We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Hollywood Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charlie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Charlie to your Saves list
The Charlie
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   819 N Sweetzer Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90069   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Vintage Hollywood Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The property is absolutely charming, tons of character and definitely a hidden gem within the hustle and bustle of West Hollywood. Lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance and it's a safe area. This was a short weekend trip to LA to see a concert at the Hollywood Bowl, I wanted something relatively close via surface streets.

After a small snafu with the booked reservation (resolved quickly), Masha was terrific and rallied to prepare our accommodations on a Saturday. We were in the Ruth suite, a 2 story-1 bedroom that faces Sweetzer Ave (still very quiet and tranquil). It was absolutely terrific, the details of all the built-ins and stained glass windows are true to the design and theme of the building. They blended the contemporary kitchen with the vintage decor perfectly, so you're not without your modern amenities. Now keep in mind, if you plan on a long DIY vacation, be prepared to bring your own condiments etc, laundry soap too. Stores are nearby, so if you don't pack them, you can purchase them very easily.

Gated parking was a bonus, street parking in West Hollywood can be tricky on certain streets that require permits, luckily Sweetzer is not one of them, but the spots can be hard to come by.

We brought our Pugs, so another bonus was that the Charlie was pet friendly and within a residential neighborhood, taking them on walks was just like at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
19
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

On the positive side, this is a truly charming spot, a cluster of 1920s tudor cottages, all restored in beautiful taste. There is something genuinely magical about the place, with its mullioned windows and ceiling beams and ebonized floors, everything decorated in black and white. On the down side, the customer service that we received was really poor -- when I buzzed in, Kevin answered with 'did you get my message?' in a rather exasperated tone (I don't answer my phone when I'm driving), and then grudgingly said that he would come and let us in. He didn't really explain anything about the place, and never really welcomed us. Each apartment has a full kitchen, which is lovely, but there was NOTHING there, not even salt and pepper. The flowers in my room were more or less dead. The place has been open four years and is getting a bit scruffy, and the gardens seemed really neglected, especially the wilderness of weeds and cobwebs in the back. For the money, I expected something more gracious, especially from the hotel staff.

Room Tip: The Marilyn was very cute indeed; the Sasha didn't smell terribly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Perfection from start to finish. I'm an architecture and film buff too so I was looking for something different from generic hotels and I found it in The Charlie. From arriving via gated security door and driving into our own parking spot (no extra charge), we were greeted by the wonderful manager who ensured we knew how to contact the office at any time and showed us our perfect "cottage" - The Marlene. We were travelling with two teenage girls (very hard to impress) who said they felt like this was "home" and not a hotel. We enjoyed drinking coffee in our own courtyard area but also spent time on the communal terrace deck reading. Gardeners would be in Heaven at The Charlie. The accommodations were top notch. We walked through the neighbourhood (very convenient) to a phenomenal grocery store (Wolfgang Puck deli) for our shopping. Really close drive too to the Hollywood excitement but far enough away to be peaceful too. We want to go back and recommend it for anyone who is heading to L.A./Hollywood area. We are glad The Charlie exists and was restored. It is magical.

Room Tip: Any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We liked every single moment we spent at the Charlie. We are a family with young kids so we were looking for a cozy spacious place with a kitchenette and laundry facilities and the place had it all. We liked how the place doesn't have a Lobby and you go through the flower paths in the garden to reach your cottage which was named after famous old actors, it felt like we were staying in a beautiful secret garden. Moreover the location was perfect in the middle of L.A. but was still relaxing and cozy. We have to say that the responsiveness of the management was remarkable so we really thank you Mike and Masha for making our stay a pleasant and unforgetable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

To start on a positive note, this hotel is situated in a great location - close to shops and beautiful restaurants. The rooms are quite large and come with a fully equipped kitchen. However, there is no food on site and no tea or coffee supplied in the room. It is a good place to go if you want to get away from it all, but I did expect more for the $500 per night...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The hotel that was more like individual houses had a lovely feeling. It was hidden between Santa Monica Blvd and Melrose Ave which are great places to walk around for shopping. The room was clean and cute with lots of amenities. One thing that was an issue for me was that the office was rarely open.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights from January 2 - 4 and that definitely wasn't enough. I felt like I was in some sort of secret club every time I buzzed open the gates and I couldn't believe that I was right in the heart of West Hollywood just 1.5 blocks from Melrose and Santa Monica Blvd. While I was in the room (The Sasha) and the compound itself, I felt like I was in another state, if not another country altogether.
The moment we walked in the room we knew we'd want to come back and make a trip out to The Charlie a regular affair. There was wine and fresh fruit waiting for us as well as a well-equipped kitchen and two televisions. Some people might say it was small, but it was the perfect size and whoever decorated the place was genius, making every angle you viewed the room look breathtaking. It felt like a fancier version of Anthropologie.
We dealt with the Masha the entire time and she was very warm, accommodating and made us feel very special. It didn't feel like we were staying at a hotel. It felt like a rich friend was letting us stay in their cottage while we were passing through town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlie

Address: 819 N Sweetzer Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charlie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlie provides exclusive luxurious accommodations to a worldwide clientele, whilst preserving the natural and historical beauty of the property's grounds. The landmark upon which The Charlie resides today was first built & established in 1924 by the Ruth Gordon family. Word has it that numerous movie star legends have roamed these grounds in the past, living out their glorious days to the fullest! Charlie Chaplin, Marilyn Monroe, and Gloria Swanson are only a few of such legends to name, to whom at one point or another The Charlie grounds were believed to have been a home! In 2002, threatened by re-development, this historical landmark was acquired by Menachem Treivush and has since undergone a multi-million dollar renovation. By carefully preserving historically-scrutinizing details, incorporating the technology of today, and dedicating careful attention to detail, Mr. Treivush has rapidly built up The Charlie into the unique establishment that it is today! Since re-opening to the public in 2008, The Charlie has become known as The Hidden Gem of the legendary West Hollywood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your The Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charlie Hotel West Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.