We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but not more than a roof over your head.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grafton on Sunset to your Saves list
Grafton on Sunset
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8462 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069 (West Hollywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
COMP DRINK AT CHECK IN!
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good location, but not more than a roof over your head.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here with a girl friend in late April 2013. The only word that comes to mind in fine. The hotel was fine. Nothing memorable. Rooms were tine, fairly clean, although in the two days there was ZERO attention to our room, No one entered it other than to mark down we drank a diet coke. I was shocked when I checked out that although our room was never serviced, new towels were never delivered, beds never made, we were charged three dollars for our one diet coke. I drank it, so charge me just if you are going in my room next time could you clean it?? Just wondering.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies as it is unacceptable that your room did not receive any attention. Your comments are shared with our entire hotel team because we believe input from our guests is the best tool we have in making improvements. It is apparent that we failed to deliver a memorable experience and I assure you that we will do everything in our power to ensure we do not allow a repeated similar experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    257
    139
    69
    85
See reviews for
97
226
64
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The room smelled like vomit. The beds and pillows were so uncomfortable we couldn't sleep comfortably , loud drunk guests were allowed to party in the pool at 3 am and to top it off, the women in the room next to me was violently beaten and screaming for help last night and my 2 requests to the front desk were ignored and I had to call the police myself to help her.
Valet staff was polite but this isn't a hotel for people who need a good nights sleep. Both nights there I was woken up twice by loud guests. One woman was on her cell phone right under my window at the pool at 7 am talking and laughing so loud she woke us up. So exhausted from no sleep I feel sick.
Worst hotel I've ever used.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that the room did not meet your expectations and we apologize if you were awakened by guests in the pool area. While the pool closes at 10 PM, sometimes people do not respect the pool hours and go to the area; however, when making security rounds or brought to our attention by guests, we immediately clear the pool area to ensure guests satisfaction. With respect to your comments about the guest next door being allegedly violently beaten, we must respectfully disagree. Our security report shows that you did call the hotel staff to inform you heard something, and our night manager and security personally inspected the area surrounding your room, the floor below and the floor above and could not hear anything. We do not call the police immediately until we personally validate any allegations to be better suited to report to the authorities when requesting assistance. After the police arrived from your call, they too could not validate the alleged incident occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night and booked it last minute as everywhere else was booked up. Paid more than I usually would but thought as it was a nice hotel (in photos) I would book it. Hotel reception/ lobby was nice.. But when we got to our room we were deeply disappointed, very average room, and certainly not worth what we paid ($200 per night). The inside of the hotel kind of reminded us of a modern hostel. Would only stay here again if I could pay half the price I did. You would at least expect a hair dryer in the room for $200 a night. On an upside Andreas the guy who helped us to our room was very lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Grafton. We are disappointed to hear you were not completely satisfied with our property. We are also sorry to hear you could not find the hairdryer. All our rooms are equipped with hairdryers but they were being kept in the guestroom closet. After receiving your comments, we have made changes in our room set up and now have it stocked in the bathroom. Additionally, we have also completed a number of guestroom improvements and we are also happy to hear you enjoyed Andreas…he is a true gem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel in December 2012 after a busy 14 day tour with Trek America. It was a fantastic hotel. We stayed in a room with a King bed and no smoking. The room was spacious and comfortable and quiet, which is what we needed after being on the road for two weeks.
The location was good with buses and taxis right out the front. We were only a walk away from a lot of restaurants, cafes, bars and shopping. We used our phone maps a lot and found some good restaurants down the hill from where we were staying. The Beverly Centre (shopping mall) was a nice walk away and lots of bars on the way to stop at - if you don't like walking the taxis out the front of the hotel would get you there in no time.
To get to places like Santa Monica and downtown you do have to use some sort of transport and it does take some time. However, it is nice to see the areas in between from the bus or taxi window. However, the walk of fame is not far away and we accidently walked there when we were dawdling around the streets randomly and didn't realise it was so close.
The staff was very helpful at this hotel and it was a friendly, safe area.

When we stayed the restaurant located at the hotel was being renovated so we didn't use it, but there were plenty around us that were great and a few that had some good themes which made the atmosphere enjoyable.
Friends of ours had previously stayed there and recommended it, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a non-smoking King room on the first floor and it was very comfortable for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for you choosing the Grafton and we appreciate your friends recommending our services to you. We are delighted to know that we were able to help conclude your visit to America. We hope your travels take you back to LA and we would love to once again have the opportunity to provide you with your accommodation needs. Keep an eye on us as we will be making an announcement about our new restaurant and bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We are a rock band that stayed at the hotel sharing a room with two double beds. For the price that you are paying the service is first class... we had a complicated booking and it kinda got messed up but the hotel front desk manager was extremely patient and went out of his way to sort it all out for us... when we had some trouble with the bathroom, he loaned us another room to shower until the fixed it, first thing the next morning... the house maids always kept our room clean... and always had big bright smiles on their faces. There is an amazing warmth in the hotel... I mean like if you are looking for a place on a budget, and you're gonna be spending most of your time outside soaking in the sights and sounds of Sunset Strip L.A. this is THE place for you :) it's fantastic clean, comfortable, cosy, had excellent service and its cheap! Can't ask for anything better! We look forward to returning :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Grafton on Sunset for your band. We have become the favorite for many musicians and glad to hear we met your expectations. We strive to deliver a great guest experience and I am blessed to be surrounded by a wonderful group of fellow associates that enjoy taking care of our guests. We too look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Grafton on Sunset for a business trip and wanted to stay there as they have purchased from my company in the past. The service at the valet and reception desk was very polite and helpful. The rooms are another story. The carpet felt gross and wet and I kept my socks on so not to make contact with the floor. The bed was hard as a rock. The A/C unit was very loud. The towels had a greyish hue to them and were pretty old. There was a minibar in the closet which had a decent selection, however someone must have unplugged the fridge because all the beverages were hot. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. As a new manager for the Grafton, receiving input from our guests is the best tool we have in making adjustments to our service culture and product. Since your visit, we have made numerous operational changes and product improvements and have more slated to be completed in the next few weeks. We hope that if your travels take you back to the WeHo area, you provide us with another opportunity as we know you will be satisfied with your accommodations. In addition, the hotel is about to make an announcement about our upcoming new restaurant and lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

(216) Booked as one the hotwire.com secret hotel so was a little apprehensive at first. I was glad to be proven wrong. Amazingly located, staff were like family, rooms were cosy and individual.

So close to all the "Must See" spots of WeHo. I could have been more pleased with the selection. The hotel could do with smallest bit of updating but this was minor. It felt like home from home. Set out like a little condo community.

Will surely be staying there many many times again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the Grafton. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with our hotel and we know you will also approve of some of our recent improvements. We look forward to your many upcoming trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grafton on Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton on Sunset

Address: 8462 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grafton on Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton on Sunset is the premier boutique hotel on Sunset Blvd in the heart of West Hollywood. Our 108 newly renovated rooms are centrally located on the Sunset Strip amidst world renowned shopping, restaurants, lounges and nightlife. The Grafton offers two distinctive outlets; Bar 20, our lobby lounge featuring a bar menu and exclusive cocktails, and Oliver's Prime Steakhouse as well as In Room Dining and pool service. Additional amenities include a twenty four hours fitness center and the largest saltwater pool in West Hollywood. We look forward to you staying with us at the NEW Grafton on Sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grafton on Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grafton On Sunset Hotel West Hollywood
Grafton On Sunset West Hollywood
Grafton Sunset
Grafton On Sunset Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grafton on Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.