pillow top beds were extremely comfortable, as usual. Our view was of the courtyard garden and pool, but we happened to be staying this time during renovation, so the courtyard was prepped to be painted. Since it was winter and cold outside I didn't have a problem with it. They did knock off our parking fee for the 3 days we were there because of the inconvenience. The other times I have stayed here this courtyard has been the focal point of the hotel with the pink bougainvillea climbing the hotel walls surrounding the pool and on the lattice arbor over the jacuzzi. I know that it will be even prettier now that the courtyard has been repainted and a brand new arbor has been built over the jacuzzi. The room included a free continental breakfast. The hotel was full this time since our stay was just after Christmas, but there was plenty of breakfast for all. The food was simple, but good. They provided hot and cold breakfast foods. Since they had such a crowd they used a meeting room for overflow. The hotel is literally convenient to everything in Hollywood. We were able to drive short distances to most of the sites we were there to see. I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: The deluxe pool view rooms are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last minute for one night when we were seeing a concert at the House of Blues which was right next to this hotel. The Location was awesome, right on sunset strip where all the action was and was half the price of all the other nearby hotels. Katana was across the street so we went to the bar for some sushi. The hotel was clean the room was decent and clean as well, bathroom was basic but again all we needed for just that night. There was a pool which we didn't use but it was in a nice little garden area. The free breakfast in the morning was a definite plus, eggs, bacon, waffles, pastries, coffee, juice, etc. It's right on the street so kinda noisy but we fell right asleep, if I had a bigger budget indefinitely would have loved to stay at the Mondrian or something like that but for just one night this place was just fine for us.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Comfortable, relaxed hotel in heart of Sunset Boulevard. Rooms are to the rear of the hotel and so are surprisingly quiet. We stayed on Oscars Night (not planned) and found the Vanity Fair party was in the hotel next door - saw loads of stars - awesome. Standard continental breakfast was included. We ate at the Saddle Ranch across the road, which was superb.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel was our first of many on our trip to the USA.. We found the location excellent to all the places we wanted to go. Great restaruants nearby..Saddle Ranch across the road was excellent dining..The service in the hotel was very good only thing I believe was a let down, we had to go down all theses stairs with our suitcases to get to the elevator then to our room...a room more closer and accomodating would have been better since we had just got off a 13 hour flight from Australia. Overall we would happily stay there again..we also loved the breakfast in the morning which was included with the room and we loved the pool area....very LA ...Thank you and we hope to stay there again if we go back to LA...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.