We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had 4 nights in a "suite" which was a bedroom with 2 QS beds (3 persons) and a lounge and kitchenette. Many restaurants near by and q 10-15 walk to main attractions ie Wax works, Growmans Theatre, bus trips to see starshomes. The hotel was comfortable, but the breakfast very average especially the plastic cutlery!! For what we paid that was abit much!! Said there was a pool but was not working when arrived. Easy for transport. Loved Mals Diner near!!

Room Tip: A suite is the go as more room to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    461
    109
    40
    17
See reviews for
370
402
41
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great hotel very clean, good location. Stayed here four nights checked out 01/21/13. Good breakfast. Clean and big rooms. Would stay here again. Parking is 16 per day but its typical for Hollywood/l.a hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good location on this hotel thats in the middle of west hollywood just a few miles from hollywood boulevard and walking distance to nice restaurants and bars.
We got a huge room with two queen beds and a smaller dining area with kitchenette, fridge and a table with two chairs.

It was clean and the staff was nice but maybe not overnice. Price ok for the area and we paid 150 $/night.

Breakfast included is not bad for the U.S though the choices where limited and coffee bland.

Parking garage is on the backside of the hotel and was 15 or 20 $ extra if i dont remember wrong.

The poolarea was cute and i do recommend partypeople to grab a beer or two at the Saddlre Ranch just across the street and try the mechanical bull.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Our four night stay here was very enjoyable. The rooms are clean and very spacious for a big city hotel. We enjoyed the convenient and tasty breakfast every day.

The location is terrific, well served by transport and in walking distance to West Hollywood nightlife. Any issues we had were fixed quickly by the friendly staff.

It is a little noisy, but you cannot stay on Sunset Boulevard and not put up with some street noise. We stayed in 4 Best Western hotels in the USA during our holiday. All were good but this one was the pick of the bunch. For the price it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely spacious room. Had a few problems with the washing machine and they had someone to help within minutes. Great friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Would stay here again. Very happy overall with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband had spent time in this hotel in August 2012 and thought it was fantastic, so we decided to book here for our trip to LA together. As he had stayed there previously, we were upgraded immediately on check in to the pool side room which was lovely. Parking was cheap, only $15 a night. The room is large and very clean. You can't get better value for money than this in LA. The location is perfect, right next door to the Mondrian which is great to go to for a sophisticated & elegant drink. My only criticisms are this: the walls seem to be quite thin - another guest's television woke me up one morning and I could regularly hear sound in other people's rooms. Secondly, breakfast. It's great that it's included in the price. But it's not very good. A lot of stodgy, processed food - white bread, bagels, muffins and waffles. Sugar coated cereal. The requisite fatty bacon, sausages and eggs. The apple I had tasted like cardboard and that was the only fruit on offer. And I would have gladly had the quick oats sachets that were available, except there was no microwave to cook them in. However, both of those aside, we had a wonderful and very comfortable stay here - love the 11AM check out too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville AZ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am a returning guest and this hotel is perfect for a nice value and location to many local attractions, dining and bar options. Really like the underground parking and it facilliates getting around via car. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#6 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.