We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a youth Hostel should be !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Banana Bungalow West Hollywood to your Saves list
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   603 N. Fairfax Ave., West Hollywood, CA 90036   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything a youth Hostel should be !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Banana Bungalow in West Hollywood was great !
Offering breakfast every morning, evening entertainment and snacks/bbqs. The staff was very helpfull and fun.
Safe location, close to many stores, restaurants and the famous Fisher's Market (=> if you have a car, do not take it there !! Parking is EXPENSIVE (20$ for 2 hours) and it's walking distance !)
They offer affordable and fun tours.
Free wifi and computers ... small outdoor "gym" ... Free parking ... big clean rooms ... Perfect !

Merci beaucoup !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    91
    37
    16
    24
See reviews for
6
45
62
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money, helpful staff, plenty to do in the neighbourhood especially for gay guests. The ideal place to stay for anyone who is traveling on a shoestring! You even get a free breakfast and if you're travelling alone, it's easy to meet people there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

OVERALL:
Great location. Cheap place to stay. Hostel has a lot of activities and tours which they arrange for you, so if you are here for a short time, this is ideal. It can become noisy at night, so if you can’t sleep with noise, this is not the place for you.

MY STAY:
I stayed here for three nights in a dorm. A private room may have been better, but I didn’t want to pay double the price as I was on a budget.

DORM:
Sharing with 6 people (three bunks). However, to access this dorm, I had to pass through another dorm, which would have likely disturbed others sleeping in there. There were two sets of bathrooms and toilets for all 12 of us to share which was not too bad. They were all clean. As I expected tbh.
The hostel ONLY provides two sheets and a pillow case. So you would need to get yourselves a pillow and a blanket if you need one. I just used my jumper as a pillow. Luckily it was not cold, so I could manage with just a sheet.
The dorm I was in was located right next to the common garden area. This could get pretty loud, so if you don’t like noisy environments at night, THIS IS NOT FOR YOU. I didn’t mind the noise, so I was fine.
Lockers are provided to store your valuables. I felt safe staying in the dorm.

LOCATION:
The location was great as it was walking distance to the major shopping avenues. Also it was a walking distance to the Grove (shopping and dining area) and a “farmer’s market”. There is a bus stop close by also. Pretty decent location, which bars and food places nearby.
Area felt safe to walk around on your own. However, like everywhere, you would need to be aware of your surroundings and be street smart.

THINGS TO DO:
If you are only there for a few days, it’s a great place to stay as the hostel arranges different activities. On one night, I went to the other hostel, where they arranged free hotdogs, beer, kareoke and a night out to one of the clubs in the area. The club played music to my liking, however I felt the venue was not as appropriate for the majority of the hostel guests, as the club was pretty rough. I just felt some of the hostel guest seemed a little vulnerable in that environment. The hostel rep also left everyone on their own, so we had to awkwardly socialise with each other.
Other activities that the hostel facilitated were trips to Universal Studios Hollywood, Disneyland, Six Flags, and other places. This was great. They also arrange trips around town. Of particular note, the Celebrity Tour/Hollywood Tour is a must here. You get to visit the Walk of Fame, Hollywood sign and take pictures, visit to Bel Air, Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive, a celebrity hot spot.
There is free wifi, which does not work very well for some reason. But there are computers with internet and you can use them for free.
There is a kitchen where you can make your own food if you choose to.
There is a washing machine also.

STAFF:
Staff were pretty friendly. Special mentions: Boogie was really cool and seemed really interested to ensure that your trip is a good one. He was great. Kevin was also nice. The german guy (sorry I forgot his name) that did the Hollywood tour is also really nice. He was also really funny and made the tour extra special with his witty personality. There was a female staff that appeared really superficial and I got the sense, she wasn’t bothered about the guests and was more interested in socialising with the other ‘staff’. The other staff being an incredible silly person, who could not even understand basic verbal communication in English, and looked at guests as if they were stupid.

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast is free. Toast, butter, jam, peanut butter, tea, coffee, cereal. Nothing spectacular, however does the trick.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here I jan 2013 and certainly for value for money!! We had a private room which was fantastic, and clean etc upon arrival. Boogie couldn't have been anymore helpful when he came to helping us organise everything and look up tours etc! It was soo easy to get the shuttle buses that left the hostel every morning! Would recommend for a great, cheap and convinient place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hostel in late January. It was our first experience at a hostel and it had both it's ups and downs. On the good side, it was relatively cheap, the people at reception were really friendly and helpful, they rooms were decently if tackily decorated, there was always something to do at nights, they had free dinners sometimes and we met a few awesome people during our stay. On the bad side, the shower was a shocker - it flooded the tub while you had a shower which was pretty gross. Also, let it be known that THIS IS A PARTY HOSTEL. The last night we stayed the people from the other Banana Bungalow Hostel came around and we had free food and drinks which was all good. Unfortunately, although the party was then moved to a sort of downstairs club it was still blaringly loud til the wee hours of the morning - definitely not the type of sleep you want before a long flight like we had.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floors - I'd think they would be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I recently spent about a week at this hostel in West hollywood. This was my first experience in a hostel and i wasn't entirely sure of what i was going to get.
I walked in at about 12 and was told that i could not check into my private room until 2pm. I was cool with that as i expected it anyway. I was exhausted so i just sat down and used the free wifi, which was pretty good. After about 20 minutes the guy came back and said he could check me in now so i was stoked!
The room that i stayed in was 218. It was very clean, fresh sheets and towels and the bed was hard but i found it to be super comfy. The room has a small fridge, microwave and TV. I found the room to get a little bit stuffy at times but just chuck the fan on for a bit and open up the door and its fine. Sometimes i got a bit of noise from outside my room, But it usually didn't last long, just people coming back from a good night out. I could also hear the music on some nights and a little traffic but it didn't really bother me.
Every night there was a different activity on offer either at this hostel or the one in hollywood. Free food and drinks on some nights. The wifi also worked pretty well in my room after i was told that it was only in the common area. The kitchen is a descent size and there is a laundry in the hostel as well.
All staff and travellers were super friendly and the hostel seemed to be in a great area for me.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Found the location to be excellent and met some awesome ppl from around the world the main disappointing things i found were the rooms are verrryy light walled you can hear heaps of noise the people staying next to me were coming home drunk and making a racket until early hours of morning, people always banging doors shut etc,The hostel itself is a bit "tired" but tbh if all your after is a roof over your head and a cool vibe this place has it!!.The breakfast option is pretty limited but decent for free theres 2x cereal choices and toast.
I probably wouldnt stay here again no free wifi is a bit of a let down (wifi only available near the kitchen) and only free computers were MACS which im not a fan of.
The best thing on offer here is the staff are pretty cool all are interested in having a good time and seeing you have a good time they have excellent tours setup which you can put your name down for and see pretty much most of Hollywood/L.A attractions at reasonable cost,heaps of activities setup by the staff like food nights/free drinks etc and parties :)

Room Tip: Bring earplugs as a backup if you have too much noise where your are
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Bungalow West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Address: 603 N. Fairfax Ave., West Hollywood, CA 90036
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow West Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood is one of the most popular hostels in the country. We are located in a central location right in the hottest spot of the "Melrose Strip." The Melrose area is a very special part of Los Angeles. It is located on the West side of Hollywood and borders Beverly Hills, you can walk to many of the great experiences that Hollywood has to offer plus you will be centrally located to access all the sights and sounds of LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bungalow West Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.