We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our first time visiting the L.A. area and we picked this hotel from the AAA travel book. It turned out to be a great place to stay. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool area and what was really nice was that you could open the window and let some of the nice warm breezes in. The pool area was very well kept and full of beautiful pink flowers. The daily breakfast was also very good. In addition to cereals and baked goods, it also featured bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs and a waffle station. This saved a lot of time in the A.M. rather than having to go out for breakfast. The location is great. There are a lot of nice restaurants within walking distance and the Hollywood attractions are only a short drive or cab ride away. It was easy to get a cab at the hotel also. Every staff member that we encountered was most helpful and friendly. If we ever have the pleasure of visiting L.A. again we will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: The view from the rooms overlooking the pool courtyard is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    519
    121
    42
    19
See reviews for
419
449
50
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, ID
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had driven by this property numerous times in the past and finally booked a room. What a great surprise. Close to a lot of restaurants and things to see in Hollywood. Great parking under the building and clean comfortable rooms. The pool area is quite a surprise tucked away from busy Sunset. The only downside is that you are very close to the House of Blues and if the music bothers you ask for a room on the opposite side. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My third time staying at this hotel and not my last. The hotel is in a great location surrounded by excellent resturant . Attraction nearby Comedy Club, Whiskey A Go Go, House of Blues. Last laugh etc. the hop on hop off bus is close by also. Staff and management very pleasant and breakfast is excellent value

Room Tip: If you want to miss the hill to santa Monica bld catch the lift to the Carpark and use that entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for a week on our visit to LA.
The hotel is located perfectly for tourists who, like us, would like to see as much as they can during a short stay. Everything worth seeing is relatively close and if you chose your travel times wise you won't end up sitting in traffic all day.
Good restaurants to dine are walking distance (5-10 mins) on Sunset blvd., west from the hotel. There are also nice bars for anyone who would like dive into nightlife.
The hotel is perfectly clean, the rooms and public areas are well kept, the garden with the pool is fine too.
We did not experience the noises that other guests on tripadvisor complained about.
What we did not like was the breakfast that was poor quality, crowded and felt very cheap. All plates, cups, etc. were disposable plastic.
The other problem was with sleep quality, the pillows were so big and hard that we did not sleep well.
The hotel is very good value compared to location and quality but keep in mind that it still expensive (you won't find cheap hotels in Hollywood) but it is still a lot cheaper than other hotels nearby. Keep in mind that they have an additional charge of 16/day for parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location.
The room was clean and well kept. The tile and grout in the bathroom was a bit sad. Great toiletries in the bathroom
Easy parking which is not common in a city
The breakfast room was not easy to access when in a wheelchair or crutches.

Room Tip: No comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice and well managed hotel, friendly staff, easy parking, quiet rooms facing the small but beautiful pool area. Breakfast was simple but included in the price. Not so many tables and seats but ok to bring the breakfast to your room or by the pool. Less than 15 minutes drive to universal studios or beverly hills.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife, (Marlene Dixon) are retired now but for many years as hosts of "The World of travel" on CTV and "Travel Talk" on a daily radio show in Vancouver, B.C., we made it our business to find top value places to stay around the world. On a recent tip to LA on other business we spent three nights at The Sunset Plaza Hotel in West Hollywood. It is quite simply the best value for the money we ever came across. The rooms are spacious and clean, the gardening around the pool is stunning,and the management thought of everything - including sugarless maple syrup at the breakfast.for diabetics. We've been trying to find that ever since .The whole experience was so good we may just go back into the business and write a feature article on the Sunset Plaza area..
Terry Wolfe, Richmond, B.C.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel

Address: 8400 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#5 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Mediterranean inspired hotel centrally located between Hollywood and Beverly Hills. Just minutes from famous beaches, Universal Studios and Walk of Fame. Daily sightseeing tours are available from the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Hollywood
West Hollywood Best Western
Best Western Sunset Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.