We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No photos please!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Marmont to your Saves list
Chateau Marmont
8221 W. Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“No photos please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you are visiting LA for the first time and haven't heard of the name don't bother coming, you are not going to like it. However, for those who haven't stayed here, but, always thought about, I highly recommend it. The constant swirl of celebrities aside and the archaic accommodations a given, there is nothing like it that I have experienced to date. It's in the air. A certain ease and graciousness of the staff, the pleasant laziness of the courtyard that turns to electric tension in a second, and, of course, the instant immersion into West Hollywood culture. This is not so much a hotel experience as a lifestyle choice, even for a few days. However, if you are just looking for a great deal on Sunset, the Andaz is just a few blocks away, but, be warned you will be letting history pass you by.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    56
    23
    25
    29
See reviews for
34
105
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Amazing location, great breakfast, fantastic service (esp the concierge and valets). If you're looking for standard luxuries like a fresh coat of paint or an uber deluxe bathroom, the Chateau might not be for you. But the hotel offers a kind of magic that money doesn't buy. And the gardens and cottages are pretty great too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in one of the garden cottages this week for 6 nights - overall the experience was very good: the location in west Hollywood is unbeatable, the staff were all very friendly (being in a cottage our interaction was really just the valet in the garage) when approached and the concierge gave us very good restaurant recommendations etc.

My only tips to fellow travelers is if you're looking to stay in the cottages is that they're not stand-alone but rather connected to one another via thin stud-wall, so we could clearly hear our neighbors conversations when they were just talking normally in their room which was very annoying. I was praying they wouldn't come home at 3am with friends and make noise!
This was surprising as the whole point of booking a cottage was to get some seclusion, instead after an hour of check in we were considering asking for a standard room in the hotel itself.

The only other negative was the bathroom- it was really tiny, with a pedestal vanity very little space for toiletries (we had to keep most of them in the kitchen), and the shower - which is a bath/shower - seems to be either tepid or hot enough to fuse atoms (if adjusted just millimeters) which gets a bit tiresome.

These are pretty small negatives but are a bit disappointing given the expectations and price per night; we came from NYC (the Bowery hotel) and Vegas (Wynn) before here and both were superior in my view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Sure, this is a famous landmark hotel and a hangout for A-list celebrities - which I am not - but that didn't stop the hotel from taking excellent care of me and making my stay exceptional in every way. From the advance call from the concierge, the excellent food, the way they dealt with an event in the hotel to every staff person I came in contact with being friendly, helpful and fun. It just doesn't get any better. The rooms are classically furnished for comfort, not to impress. The place is private and appropriate. The pool is small, but very nice. I've had great meals there - especially the hamburger. I live this place and stay here every opportunity I have - THEY GET IT!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Finally had the chance to visit the famed Chateau where the famous celebrities hang out. The entrance to the property is obscure - drive too fast along Sunset and you will miss it. The hotel does not offer self parking, only valet so your only other choice is to hunt for limited street parking around the neighborhood. The exterior of the Chateau looks impressive and imposing, a castle on a hill. The interior was dark and moody, and had an old Hollywood ambiance.

I visited a one bedroom suite on the third floor. To my dismal surprise the suite contained an outdated bathroom and kitchen. The appliances had not been upgraded since several decades ago. The bathroom was small. The only redeeming quality of the room was the bedroom which had nice Frette linen.

I did not get the chance to dine at their property or visit the bar. I also did not spot any famous celebrities but they were preparing for an invite only book release party of a world famous photographer and the Oscar. The hotel staff is courteous but not friendly. They will only be willing to help you if you approach them first.

I do not understand how they can justify charging expensive rates for their sub par rooms. Their rooms are in dire need of a renovation. Looking outside the window from the suite, I could see the roof of their bar was in disrepair - not a pleasant sight to behold.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at the chateau for a long weekend. We arrived and they upgraded us to a cottage-it was so lovely and charming. It was fully stocked and they even had stationary with my name printed on it. The service was impeccable and we will definitely make this our only place to stay when we go to LA.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Let me start off by saying that I have been to the Chateau more than I can count. I have only stayed in the Hotel one night. But find myself going back to the patio for dinner, drinks, and to hang out under the stars or next to the stars. The food is delicious. Very basic, comfort food mostly. But I or my friends go there for the vibe. You need a res, because they have many celebs and visitors. So they can be picky to get in. But once you are in, they treat you like your'e one of them. You need to sit outside. Do not sit inside as you will be disappointed. It's all about outside and the atmosphere . I have had dinner sitting next to Pink, Ellen, Collin Ferrel, Natalie Portman, the list goes on. It's still a Hollywood A lister place. If you like that kinda thing, you will like this place. But remember it's not about them, it's about the Vibe.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room, don't expect perfection with the rooms, they are old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Address: 8221 W. Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#13 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Marmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.