We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grafton on Sunset to your Saves list
Grafton on Sunset
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8462 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1935   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL TRIP ADVISOR SALE
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in West Hollywood
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

(216) Booked as one the hotwire.com secret hotel so was a little apprehensive at first. I was glad to be proven wrong. Amazingly located, staff were like family, rooms were cosy and individual.

So close to all the "Must See" spots of WeHo. I could have been more pleased with the selection. The hotel could do with smallest bit of updating but this was minor. It felt like home from home. Set out like a little condo community.

Will surely be staying there many many times again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the Grafton. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with our hotel and we know you will also approve of some of our recent improvements. We look forward to your many upcoming trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    240
    133
    66
    80
See reviews for
89
213
59
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am convinced when you book through a website besides their own (discount site), they give you the worst room. We were right next to the lobby/lounge area, and right next to a balcony that overlooks the pool that people can hang out at. This is def. a party hotel, so it is VERY loud!! I am usually all for that, but I am pregnant, so I wasn't up for that. I told them I was pregnant, so you would think they would find me a quieter room, and put the partiers in our room, but they said they were booked, and they couldn't accommodate us until the next day. We didn't want to keep bouncing around, so we just dealt with it. When we took showers that night, the bath tub didn't drain, so the water went up to our knees by the time I was done. This left the tub very dirty. The same thing happened with the sink, so the bathroom just felt dirty. We informed the people the day before we left about the tub/sink situation to help out the next people, and they were going to send in a worker while we were out, and we didn't feel comfortable with that. They just didn't seem like they wanted to make us happy. We didn't have a good experience at this hotel. It's a good location for the most part, and the room is a descent size, but we had a lot of other issues. We also didn't like that they didn't have any food or coffee to purchase at the hotel or a coffee maker in the room. Also, they keep the air off in the room until you get there and you have to turn it on, so it was very hot and muggy for a while until it cooled down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for choosing The Grafton on Sunset for your visit to West Hollywood. We appreciate your comments and I assure you that regardless of how a reservation is made, we treat each the same. However, it is unfortunate since we are a 108 room hotel that we could not move you on the day of arrival, but when running high occupancies, alternative choices are at times minimal. Congratulations on your pregnancy and we wish you nothing but the best of luck and many years of happiness. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with your bathroom drain and wish we could have made your experience more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My three friends and I stayed at the Grafton over spring break a few weeks ago and the thing that absolutely won us over was the shuttle driver, Frankie! He gave us great recommendations for different restaurants and other hot spots throughout the city. SUPER friendly. If you stay at the Grafton, make sure you take advantage of that service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Spring Break vacation. We agree, Frankie is a great member of our hotel family. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My friends and I stood at the Grafton last May & I forgot to write a review! I was in Hollywood for 2 nights and we had a great time. The location was prime and you're a short walking distance from a lot of cool places. The room was clean and the staff were really friendly but there was one employee, Frank, who made our stay very pleasant. He took us to this club in downtown Hollywood and gave us really good advice on what to do for the remainder of the evening. He's was very charismatic and easy going. He's a great asset to this Hotel, Grafton you need more employees like this!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and happy to see you wrote a review...it is never too late to hear great things about one of our team members. We agree; Frank is an asset to our hotel family. Thank you for taking time to let us know of your experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The Grafton is in a great location, right in West Hollywood. The layout of the hotel has a great cozy feel, with awesome photographic prints throughout. It's seems to be in a constant state of renovations.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Grafton for your visit to West Hollywood and Sunset Boulevard. We are happy to hear you enjoyed all the great photography. Our team is constantly looking for ways to improve the guest experience and we have recently made a number of improvements and will be making an announcement soon about our new restaurant and bar that is scheduled to debut in late fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I was first introduced to the Grafton in '09, when I was here on business. I decided to treat my wife to a Kings-Canucks game and booked one of the graftons specials on line. When we arrived, I was pretty disappointed with the room; however, Carlo (the manager) and his staff went above and beyond making things right - I wholeheartedly endorse this hotel, and will definitely come back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for being a longtime guest, we appreciate the continued support. I am happy to hear that Carlos was able to make some changes to your accommodations so that we could meet your expectations. We are in the process of making a number of improvements to the property and know that on your next visit, you will enjoy your stay even more. Please keep an eye open on our soon upcoming announcement about a new restaurant and lounge to debut at the hotel. See you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a well decorated average hotel with an amazing location. I went to an event at the Fillmore and was so happy to be able to just walk back after. The singer I was following around the country also stayed here with his entourage. The room was small and cute. It was not the cleanest nor very large for the price. I would not pay more than $100 a night for this same hotel at any other location. My sink was dirty with dark black hair in it. A minor thing in comparison to the ideal location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert S, General Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Please accept my apology for the lack of detail in your room, this is unacceptable and we assure you that we will do everything in our power to ensure every guests enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grafton on Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton on Sunset

Address: 8462 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton on Sunset 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton on Sunset is located on the legendary Sunset Strip in West Hollywood between Beverly Hills and Hollywood. Our central location enables you to take advantage of the numerous music venues and tourist attractions that are sure to make your LA experience one to remember. LA can be a very fast paced city so be sure to remember and take in some quite time by soaking up some southern California sunshine at our Mediterranean garden and saltwater pool. Stroll the pedestrian-friendly strip and discover an abundance of trendy restaurants, bars, clubs and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grafton on Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grafton On Sunset Hotel West Hollywood
Grafton On Sunset West Hollywood
Grafton Sunset
Grafton On Sunset Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grafton on Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.