We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant staff and overpriced food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau Marmont to your Saves list
Chateau Marmont
8221 W. Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Arrogant staff and overpriced food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I treated my family to Sunday lunch and felt really ripped off and poorly treated. The food was ok but absolutely nothing to write home about. The meal was hugely overpriced, as was the wine. Staff were unfriendly and service was very poor. Perhaps celebs get better treatment but I certainly won't return nor will I be recommending it to family and friends living in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    58
    23
    27
    29
See reviews for
36
110
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend and was shocked how bad it is. Rooms are not well kept for the $600 a night price. Other than seeing a few D list celebs, it has nothing going for it, we should have stayed at the Peninsula which was $50 a night less,oh well, live and learn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I wanted to treat my dear husband on his 40th birthday and make it special so I booked a night here with dinner reservations. We drove down from Dana Point, Orange County, quite a long drive to LA. After spending a couple of hours gazing at the boutiques on Rodeo Dr we checked into this hotel. The entrance seemed kind of shabby for a hotel of this class. The check in staff was friendly but the girl at restaurant reservations was not at all helpful. We had a choice to dine either at the bar or the main dining room so we chose the main dining room and confirmed our reservation. Valet parking was $32.
We were then led to our room, a junior suite #77 on the top floor. A bottle of champagne and chocolates were waiting for us with a hand written note from the manager, Philip Pavel, which was a nice touch. The suite has a large bedroom, a small kitchen area and a dressing area adjacent to the bath. The views were of the cottages and the pool below.
My problem with this hotel is that on no level did it feel like a luxury hotel. The furnishings were old and dated but most of all the bathroom needed to be renovated. The tub was chipped, the sink was old. Everything was old! I understand that the hotel is trying to stay in the 20's STYLE but it does not mean that everything has to be literally from the 1920's. I do expect modernity in a 5 star hotel at the very least. They need to spend a lot more money on updating this hotel, especially for the five star prices they charge.
The dinner was nothing to write home about, the food was average and not worth the $150+, the service was awful.
We were taking pictures of each other when the hostess swooped upon us and forbid us to take photos! Apparently it could disturb the "celebrities"! The hotel has a no photo policy anywhere in the hotel. Ridiculous! A celebrity, if you can call her that, Chelsea Handler, did show up. From the minute she arrived until she left she spoke and laughed very, very loudly so you could not miss her if you tried. Another family started taking photos of themselves but the hostess ignored them, I guess the policy only applies to non-Hollywood types like us.
Bottom line, never going back to this hotel. Wish I had chosen the Beverly Hills Hotel where we went for lunch the next day and we were treated so well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The facilities are old but the history is great.
This is a great place if you are looking for a good time, the reclusiveness makes its private like no one is looking and you can get away with it.
The drinks and food can be pricey but very good.
One of the best Moscow Mule in town.
If you're in LA for just a few nights its worth it.
Rooms are small and mattresses are old.
Loved the Kiehl's bathroom products.
The staff were all very attentive and efficient, even if you are not from LA or a celebrity.

Would go back again and again for 1 or 2 nights, even on a lay over or short stay in LA.
There are more luxurious hotels with better locations, but this is a classic, even if its just for once in your lifetime!
Its walkable or cab short distance from many great clubs, Mel's diner, good restaurants and Sunset Plaza.
Enjoy! Yolo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now and dined a few times more. Knowing many of the wild goings-on here for years, I had to see for myself what this place was like.
It felt like I was staying at a hacienda, even read it described as similar to a bordello. The patina was very appealing to me: from the tiles to the wood. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel (they're a dime a dozen in this town), you'd be disappointed. I came for the history and its character, so I wasn't. It was, after all, built in 1929 and even served as a bomb shelter at one point. It was where F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote the Last Tycoon and where Howard Hughes lived at the penthouse for three years. The walls had so many stories to tell.
The first time we dined at the private restaurant inside and sat beside John Malkovich, 3 of the Spice Girls (this was many years ago) and some other European actor whose name I can't recall just now. I found it very cozy and full of character. Brunch in the patio was really nice but it was open then, now the outdoor restaurant has been covered up and I do like the bedouin-tent look about it. I enjoyed all their food.
The last time we stayed at the main part of the hotel, not in the bungalows, our room was retro and the bathrooms can use some updating and still keep its flavor. Next time I'll probably stay in one of the bungalows and, if I'm feeling flush with funds, even at the penthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good team, Had a lot of fun.
Ask for the bloody Mary at the bar, and candace makes the best.
At the restaurant Younes took great care of us.
They took care of booking a table for us at Animal and were very well taking care of.
Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I slept one night in the hotel but i Can say that never in my life happen that in the lobby don t want to book something for u .i Just want to book a shuttle for the airport and they denied. I Did it by myself. The bathroom Was very old and they didn t put any kit for shower etc. Nice pool and the Lunch Was nice .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Address: 8221 W. Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Marmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.