We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there since 1948” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dominick's Restaurant

Dominick's Restaurant
8715 Beverly Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90048
(310) 652-2335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 340 Restaurants in West Hollywood
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roberston Blvd & San Vicente
Description: A Los Angeles institution, Dominick's serves updated Italian classics in a lovely setting that is romantic enough for a date, yet forgiving enough for dinner with the family. Don't miss the gorgeous brick patios or the 3 course "deal of the century" Sunday Supper for $15.
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Been there since 1948”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

So in LA, if an eatery stays in business for 10 years it is considered to be a great place. In the case of Dominick's, it has been serving great drinks and food since 1948. Once a spot for all the stars, it still gets the occasional celebrity. Food is a mix of Northern Italian and contemporary. The outside patio is great for drinks, I prefer the inside for dining. Decorated with a wonderful collection of pictures and old whisky decanters, it has that old Hollywood feel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pompano
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Dining/Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

LOVE the ambiance & it's a short walk from my favorite hotel, the Sofitel...try & sit in the back, by the fire & hopefully corn will be on the menu as it's the BEST corn on the planet also

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Not real italian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

If you find real italian food this is not the place. Spaghetti with meetballs is not an italian dish: Not even a single restaurant in Italy would offer you meat balls within spaghetti!
We got housemade rigatoni with fried egglplants, mozzarella, parmigiano and tomato sauce: rigatoni were overcooked, and we didn't see any mozzarella inside.
That was a parody of the italian cuisine.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Celebrate an Occassion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We celebrated my daughter's birthday on the side patio. Service was amazing! Food was terrific and the ambiance was perfect. Drinks are strong, so go easy! The calamari was yummy as an appetizer. All the food was good, and you won't go wrong. Valet Parking is only $5, so do yourself a favor and use them.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Little Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I came here one evening getting there about seven. Getting seated was easily, the service was attentive without being over the top. The steak with arugula & parmesan was cooked to perfection, and the portion size was just right. By the time we left the restaurant was packed and I can see how it is a popular eatery.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominick's Restaurant also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Dominick's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dominick's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.