We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend this to anyone on a budget!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grafton on Sunset to your Saves list
Grafton on Sunset
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8462 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1935 (West Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Melbourne
1 review
“Would definitely recommend this to anyone on a budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We are a rock band that stayed at the hotel sharing a room with two double beds. For the price that you are paying the service is first class... we had a complicated booking and it kinda got messed up but the hotel front desk manager was extremely patient and went out of his way to sort it all out for us... when we had some trouble with the bathroom, he loaned us another room to shower until the fixed it, first thing the next morning... the house maids always kept our room clean... and always had big bright smiles on their faces. There is an amazing warmth in the hotel... I mean like if you are looking for a place on a budget, and you're gonna be spending most of your time outside soaking in the sights and sounds of Sunset Strip L.A. this is THE place for you :) it's fantastic clean, comfortable, cosy, had excellent service and its cheap! Can't ask for anything better! We look forward to returning :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Grafton on Sunset for your band. We have become the favorite for many musicians and glad to hear we met your expectations. We strive to deliver a great guest experience and I am blessed to be surrounded by a wonderful group of fellow associates that enjoy taking care of our guests. We too look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    253
    136
    69
    85
See reviews for
95
225
63
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Grafton on Sunset for a business trip and wanted to stay there as they have purchased from my company in the past. The service at the valet and reception desk was very polite and helpful. The rooms are another story. The carpet felt gross and wet and I kept my socks on so not to make contact with the floor. The bed was hard as a rock. The A/C unit was very loud. The towels had a greyish hue to them and were pretty old. There was a minibar in the closet which had a decent selection, however someone must have unplugged the fridge because all the beverages were hot. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. As a new manager for the Grafton, receiving input from our guests is the best tool we have in making adjustments to our service culture and product. Since your visit, we have made numerous operational changes and product improvements and have more slated to be completed in the next few weeks. We hope that if your travels take you back to the WeHo area, you provide us with another opportunity as we know you will be satisfied with your accommodations. In addition, the hotel is about to make an announcement about our upcoming new restaurant and lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

(216) Booked as one the hotwire.com secret hotel so was a little apprehensive at first. I was glad to be proven wrong. Amazingly located, staff were like family, rooms were cosy and individual.

So close to all the "Must See" spots of WeHo. I could have been more pleased with the selection. The hotel could do with smallest bit of updating but this was minor. It felt like home from home. Set out like a little condo community.

Will surely be staying there many many times again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the Grafton. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with our hotel and we know you will also approve of some of our recent improvements. We look forward to your many upcoming trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am convinced when you book through a website besides their own (discount site), they give you the worst room. We were right next to the lobby/lounge area, and right next to a balcony that overlooks the pool that people can hang out at. This is def. a party hotel, so it is VERY loud!! I am usually all for that, but I am pregnant, so I wasn't up for that. I told them I was pregnant, so you would think they would find me a quieter room, and put the partiers in our room, but they said they were booked, and they couldn't accommodate us until the next day. We didn't want to keep bouncing around, so we just dealt with it. When we took showers that night, the bath tub didn't drain, so the water went up to our knees by the time I was done. This left the tub very dirty. The same thing happened with the sink, so the bathroom just felt dirty. We informed the people the day before we left about the tub/sink situation to help out the next people, and they were going to send in a worker while we were out, and we didn't feel comfortable with that. They just didn't seem like they wanted to make us happy. We didn't have a good experience at this hotel. It's a good location for the most part, and the room is a descent size, but we had a lot of other issues. We also didn't like that they didn't have any food or coffee to purchase at the hotel or a coffee maker in the room. Also, they keep the air off in the room until you get there and you have to turn it on, so it was very hot and muggy for a while until it cooled down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for choosing The Grafton on Sunset for your visit to West Hollywood. We appreciate your comments and I assure you that regardless of how a reservation is made, we treat each the same. However, it is unfortunate since we are a 108 room hotel that we could not move you on the day of arrival, but when running high occupancies, alternative choices are at times minimal. Congratulations on your pregnancy and we wish you nothing but the best of luck and many years of happiness. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with your bathroom drain and wish we could have made your experience more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My three friends and I stayed at the Grafton over spring break a few weeks ago and the thing that absolutely won us over was the shuttle driver, Frankie! He gave us great recommendations for different restaurants and other hot spots throughout the city. SUPER friendly. If you stay at the Grafton, make sure you take advantage of that service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Spring Break vacation. We agree, Frankie is a great member of our hotel family. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My friends and I stood at the Grafton last May & I forgot to write a review! I was in Hollywood for 2 nights and we had a great time. The location was prime and you're a short walking distance from a lot of cool places. The room was clean and the staff were really friendly but there was one employee, Frank, who made our stay very pleasant. He took us to this club in downtown Hollywood and gave us really good advice on what to do for the remainder of the evening. He's was very charismatic and easy going. He's a great asset to this Hotel, Grafton you need more employees like this!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and happy to see you wrote a review...it is never too late to hear great things about one of our team members. We agree; Frank is an asset to our hotel family. Thank you for taking time to let us know of your experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The Grafton is in a great location, right in West Hollywood. The layout of the hotel has a great cozy feel, with awesome photographic prints throughout. It's seems to be in a constant state of renovations.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Grafton for your visit to West Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. We are happy to hear you enjoyed all the great photography. Our team is constantly looking for ways to improve the guest experience and we have recently made a number of improvements and will be making an announcement soon about our new restaurant and bar that is scheduled to debut in late fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grafton on Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton on Sunset

Address: 8462 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1935
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#11 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grafton on Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton on Sunset is the premier boutique hotel on Sunset Blvd in the heart of West Hollywood. Our 108 newly renovated rooms are centrally located on the Sunset Strip amidst world renowned shopping, restaurants, lounges and nightlife. The Grafton offers two distinctive outlets; Bar 20, our lobby lounge featuring a bar menu and exclusive cocktails, and Oliver's Prime Steakhouse as well as In Room Dining and pool service. Additional amenities include a twenty four hours fitness center and the largest saltwater pool in West Hollywood. We look forward to you staying with us at the NEW Grafton on Sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grafton on Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grafton On Sunset Hotel West Hollywood
Grafton On Sunset West Hollywood
Grafton Sunset
Grafton On Sunset Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grafton on Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.