We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Staying here was an excellent choice during the time my friend and I visited LA. The Hotel has a great location in a very nice area with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops nearby. Our room was spacious, very clean and tidy with extremely comfortable beds. I also really appreciated our nice view on the lovely pool area and the fact that I could plug-in my iPod to a little sound system so we could listen to some music while in the room. During the stay, we had access to free WiFi and a rich continental breakfast which includes delicious waffles! The staff was friendly and the overall service great. I would definitely recommend this fabulous hotel to others!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view on the pool area; it's really pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    433
    100
    39
    17
See reviews for
347
385
41
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in early December 2012 because it is in a great location. It is built around a courtyard and pool with colourful bougainvillea which offered a lovely outlook from the window. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a decent sized bathroom. Free wi-fi and buffet breakfast is included and car parking spaces underneath were easily accessible. The two beds in our room were big and comfortable and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted quiet, comfortable lodgings.
Judith M

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently stayed here during the second week of December. The location was great and there are many tasty restaurants to eat nearby. The hotel has free wi-fi and a continental breakfast. The staff was friendly and the service great ... overall I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is very nice, a little dated but clean and tidy. Has a nice courtyard with a pool. Free wifi in the good sized rooms. The reception staff were a mixed bunch some friendly some not but it didn't get in the way. The location is ok but LA is so sprawling a you need a car to get anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated on Sunset Oulevard, easy walking distance from many restaurants and clubs. The hop-on-hop-off bus stops right across the road. The pool looks lovely and the gym is adequate. The rooms are spacious.
Breakfast is very limited if you're health conscious. I managed an apple every morning. The hotel offers few other amanities, e.g. no restaurant or bar.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are more expensive, but the outward facing rooms are noisy. Street traffic and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

With apologies for not posting this before I wanted to say what a great hotel this is. We stayed here mid-October during a ten week trip to Canada and the US and, of the twenty or more hotels, motels and B&Bs we stayed in, this was one of our favourites. It was a delightful oasis in busy LA, well-situated and nicely appointed. We were lucky enough to have a ground floor, poolside room and it was a real pleasure to sit outside to enjoy an evening drink. The breakfast was fine, the pool nice and the parking ideal. The service was typically (we found) American: initially a bit brusque but actually friendly and helpful once you were past that slightly cool front. In fact, we had a nightmare with our hire car and the various reception staff who helped really couldn't have been more sympathetic or helpful: they were terrific.

I thought this was a really nice hotel and I would most certainly recommend it for every aspect. I'm just sorry I didn't take the trouble to post my comments earlier - the staff deserve the accolade.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor, poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We were extremely happy with this hotel & would definitely stay again if in LA. The room was extremely clean and spacious and we found the breakfast more than adequate. We would have loved to have used the pool (which looked lovely) but unfortunately didn't have time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.