We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Marmont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chateau Marmont to your Saves list
Chateau Marmont
8221 W. Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Madison, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for a one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First of all, I feel like when you book a room here you should know going into it that you're not booking the hotel for the rooms. If you want contemporary/modern style room then stay at the Mondrian. You're here for the history and for the experience.

On this particular stay I was upgraded for free to a massive one bedroom suite. It was seriously huge. Separate living room (that alone was bigger than my entire apartment in NYC), dining room, kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and walk-in closet. While most of the furnishings in the room look dated it didn't bother me-for one because it's the whole point and two, everything worked perfectly. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've had in a long, long time.

The property itself is filled to the brim with history and Old Hollywood charm. It is truly a once in a lifetime experience to walk the grounds and eat in the courtyard, hang out at the pool, etc.

The staff were hit or miss. When I arrived I was not greeted with so much as a smile and was not offered any help with my bags, nor was I told where the lobby was. (Which thankfully I already knew.) The check-in guy was wonderful though. A real friendly guy and was one of the few who didn't act like he was doing me a favor by simply giving me the time of day. The other staff highlight was the bartender, Chase. Such a friendly guy and he can make some excellent drinks.

The bad as far as staff-the waiters and hosts at the courtyard restaurant. I've never experienced such horrendous service at a restaurant before. After waiting for ten minutes to get my first drink I was ready to order. I didn't see my waiter for almost 35 minutes. When I finally ordered my food it came out promptly and was delicious. Didn't see my waiter again after that for the rest of the time I was there. I finally got so fed up waiting that I went up to the bar and asked them just to give me my check. And lo and behold, there's an automatic 18% tip added. No wonder they could care less. The hosts of the restaurant aren't friendly either. They're pretty much downright mean. They look at you as if you are an insect if you're not a celebrity or someone who can further their aspiring acting careers. It was ridiculous but luckily the only negative experience of my stay. I smartened up and decided to go back to Chase at the bar for dinner. Prompt service and great conversation.

I'd recommend staying here just for a night. Just to eat amongst the celebs (and you will see someone, definitely), and to feel like you're back in the golden age of Hollywood for a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    53
    23
    22
    29
See reviews for
32
99
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

"Everybody comes to Hollywood" and the Chateau is real West Hollywood. We stayed in one of their hillside bungalows (with 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, kitchen etc) which is very private, recently refurbished and very spacious. It also had own gates & parking and great views - a perfect combination of being in a West Hollywood residence and still having all the perks of the ubercool Chateau.
Pool is on the small side and the hotel bar a bit overhyped (I liked their outside bar/restaurant more than the in-hotel ones). Service was great and the location close to everything - we will come back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was there for the hollidays,so it was not full but these place clearly needs maintainence, the shower in my room was not functioning well,I reported these but the next day I had the same issue this hotel has a excelent location, wich is very nice, but is also very noisy.
the staff was very nice and helpful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed for a week in the Chateau Marmont and I had a room on the same floor then the reception. The room itself was not to small but it was horrible dated. Beware you won't sleep before 2am cause it's very noisy from the Hotel Bar in the courtyard. From the outside this Hotel has a lot of charme from the inside it's just dated. The staff is not friendly at all even often very arrogant. I stayed a few times at the Sunset Tower Hotel which is a complete different world. The Chateau Marmont is only good if you want to eat in the courtyard at noon. Then service is "Ok". Later it will be horrible. I saw people who received their main meal served with the invoice and a nice tag that they have 10 minutes left then the next guests will come to take their table.....

Room Tip: Beware of a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Took a family vacation to LA and chose to stay at Chateau Marmont. Although the location was great, the rooms were very disappointing. We were not informed that smoking is allowed in the rooms, and the smell was overwhelming. When we asked the hotel to deodorize all they did was come in and light a candle.

The bungalow we stayed in was in need of serious renovations: bathroom floors were coming up in the corners, tub and sink were constantly clogged, ceiling in bathroom was water-stained and crumbling.

Generally service in the bar and restaurant were good, however the last day we were there a bartender gave himself a $40 tip on top of what we already tipped and the front desk was unable to resolve the issue upon check-out. Mistake or not, they should have fixed this promptly, and after 3 weeks we still had not been contacted.

For the price we paid to stay at this hotel, I would have rather stayed at another luxury property and given up the "experience" of Chateau Marmont.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

During our stay in West Hollywood we decided to have a drink in the iconic Chateau Marmont. The historic hotel is amazing, and se were the drinks in the lobby bar. However, we were little shocked when the bill arrived - 2 cocktails including their standard 18% service charge came to $51.45. Wow...we liked the experience, but not the bill! I guess, buyers be aware...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ive been fortunate enough to stay at Marmont several times, this is the first time in a room, rather than a cottage or bungalow. The room was fantastic, but found the service this time a little inexperienced, perhaps due to it being Christmas time?? It was also the first time a didn't receive a room upgrade despite the hotel only at 40% occupancy, also a late check out fell on deaf ears unless a paid an additional $300 plus. There for christmas day and was told lunch would have a few christmas dishes, but just the standard menu, still delicious mind you! Also charged for something on the credit card that we didn't have, annoying. So these little lapses you dont expect from them added up. Will i go back again, for sure, but perhaps not with the same enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Up a little higher and deluxe suite offer best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Marmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marmont

Address: 8221 W. Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90046
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#10 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau Marmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marmont West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Marmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.