We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Save Saved
You added Grafton on Sunset to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grafton on Sunset
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8462 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1935   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 RESTAURANT CREDIT!
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in West Hollywood
Vancouver
1 review
“Almost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is in a great location.

Got to the hotel they didn't have are reservation not sure if it was Travelocity or Grafton fault. Always try to book directly with the hotel!!

My phone was died so did not have my reservation code. Asked if i could use the internet to check my email for the code, front desk stated that i would have to pay to use the internet ! ! I haven't checked in..

After explaining to the agent why I m not gonna pay for the internet. He allowed me to use a computer to pull up the code. Did not have the room we reserved not surprised since they didn't have the reservation. They gave us a suite for the night and we moved in to a regular King Room the rest of the stay. The suite washroom was dirty also very dim lighting.

The other room was nice again washroom wasn't as clean but was way better then the washroom in other room.

It seem as if ownership need to look at budgeting and renovate the washrooms !

The rest of the room was fine. Hotel is not 4-star quality its more of 2.5-3 ..

I would only return to this hotel if price reflects the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonOnSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your experience from the very biginning of your stay at the Grafton. It is our goal to always provide excellent customer service and follow-through. I am glad we were able to fix the challenges you were having. It is our goal to ensure that every guest is comfortable and worry free during their stay. I hope that we can have the opportunity to gain your business back and provide an enjoyable stay for you. If you choose to do this, may I please ask of you to email me directly so I may set this up for you. My email address is kevinb@graftononsunset.com.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    215
    119
    64
    81
See reviews for
77
192
54
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My mother and I were on a mini vacay from my stressful job. This was the first hotel we stayed at on our trip. I decided to hotel hop so we could experience different areas of the city. This hotel left me wanting more. Before I get into this review I just want to say. THE COFFEE IS LOCATED DOWNSTAIRS ON THE FIRST FLOOR!!!!!! As someone from the East coast, obviously this is a big deal. You would think that someone on staff would mention that during check-in. I would also like to mention that I booked this on the hotel's website where it clearly says they will charge your card within 72 hours or some reasonable time frame. This did not happen. I sent an email confirming the policy and asking if they could contact me. They just ran my card with no communication. This actually kind of ticked me off, to be honest.
Things to note: this hotel is built down. So the rooms are located down.. You walk into the 3rd floor. So we stayed on the second floor. Kinda felt like a basement. I see what they were going for. They just need the correct carpenter to achieve. This is clearly an older building that they attempted to renovate.. The supplies that were utilized were not of high quality so, as usual, they are kinda deteriorating. They had the kind of carpet that makes you want to keep your socks on and I noticed the tub had some kind of permanent stain.
The Bed is the selling point! I was in a deep coma! it was so great!
I am not knocking this hotel. They just need to put some $ into it get it to the status of the pictures. The location was great! Please note that they do not have a bar or restaurant. The Standard is located down the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graftoncares, Guest Relations Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your entire experience at the Grafton. It is our goal to always provide excellent customer service and follow-through. We actually found that having our coffee station on the pool level was a "winner" with our guests. Many enjoy the convenience of not having to travel far to replenish there coffee or tea while relaxing by the pool and outdoor decor. It is our goal to ensure that every guest is comfortable and worry free during their stay with no challenges. We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our new matresses. I hope that we can have the opportunity to gain your business back and provide an enjoyable stay for you. If you choose to do this, may I please ask of you to email me directly so I may set this up for you. My email address is kevinb@graftononsunset.com.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie081
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were booked into the Grafton by Virgin because of its location, we were told before paying for our holiday that it had lost some of its rating due to the closure of its restaurant but we didn't really appreciate that this meant that the hotel had technically just become somewhere to sleep - we arrived at the end of a long flight not even being able to get a hot drink! The room was clean but the beds and pillows were uncomfortable, everything in the room had a price tag and the air conditioning noisey as were the guests partying across the corridor!
My daughter had booked a trip to Universal Studios, we asked at the front desk about the cost of transport - we were quoted $60 dollars each ($180), we went by the easy to use public transport system the whole journey only cost us $15 return.
The hotel appeared to be living on past reputation and was in desperate need of being refurbished.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Don't be fooled by the good reviews on this dump. (Probably written by the owner)
Its is awful. Rooms are old and grubby, bed linen is stained badly. Stay somewhere else. Don't say you were not warned!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graftoncares, Guest Relations Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Lloyd1932,

We are so very sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. I am very disappointed to see your comments in your review and that I was not notified of the challenges you had in our hotel before checking out. I would greatly appreciate it if you would contact me directly through kevinb@graftononsunset.com so we can discuss.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrived via booking with Virgin, first room was like a prison cell over looking a brick wall and very tiny for a triple room, I was very upset, asked to be moved, which in all fairness the manager did move us the following day to a nice size corner room. Clean tidy plenty of towels, bathroom much cleaner than the other room, no hair left from previous guess. Very quiet hotel, courtesy bus very good. Location was good especially if you choose to use the hop on hop off buses, recommend Mels diner for all meals, pity that the Grafton has still not bothered to open a restaurant perhaps just for breakfast. Although we did have the six dollar breakfast bag one morning it was ok. Overall it just lacked a certain something, not sure what, a hotel that I would not visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graftoncares, Guest Relations Manager at Grafton on Sunset, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review.

I do apologize that you did not enjoy your experience at the Grafton from the very beginning, but glad that we were able to fix it to your satisfaction. We have several room types and are very specific with the details of those room types. It is very important that every guest is comfortable and worry free during their stay. We are all very anxious for our new restaurant and bar so we can share with our guests. We are glad that you were able to take advatage of the close by dining options. I hope that we can have the opportunity to gain your business back and provide an enjoyable stay for you. May I please ask of you to email me directly so I may set this up for you. My email address is kevinb@graftononsunset.com.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Grafton On Sunset is one the worst Hotel on the sunset BLV !

I don’t know exactly where to start in this bad review !

Never stay there, it is extremely dirty and dangerous , found several bugs in my suitcase for 2 consecutive days. Asked reception to change the room they said it was not possible for any reasons.
The lobby is dark and dirty, the valet service is unacceptable slow and expensive!!!

The rooms are (for obvious reasons) locted floors down to the lobby and the basement and the floor look done in wood, you can’t sleep as you hear all the roumors, people screaming, making sex at any hour in the night.

Rooms (I have stayed in a double room) are so dark you can’t work! Wi-fi is not free and I pay almost 280 usd per night !

BE AWARE OF THE POOL, it is of course extremely dirty , the supposedly freh new towel you find available in the pool area are DIRTY or at least look new but with big stains on them.

I felt I could have find a nice Sunset spot this time but I should have stayed next door to the Andaz or even at the Standard.

I asked for an email with the bill of my stay they never sent it, the employees do not speak proper and fluent English. Be aware !

Never ever back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Make no mistake; the Grafton on Sunset is a well located, well priced and a decent if very modest hotel.

However it is not quite the glam or the glee or the billing either its address or its promo photos will have you believe.

Rooms are adequate size and if you splash a bit extra the pool side rooms are worth a go to give you a door straight to the pool with a couple of chairs and tables to sip your bought in bottle. The fact there is no bar or restaurant is a shame and makes this little more than a sleeping place rather than an truly entertained experience. Yes its location brings a quick walk to nice places to eat dinner or breakfast but it also means your Grafton is almost souless.

Perhaps the most galling, given the lack of most other facilities, is most surfaces covered in confection and drinks to purchase. Mini bar war! Including the bathroom with its 5$ water. Give it a break Grafton and stop trying to milk your guests.

If you are looking for a great location on a mild budget and are prepared to find your own experience with a simple place to stay, look no further.

Sadly, the Grafton may be on its last legs without some proper glitz to liven it up, it should be truly more than its humble offers reside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grafton on Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton on Sunset

Address: 8462 W Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069-1935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton on Sunset 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton on Sunset is located on the legendary Sunset Strip in West Hollywood between Beverly Hills and Hollywood. Our central location enables you to take advantage of the numerous music venues and tourist attractions that are sure to make your LA experience one to remember. LA can be a very fast paced city so be sure to remember and take in some quite time by soaking up some southern California sunshine at our Mediterranean garden and saltwater pool. Stroll the pedestrian-friendly strip and discover an abundance of trendy restaurants, bars, clubs and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Grafton on Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grafton On Sunset Hotel West Hollywood
Grafton On Sunset West Hollywood
Grafton Sunset
Grafton On Sunset Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grafton on Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.