We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, discreet joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Chateau Marmont to your Saves list
Chateau Marmont
8221 W. Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classy, discreet joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was initially apprehensive about staying here, but was pleasantly surprised by the decent-sized rooms and great service. Yes, it could use an update, but I think that's part of its charm. Restaurant is v good to boot. Great W Hollywood location and doesn't feel like it's on the busy Strip.

Room Tip: Even the room next to elevator was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    53
    23
    22
    29
See reviews for
32
99
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

A piece of LA history. Hidden away this place is the perfect bolt hole to recover from a breakdown, have a mad affair, write that screenplay or just laze around the pool having delicious food and drinks brought to you before heading back to your bungalow and then on to dinner in the gorgeous restaurant.

Room Tip: Garden bungalow is a treat - old world feel to it, personalised notepaper is a special touch. Not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is great. The rooms are dated but that's part of the character. We loved our kitchen with the old fridge etc.

Service was excellent until exactly 6pm. At this point the great and the good turned up, and then we felt like impostors rather than guests. We asked for a restaurant table for two and were offered a 9.45pm seating which we declined. We were sent to the Marmont bar down the street instead. Good food and atmosphere but felt we'd been kicked downstairs a bit.

On returning we had a few drinks in the drawing room which was great, although a bit deserted. Our time there seemed to be at the pleasure of our waiter who dictated when we pay our bill, and once we had signed the check swiped it up whilst talking to somebody else and without so much as an acknowledgement - we were amused by the rudeness. Glad to have paid a 20% tip there. Why we had to pay some three hours before closing was a bit of a mystery.

We asked if we could sit in the courtyard which had more of an atmosphere but we were told that in order to get a table there we had to ask permission from a hostess who we had to queue to talk to. Several overly groomed individuals stood between us and our goal. We gave up and retreated to our cottage.

It's worth staying here and during the day it's lovely. But in the evening you need to have the nouse to deal with the waiters and maître'ds. We couldn't work out the technique.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed here for two nights and had a great time. My room was spacious and very clean. All of the hotel staff were very kind and accommodating. I ate at the hotel bar and had room service brought up a few times and the food was excellent.

My only complaint was the bathroom. Normally the hotel bathroom is one of my favorite places on a trip; unlimited hot water in a shower is hard to beat. In this case the bathroom was cramped. A good portion of the tile in the shower had been damaged at some point and just cemented over instead of being replaced with new tiles. The shower head was covered in hard water deposits and sprayed water everywhere. The tub I was showering in was very narrow increasing the sense of being closed in.

These guys are well deserving of the 4 stars I gave them, and I'm nitpicking a bit. But an updated bathroom situation would probably have pushed me up to 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have stayed here a number of times when visiting Los Angeles and it never fails to impress me. It is part of the very soul of LA. This is definitely one of those places that could tell a few stories if walls could talk.

The hotel was was designed around the Château d'Amboise, a spectacular villa in France's Loire Valley and built in 1927. It opened two years later. It was originally an apartment block and was described as “Los Angeles’s newest, finest and most exclusive apartment house ... superbly situated, close enough to active businesses to be accessible and far enough away to ensure quiet and privacy.” That didn't save it from the Great Depression though and shortly after it opened it was sold and converted to a hotel.

Bar Marmont and the main hotel restaurant both feature wonderful, delicious, market-fresh California cuisine.

The hotel is steeped in history. Sofia Coppola shot her film Somewhere at the hotel in 2010. The opening scene of The Canyons was shot at the Bar Marmont. Lana Del Rey sings of the hotel in many of her songs on her album Born to Die.

Annie Leibovitz, Dorothy Parker, Bruce Weber, Hunter S. Thompson, Tim Burton, Jay McInerney, Sofia Coppola, F. Scott Fitzgerald, among others, have all worked from the hotel.

If you go to the bar (or sit on the terrace you have to have a Martini. They are the crispiest martinis in the world (well LA anyway).

John Belushi died of a drug overdose in the Spanish Cottage that we stayed in (luckily a number of years earlier), Jim Morrison almost managed a heavily drug-fueled leap from a fourth-floor window trying to reach the pool (he didn't make it).

The hotel gradually fell into disrepair until being sold a number of years ago to hotelier André Balazs who completely revived it from near-dereliction. Now The Chateau (in LA speak) is enjoying its own celebrity.

If you are staying in LA give The Chateau a go - even if its only for one night. It is a piece of LA's history that is really worth enjoying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights during our honeymoon.
We booked a bedroom but were upgraded to a huggggeee one bedroom suite.
We were also treated to welcome chocolates and wine which was a lovely touch.
The hotel itself is stunning - an ornate chateau in the middle of commercial west Hollywood.
The hotel is old and quaint and much of the communal areas are quite old fashioned. Small reception but with very friendly staff.
We had lunch at the hotel which was delicious. The outdoor patio restaurant attracts all manner of people hence it can be difficult to concentrate on your food rather than your neighbours conversation.
The pool area is lovely, fairly small but very pretty. With all the trees and plants you feel worlds away from the busy street just outside.
We visited Bar Marmont after dinner on the Sat night. It was very busy but as guests at the hotel we were given a table.
We had room service breakfast which was nice if a little pricey.
The room itself was a big suite - large sitting room, separate kitchen, bedroom and a bathroom. All nice and smart only complaint was the bathroom was quite dated and in need of an update. You can probably find much smarter rooms in Hollywood for less of a cost.
We stayed on the 2nd floor nearest the bungalows so it was a little noisy, especially one night there was a big party but I doubt there's many hotels in Hollywood that don't suffer from noise disturbance on a fri/sat night.
We can see why celebs love this hotel. It's a pretty property, tucked away, with great food and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Chateau Marmont is a trip back to another time. Nestled in the Hollywood hillside it takes you away from the city. Once inside you get the feel of the 1920s with 40s/50s decor. The service was good. The front desk, valets, and bellman were attentive and warm. Unfortunately, there was construction in the street behind our room in the morning which was a bit noisy and the blonde hostess at the restaurant seemed dismissive as if we were just looking around until I clarified that we were guests. But that's not the point in staying here which is why I still give it 5 stars. What a treat to have such an experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Address: 8221 W. Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Marmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.